Manchester United - Theatre of Dreams - Part 35

beano

This Jones... play 1 game, injured 3 games kind. Really earning good money eh. Just got his contract renewed. He must be thinking he was laughing in his sleep when Ed calls up him and told him that his contract is renewing.

Wonder why Smalling was the one being pushed out instead of Jones?

Because Smalling has more aspiration than Jones who is mc king

Ch3tah_39

Buy back Bebe lah...

He just scored this 50 yard scorcher:
https://www.dailymotion.com/video/x7m0wq6

True that. That what United direction is right now. Unable to execute a proper pass into the box. Every game is just shoot on sight from long range. Against Arsenal, CP, Soton etc. To increase unpredictability i think all 11 players including gk need to be able to do that for it to be effective for 38games. Preventing players for closing them down.

ragnarok95

Senior Moderator
Manchester United have avoided having to cough an extra €20m to Monaco over their deal for Anthony Martial.

Martial moved to United in 2015 for €50m with another €10m going to ASM in bonuses thanks to the first 25 goals he scored.

The Times says, however, two other bonuses - namely €10m if Martial is nominated for the Ballon d'Or and €10m as soon as the player reached 25 caps with France - are no longer valid.

Indeed, the bonuses had a duration of four years.

Martial failed to achieve either of these two goals in 2019.

ragnarok95

Senior Moderator
Remember this... fans endured 3-4 horrendous years under Fergie before the wins and trophies came

19150730-0-image-a-92_1569927807971.jpg

Read: https://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-7524559/Flashback-time-Man-United-started-season-poorly.html

Hello, this one is last time. Last time wanton mee my downstair kopitiam only S$1.20.

We are living in 2019 going 2020 now, mai compare with 20-30 yrs ago.

Jian19

This Jones... play 1 game, injured 3 games kind. Really earning good money eh. Just got his contract renewed. He must be thinking he was laughing in his sleep when Ed calls up him and told him that his contract is renewing.

Wonder why Smalling was the one being pushed out instead of Jones?

Smalling seeking first team football

Like some past players like Park , O'Shea , Fletcher

All left to seek first team football

Asakura

we have tried very different type of approach/managers for the last 6 years

i thought it was time the board relook at this approach of theirs but Woodward recently said they feel their way of doing things is still right, so...🤷

tbf, Ole's ideology so far, seems more suited for the DoF role than a manager.
SAF was holding multiple role and he grew with the success he bring. plus in the right era.

the magnitude of things involved in today's football won't allow managers time to grow into the role of both managing the team and controlling like a DoF

DoF that flip flop the way this club been going and don't get results would be sacked by now, but because our acting DoF is also our vice chairman, the scapegoat is always the manager.

i get what Ole is trying to do, but he needs Ed to be aligned. he is, at least for now, but for how long if the results continues. how long before Ed change his mind again(he has done it time and again). we'll see how many windows he will properly back Ole.

thenakedshades

Manchester United have avoided having to cough an extra €20m to Monaco over their deal for Anthony Martial.

Martial moved to United in 2015 for €50m with another €10m going to ASM in bonuses thanks to the first 25 goals he scored.

The Times says, however, two other bonuses - namely €10m if Martial is nominated for the Ballon d'Or and €10m as soon as the player reached 25 caps with France - are no longer valid.

Indeed, the bonuses had a duration of four years.

Martial failed to achieve either of these two goals in 2019.

Martial is french Pele... Ballon d'Or is nothing to french Pele :s13::s13:

thenakedshades

Smalling seeking first team football

Like some past players like Park , O'Shea , Fletcher

All left to seek first team football

i'm sure some club somewhere will take Jonesy, is how much Utd willing to help to pay for his wages

sCuzzZy

we have tried very different type of approach/managers for the last 6 years

i thought it was time the board relook at this approach of theirs but Woodward recently said they feel their way of doing things is still right, so...******************

tbf, Ole's ideology so far, seems more suited for the DoF role than a manager.
SAF was holding multiple role and he grew with the success he bring. plus in the right era.

the magnitude of things involved in today's football won't allow managers time to grow into the role of both managing the team and controlling like a DoF

DoF that flip flop the way this club been going and don't get results would be sacked by now, but because our acting DoF is also our vice chairman, the scapegoat is always the manager.

i get what Ole is trying to do, but he needs Ed to be aligned. he is, at least for now, but for how long if the results continues. how long before Ed change his mind again(he has done it time and again). we'll see how many windows he will properly back Ole.

