AMD Ryzen NB Discussion| Lenovo Thinkpad E495/E595/T495/X395 Well-rounder performance CPU + GPU

obichacha

Ya, my screen protector bought from AliExpress, try to get 15.4 inch ThinkPad model. Carbon sticker also from AliExpress.
Just diy cut to fit.
But I get to used , cause I had done few ThinkPad already.

Links showing the photos diy.
https://imgur.com/a/7K34nRt

Hi, Can check where to get the screen protector? and you cut the carbon sticker by yourself? Looks nice.

stupidog

just wondering why lenovo never give us the choice to choose black or silver color for the laptops

i saw lewis's X1C 6th gen, that silver / dark grey damn nice sia

obichacha

Refer here, over a year after tear off without any sticky glue on surface.

i0ueN5V.jpg

that sticker after u tear off will leave any residue boh ? =:p

banana10

Based on the past feedback in the forum, from those who bought with 54% off.

The mouse and laptop bag would arrive first followed by the Laptop separately.
Since Lenovo, indicate 2 wks lead time, we have to patiently wait.

Some even had their laptops after 4 weeks.

Since this was a sale, our shipment could be even longer than lead time due to surge in volume.

lmnO5oY.jpg

So these estimated ship dates are blank is normal?
Or should it straight away display after payment?

mousepad_88

never own a thinkpad before, any recommendation for one without breaking the bank?
I basically need it for surfing, youtube etc. and some light gaming like CS go only.

stupidog

Wah, your laptop eta 17 Oct. Mine don't even have a date yet. I also ordered a X395. :s22:

yah lor why they need so long also. not as if they got no stock for parts,

lelomo very big company leh :s13::s13::s13:

anyway i not in rush to get it. i still have 2 thinkpads at home haha :s22:

86technie

too bad they dun sell in their retail stores.

those peeps who cannot wait wan can buy off the shelves.

i heard x95 series stores dun carry

AMD based laptop usually are not sold in retail channel.
For business/education, reseller/distributor also reluctant to quote AMD laptop.
That leave only online store as the only place to buy AMD laptop.

NoTimeToWaitAr

Hi all, just nice wanted to buy a laptop for my work usage. Is this the minimum setup I should consider for x395? I'm using for basic word processing, and occasionally image processing needs like illustrator and photoshop.

Processor : AMD Ryzen 5 pro
Operating System : Windows 10 HOME (Should I go for Pro version)
Memory : 8GB DDR (is 8GB sufficient)
Hard Drive : 256GB SSD
Display : 300nits
Power Cord : 65W AC Adapter (65W instead of 45W for faster charging?)

Thanks in advance.

obichacha

Hi all, just nice wanted to buy a laptop for my work usage. Is this the minimum setup I should consider for x395? I'm using for basic word processing, and occasionally image processing needs like illustrator and photoshop.

Processor : AMD Ryzen 5 pro
Operating System : Windows 10 HOME (Should I go for Pro version)
Memory : 8GB DDR (is 8GB sufficient)
Hard Drive : 256GB SSD
Display : 300nits
Power Cord : 65W AC Adapter (65W instead of 45W for faster charging?)

Thanks in advance.

I think that 16GB RAM good for future since can't add on any more :s13:
Win 10 pro not necessary you need it, but RAM you need it more than Windows upgrade.

NoTimeToWaitAr

I think that 16GB RAM good for future since can't add on any more :s13:
Win 10 pro not necessary you need it, but RAM you need it more than Windows upgrade.

Thanks for the suggestion. Seems like I missed the 9/9 deal. Currently it's 1.5k with all the listed specs. May wait and see if there's 10/10 sale available.

hungryfella

AMD based laptop usually are not sold in retail channel.
For business/education, reseller/distributor also reluctant to quote AMD laptop.
That leave only online store as the only place to buy AMD laptop.

If AMD is improving in performance, why is there the reluctance?

86technie

If AMD is improving in performance, why is there the reluctance?

Many factors:
- There is still perception that AMD CPU is slow and hot
- AMD OEM products don't sell well so most don't carry
- Most prefer Intel than AMD

Walk into any retail shop, if you ask their opinion about AMD laptop
they will quote the above.
For Ryzen to rise in OEM/Retail channel may take time, since
AMD reputation over a decade isn't that good.

I myself the only user who uses AMD since
Turion (Mobile)-> Phenom (Mobile) -> AMD APU Era A Series (Mobile)
Last time it's very hard to find AMD laptop and there is no online
store to buy such laptop.

iphone88

Anyone know the SSD is MLC/ TLC/ QLC?
Mine is WDC SN520. Cannot find the SSD type in WD website.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.