Deciding between Melbourne and sydney

redname

Between these 2 cities, which one has more places for sightseeing day trips?

How abt things to do aft sunset? I heard Australia has not much activities during tht time

qhong61

How abt things to do aft sunset? I heard Australia has not much activities during tht time
Melbourne....

beano

Both as much.. after sunset means pub/club? or supper?

beano

Pub/supper, maybe cafe, jus chill.

I don't suppose there r night markets right?

Night market maybe queen vic market on every Wed. Plenty of cafes/pubs around till late.

Zappalapa

chinatown night market
the rocks friday foodie market

pubs & bars are opened till night as well. restaurants in chinatown open till late too.
or go casino/supermarkets like coles/IGA/woolworths at night.

aearthr

I faced similar dilemma a few years ago for my solo trip. I like sightseeing and both places offer 1 day trip like Melbourne has great ocean road while Sydney is blue mountain. In the end, I went Melbourne instead of Sydney as I thought Melbourne is easier to travel around and culture more laid back. And my friends around me all recommended me to go Melbourne over Sydney as they felt Sydney is quite similar to Singapore. Have you booked your trip?

figo16

I faced similar dilemma a few years ago for my solo trip. I like sightseeing and both places offer 1 day trip like Melbourne has great ocean road while Sydney is blue mountain. In the end, I went Melbourne instead of Sydney as I thought Melbourne is easier to travel around and culture more laid back. And my friends around me all recommended me to go Melbourne over Sydney as they felt Sydney is quite similar to Singapore. Have you booked your trip?

Sydney is overrated. Roads are narrow, infrastructure is old and run down, too many FT. Whole CBD looks like Shanghai cause too many tiongs.

kevin301

Sydney is overrated. Roads are narrow, infrastructure is old and run down, too many FT. Whole CBD looks like Shanghai cause too many tiongs.

As someone who has lived there for a number of years, I do think you're too quick to dismiss Sydney. Just curious how much time you've spent there to make such an assessment?

beano

Plenty on the outskirts to see outside of syd..

figo16

Plenty on the outskirts to see outside of syd..

Yes. Royal National Park, Blue Mtns, Port Stephens etc. But the CBD sucks. Too many FT. Signboards and Advertisements are written in Mandarin. WTF. I visit Sydney to experience amdk culture and not to see ah tiongs and CECA.

That is why I rather visit Perth and Adelaide because there are fewer FT.

Awesom Andy

That's a little harsh. If anything, I know of roads in Melbourne that are much much narrower, and there still isn't a train line to the airport (and some of those trains that go to the suburbs require you to open the doors yourself manually).

beano

Ah those manual doors.. i was once standing in front of them waiting for them to open..

commie_rick

i do agree with this.
it gets worse when you go to some suburbs where white people are the minority

bearbear82

just come back from Melbourne, actually Australia is quite an expensive place to live in.

lets just say 1 sgd=1 Aud for ease of comparision
i can't find any drink that is less that $2.50 in supermarket e.g. Cole , a btl of coke cost $3.50

Cigg is expensive , $28 to $37 (no joke) , beer and wine is not cheap either.

Food wise not much of a choice, mostly will have to go to a restaurant or cafe, and you are looking at abt $28 to $40 per meal per pax, and its mostly western e.g fish n chip, grill chicken, big breakfast kind.

Shopping wise,for those normal mall and shop is not cheap also, honestly i find Singapore still way cheaper, the only place which is on the lower price range would be K-mart.

Entertainment wise not much also, most shop closes at 5-7pm. Most of the days we drive around to those farm, supermarket and sight seeing in the day, night time either buy food from supermarket to cook or dine in restaurant then call it a day.

Overall is a nice experience, u get to enjoy the weather, scenery and their culture. But i won't go back again, just too boring and expensive imo.

awhw

Bro,
If you look from the perspective of a tourist, then yes, many things in Aus are more expensive than in Sg. Likewise, tourists in Sg also kena chopped up down left right. But in the same light, there are cheaper alternatives. You just need to know where they are lah.

bearbear82

Bro,
If you look from the perspective of a tourist, then yes, many things in Aus are more expensive than in Sg. Likewise, tourists in Sg also kena chopped up down left right. But in the same light, there are cheaper alternatives. You just need to know where they are lah.

I not looking from tourist perspective, infact i stay there for 2 weeks, from Tasmania to melbourne.

i search high and low liao, say for cigg, cheapest i find is $28 and its those lousy brand, not even Marlboro.

Food wise if want cheap will have to buy in market and cook at home , but only cheaper by abit. Dine outside is always expensive, cheapest will be fast food, but price range is still slightly higher than Singapore.

Fruits wise is by per kg, not cheap also.

Really, nothing is cheap there.

awhw

I not looking from tourist perspective, infact i stay there for 2 weeks, from Tasmania to melbourne.

i search high and low liao, say for cigg, cheapest i find is $28 and its those lousy brand, not even Marlboro.

Food wise if want cheap will have to buy in market and cook at home , but only cheaper by abit. Dine outside is always expensive, cheapest will be fast food, but price range is still slightly higher than Singapore.

Fruits wise is by per kg, not cheap also.

Really, nothing is cheap there.

Agree with you that eating out is expensive as there's nothing like hawker centres in Aus, and even food court meals would cost at least $13 per pax.

However, as a resident, there are cheaper places for eating out. I seldom spend more than $15 per pax (excluding alcoholic drinks) eating out, regardless eating western or Asian food.

beano

Think your perspective is wrong, almost every groceries here is cheaper than SG.. fresher and straight from the source..

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.