police selection assessment

kaixin18

Why u always got comments on others haha a bit of opinions here and thr okay but dont comment until like we only want that 30k leh we want to apply because we are interested in the job. The 30k is included in the bond mah so take lor but what makes u think we gonna leave after 5 yearsšŸ˜…

What do you suggest then?

get degree and sign on as officer. then these blokes can post on facebook and linkedin that they r an officer. its a cultural thing. officer more atas. so the majority will gravitate towards officer. its a win win situation. tio bor?

Having just ORD-ed from SPF as a GRF/NPCO, I wouldnā€™t recommend anyone joining as direct entry SGT. The current mgt is a mess and manpower crunch is quite severe especially on the frontline. Many of the regulars are looking are resigning (now ppl resigning cannot even cover people leaving) due to f up mgt, lack of posting/advancement opportunities (Many secure posting but kena delay until cancel) and MOPs getting more and more rabak.

Mgt doesnā€™t give a **** about your work, they only care about stats and numbers. Officers progression is least of their concern. Donā€™t be blinded by CLIF or sign on money. But if you really wanna join, get degree and join as direct inspector.

My 2 cents. Cheers.

exactly. btw can u explain the new joint track for signing on police? i heard new trainees all come in and same rank and then gradually progress? is it true or just another gimmick?

Bro ur 2 cents make sense BUT not all are able to get degree lah haha.. šŸ˜‹

don look for easy way out. go and slog and get the recognised degree. life will be good after that for u in spf.

If you keep and invest the 30k, the other bonuses that you get every year like mid year, performance, end of year and save a good amount of your monthly salary that you get every year like mid year, performance and end of year amount will depend on the economy and your performance. If we assume a diploma sign on at age 20, the take home pay around 2k and save 1k every month means he or she can save 60k in that 5 years. And if the yearly total bonuses equal to 3 months (could be more depending on economy and ur performance), it would be another 30k in 5 years. At around age 25, one would have 120k and this is not including promotion, pay raises, allowances and other bonuses. If you were to invest the money in a globally diversified portfolio, you can even get 6%-8% annual returns based on ur risk appetite. If you work for long term, there are also other bonuses and benefits that they provide. But of course being a police officer is not easy as well so money shouldnt be the only factor.

rubbish. the police benefits of last time and now totally different. last time got pension scheme. now no more. open your eyes. if they're already open try to open a bit bigger.

Why u always got comments on others haha a bit of opinions here and thr okay but dont comment until like we only want that 30k leh we want to apply because we are interested in the job. The 30k is included in the bond mah so take lor but what makes u think we gonna leave after 5 yearsšŸ˜…

its always about the money. the marketing people know this. many years ago the payout for army regular poly scheme was $80,000 cash. many people signed on in the army. then after that they changed the marketing strategy again to $1200 per month for poly kias for the duration of their 3 year diploma before they enlist for national service and $750 per month for ITE students.

so poly is $1200 x 36 months = $43,200

going back to the current police payout of $30k after 5 years. have you ever think that this $30k is actually part of your monthly salary. isn't it possible they deduct an amount every month from your actual salary, collate it over 5 years and then pay you the lump sum after 5 years? if thats the case why not just give you a higher salary in the first place?

you sign on sergeant u get $2000 a month according to nicholaswong97. the CECA who comes here working IT (information technology) or bank job is already getting minimum $5000 per month in salaries alone. still haven't talk about other components of the salary that makes up the pay package. so plz la. tolong la. wake up la.

you sign on sergeant you will more likely to leave after 5 years. that explains the high turnover that means many people leaving the force and you chaps coming in. its a revolving door. ask yourself. which official will let their kids sign on as sergeant? don't joke ba.

its the same story with ICA. why you wanna sign on and breathe in smoke from the lorry and buses entering checkpoint?

reddevil0728

get degree and sign on as officer. then these blokes can post on facebook and linkedin that they r an officer. its a cultural thing. officer more atas. so the majority will gravitate towards officer. its a win win situation. tio bor?

exactly. btw can u explain the new joint track for signing on police? i heard new trainees all come in and same rank and then gradually progress? is it true or just another gimmick?

don look for easy way out. go and slog and get the recognised degree. life will be good after that for u in spf.

