Amazon Kindle Paperwhite Announced!

hwsstx

Reaction score
What programme do you use? None I've tried thusfar works for the NLB titles cos of the DRM protection

Sent from Xiaomi REDMI 4X using GAGT

Calibre can remove DRM but need to install a plug-in.

https://www.epubor.com/calibre-drm-removal-plugins.html

I'm just sharing but I've no experience using this plug-in.

Toons

Arch-Supremacy Member
Reaction score
Hi guys, need some advice. I started reading chinese novels recently. Eyes get tired easily. Sometimes after reading, my eyes have difficulty focusing on far objects n gets a bit blurry. Okay after i let it rest a bit :(

Besides age :o, was wondering if getting a kindle to read will help as compared to reading on PC and HP.

1. Read a bit online n there are some articles touting the benefits of e-ink. Was hoping that there might be peeps here with similar prob and can actually share their real life experience.

2. Any major diff between the basic kindles (167ppi) compared to the paperwhites (300ppi)? Does higher ppi help in reducing eye strain?

TIA!

Last edited:

imacbie

Supremacy Member
Reaction score
if reading hardcopy newspaper causes u the same fatigue.
then no eink will not be of much help.. age is the main cause here i strongly believe.
eink however will definitely be better for reading in the long run due to less strain induced.

i think higher ppi makes the text looks sharper.
imo the cheapest paperwhite will do its job just fine.

hwsstx

Reaction score
I didn't see this mentioned about Paperwhite's support of WiFi bands.

FYI, my Kindle Paperwhite 3 (2015) only supports 2.4Ghz band.

I suspect the latest Paperwhite 4 also only supports 2.4Ghz band.

azarel

Master Member
Reaction score
haha i lost my pw3.... gave me an excuse to get refurbished oasis gen 2 from amazon as a birthday gift to myself heh.

a4973

Master Member
Reaction score