We'll know if whatever Ole is planning to do or cultivate, be it style of football, culture of the club etcetc, in one season. 2 windows is fair to see some sorta improvement on and off the pitch if you ask me. That's when we'll have to make a judgement call. 3 seasons is too long. Of cos, this hinges on the support from Ed. for at least the winter window as well.

If its a mistake, we cannot wait for 3 seasons.

but calling for his head in 3 months.. nah. that's just silly.

AristDing

We'll know if whatever Ole is planning to do or cultivate, be it style of football, culture of the club etcetc, in one season. 2 windows is fair to see some sorta improvement on and off the pitch if you ask me. That's when we'll have to make a judgement call. 3 seasons is too long. Of cos, this hinges on the support from Ed. for at least the winter window as well.

not so much actually

the fact that he was willing to go into the season with this squad just shows he's clueless and out of his depth.

but he has great PR, so it makes him look good

Asakura

its funny there are always people that want to sack the manager
because it seems like the easiest thing to do

-Moyes is not someone just turned manager when we employed him. out of depth maybe, but not a newbie.
-van Gaal has vast experience across Europe.
-Mourinho, you may hate him, but he is arguably one of the best, in the last decade or two. he didn't win those by fluke.

after all these appointment, people still think the manager is the problem.

worse, we are praising Woodward for buying players that we needed the season before. :s22: and we wonder y we are in this freaking situation where we got multiple positions requiring replacement/strengthening and re-contracting.

don't use Liverpool, Man City as examples of managers that join and flourished.
because they have a system that we don't, and that's a DoF (sporting director or whatever they call it) taking care of football business.

k fine, sack Ole. den what? restart all over again? the manager comes in, have to work with existing players again, need a few windows(seasons) to rectify existing issue and sacked again before things even got on track.
we were at this 'sack Mourinho cos he's the real virus' stage not too long ago and how did that work out for us so far?

Asakura

he is too nice to be confrontational in public/media like Mourinho
so we can only assume he didn't make noise about the lack of recruitment because he genuinely thinks this squad is okay to start the season.

but he just said it doesn't take a rocket scientist to know United is going in the market for strikers. so does that mean, he had strikers targets that didn't get fulfilled by Woodward in the summer?
not so much actually

the fact that he was willing to go into the season with this squad just shows he's clueless and out of his depth.

Shinji Kagawa

Not sure if Ole was gunning for strikers, there wasn't much smoke coming out. Apart from Mandzukic.

but it did sound like he wanted Longstaff. He's young, and British, totally Ole's type. Newcastle didnt want to sell.

AristDing

he is too nice to be confrontational in public/media like Mourinho
so we can only assume he didn't make noise about the lack of recruitment because he genuinely thinks this squad is okay to start the season.

but he just said it doesn't take a rocket scientist to know United is going in the market for strikers. so does that mean, he had strikers targets that didn't get fulfilled by Woodward in the summer?

Just also to be clear, I’m not suggesting sacking OGS is a solution for the club.

As of now I’m simply unconvinced he has the right caliber and he’s clearly not in the same class as JM... of course the question is, is Man Utd a TOP club or a mid table club now?

Make no mistake, the club’s downward spiral has been caused by Woodward. We should have been building on that second place finish. It since that season, Woodward seems to think he knows Football better than anyone else.

And JM did make a good point about Rashford and Martial too. It’s been quite a few Seasons since they have debuted..... if they can’t show the goods soon it just means they are pretty much at max potential already.

Asakura

in his last presser
‘We let Alexis and Romelu go, you don’t have to be a rocket scientist to see that it’s a forward that next time we’re going to recruit – we’re looking for some creativity and goals'

in Aug
"Anthony and Marcus can carry our attacking threat,"
"If not, we would have signed someone else or kept someone else."

sCuzzZy

not so much actually

I like to believe he has a plan in place and it isnt time to judge that yet.

Asakura

his plans involves the board level
like play more youth, buy players that want to stay at United etc etc

but im still unsure of his game plan and with the late substitutions just yet

so let's just hope Ed actually can watch another 3-6months of this.

Mancunian2

in his last presser
‘We let Alexis and Romelu go, you don’t have to be a rocket scientist to see that it’s a forward that next time we’re going to recruit – we’re looking for some creativity and goals'

in Aug
"Anthony and Marcus can carry our attacking threat,"
"If not, we would have signed someone else or kept someone else."
PossibleUnlawfulIrishredandwhitesetter-size_restricted.gif

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.