rubbish. the police benefits of last time and now totally different. last time got pension scheme. now no more. open your eyes. if they're already open try to open a bit bigger.

its always about the money. the marketing people know this. many years ago the payout for army regular poly scheme was $80,000 cash. many people signed on in the army. then after that they changed the marketing strategy again to $1200 per month for poly kias for the duration of their 3 year diploma before they enlist for national service and $750 per month for ITE students.

going back to the current police payout of $30k after 5 years. have you ever think that this $30k is actually part of your monthly salary. isn't it possible they deduct an amount every month from your actual salary, collate it over 5 years and then pay you the lump sum after 5 years? if thats the case why not just give you a higher salary in the first place?

you sign on sergeant u get $2000 a month according to nicholaswong97. the CECA who comes here working IT (information technology) or bank job is already getting minimum $5000 per month in salaries alone. still haven't talk about other components of the salary that makes up the pay package. so plz la. tolong la. wake up la.

you sign on sergeant you will more likely to leave after 5 years. that explains the high turnover that means many people leaving the force and you chaps coming in. its a revolving door. ask yourself. which official will let their kids sign on as sergeant? don't joke ba.

its the same story with ICA. why you wanna sign on and breathe in smoke from the lorry and buses entering checkpoint?

So you are saying ok to sign on but sign on as officer la? Am I reading you right?

But you are still not answering the question. If everybody sign on a officer, who will do the non officer job?

Also to you maybe it is rubbish, and that it is always about money. Why only you can have an opinion while others canā€™t? So are you rubbish too that you have such opinion? Cause others insist that it is not rubbish?

wabbit92

But when a group of us were saying that we are going for Direct Inspector in the ICA thread , you were still bashing with your same story about breathing in smoke.

Maybe you are the one that needs to open your eyes bigger ?

Anw just curious , what seems to be the perfect job for everyone to join then ?

Sugarcoated

Shouldnt really compare salary with different sector. Singapore is trying to become a smart nation. Hence, IT sector pays really well. Even a diploma holder can earn a minimum of 2.4k being in the IT sector. Same goes to banks, they are trying to combine technology with financial. Hence, fintech. An IT job is not easy. The 5k and 2.4k salary is not simply doing easy things like installing and what not. They have to code, manage, architect, debug and so on with a deadline which most of the time causing them to not have work life balance.

Ks1991

So I got short listed for direct-entry inspector and received an email to go down for an interview.

Like to check is it very easy to get short listed and the interview process will be very very Long ?

Kraken203

@Kaixin18, sry bro. The reply too long I cannot quote. To answer directly, yes. The new joint track (merging JO & SO scheme) is nothing but a gimmick to attract diploma and NITEC holders to join. Even though they say JO will promote to INSP and higher, they now delay promotions for officers below INSP. So as to create a buffer, majority of those who go from SI/SSI to INSP are mainly for people who are holding supervisory roles. Others probably will never reach that rank. Chances of getting INSP and above is exactly the same as the old JO/SO scheme.

Rank wise is also gimmick. Diploma or NITEC join as SGT(2)/SGT(1). Degree still INSP, but scholars will 99% be ASP when they enter training command.

kaixin18

@Kaixin18, sry bro. The reply too long I cannot quote. To answer directly, yes. The new joint track (merging JO & SO scheme) is nothing but a gimmick to attract diploma and NITEC holders to join. Even though they say JO will promote to INSP and higher, they now delay promotions for officers below INSP. So as to create a buffer, majority of those who go from SI/SSI to INSP are mainly for people who are holding supervisory roles. Others probably will never reach that rank. Chances of getting INSP and above is exactly the same as the old JO/SO scheme.

Rank wise is also gimmick. Diploma or NITEC join as SGT(2)/SGT(1). Degree still INSP, but scholars will 99% be ASP when they enter training command.

thanks for reply. r u planning to sign on? what advice about signing on can you give to the blokes on this read and those reading this in future? what are the weaknesses of the force? how does the shift work? 2 days work, 2 days off, 1 day standby? why do people still sign on as sergeant for mere $2000 ++ a month?

reddevil0728

thanks for reply. r u planning to sign on? what advice about signing on can you give to the blokes on this read and those reading this in future? what are the weaknesses of the force? how does the shift work? 2 days work, 2 days off, 1 day standby? why do people still sign on as sergeant for mere $2000 ++ a month?
Maybe cause they cannot find a job that pays that much?

Kraken203

Nah, not gonna do so. Serve finish ICT can liao. Haha. Everyone has different preferences and needs in what they are looking for in a job. If u need money (or got passion) SPF is quite a gd option to start out. They do have existing incentives if u wanna take part-time studies (pay urself, but got exam leave).

But entering spf also means 24/7 on shift. Going overseas even for just a few hrs requires supervisor approval. U will be living a super restrictive life due to all the "What-Ifs" and SOPs tying u down.

Normal shift work is 8am-8pm. There is also diff timings (10am-10pm, etc....) Depends on ur unit. Can have 2 night shifts also. 1st off more for sleeping, 2nd off day mostly burn for ops or training. U wont be having much personal time, hard to meet friends also. (Very little family time also, if ur unit/NPC is cui)

Weakness definitely is direct and upper management. Keep coming out with new methods to "screw" officers up. Alot of the regulars i see all getting rather pissed and thinking of leaving. Most direct supervisors are direct entry INSP, no experience and damm its hard for them to understand whats really happening. (And all these ppl will lead a team in NPC will assume even higher position aft Team Leader stint. Thats why new policies or measures by them 99% is CMI.)

So for those wanting to join, can always give it a go. Its a career that allows u to see alot of things. But 95% of the job now is cleaning up the mess that ppl creates. Only 5% is actual policemen work.

But do allow urself to have a backup plan, in case if u regret bond finish can faster zao. Cheers all.

kaixin18

For more thn 2000 easily can find one but maybe some people want sign on cause of passion mah like me but now i try to get diploma cert firstšŸ˜…

after you get your diploma your perspective will change again huan. you may cheong for degree. diploma and degree got big big difference in salary. don't just see monthly difference. calculate 10 years you can see how much you r losing out to officer salary.

Nah, not gonna do so. Serve finish ICT can liao. Haha. Everyone has different preferences and needs in what they are looking for in a job. If u need money (or got passion) SPF is quite a gd option to start out. They do have existing incentives if u wanna take part-time studies (pay urself, but got exam leave).

But entering spf also means 24/7 on shift. Going overseas even for just a few hrs requires supervisor approval. U will be living a super restrictive life due to all the "What-Ifs" and SOPs tying u down.

Normal shift work is 8am-8pm. There is also diff timings (10am-10pm, etc....) Depends on ur unit. Can have 2 night shifts also. 1st off more for sleeping, 2nd off day mostly burn for ops or training. U wont be having much personal time, hard to meet friends also. (Very little family time also, if ur unit/NPC is cui)

Weakness definitely is direct and upper management. Keep coming out with new methods to "screw" officers up. Alot of the regulars i see all getting rather pissed and thinking of leaving. Most direct supervisors are direct entry INSP, no experience and damm its hard for them to understand whats really happening. (And all these ppl will lead a team in NPC will assume even higher position aft Team Leader stint. Thats why new policies or measures by them 99% is CMI.)

So for those wanting to join, can always give it a go. Its a career that allows u to see alot of things. But 95% of the job now is cleaning up the mess that ppl creates. Only 5% is actual policemen work.

But do allow urself to have a backup plan, in case if u regret bond finish can faster zao. Cheers all.

is it true that there are PRs who can sign on as officers? i heard before one PR malaysian become inspector. don't know true or not. but isn't it strange that malaysian sign on as cisco or aetos security their salary is higher than SPF salary by more than $1000????

PikachuOh

For me if i manage to get diploma is alrdy god damn enuf hahahah wont think abt degree one and i also dw degree:)

after you get your diploma your perspective will change again huan. you may cheong for degree. diploma and degree got big big difference in salary. don't just see monthly difference. calculate 10 years you can see how much you r losing out to officer salary.

is it true that there are PRs who can sign on as officers? i heard before one PR malaysian become inspector. don't know true or not. but isn't it strange that malaysian sign on as cisco or aetos security their salary is higher than SPF salary by more than $1000????

Kraken203

Ya, Malaysian PR can join spf. Got quite a few regulars are Malaysians. CISCO and Aetos pay higher cause they got OT pay. But job quite shitty compared to spf. Hahahaha. SPF u stuck at last min cases or escorts good luck.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.