[NAS] Synology NAS owner club!

Fiery84

anyone here using 8 TB seagate barracuda as a nas drive? The pricing for this hdd seems cheapter than most 8TBs.

alphonse

Hi all, I am having a DS218 with 2x 8TB HDD.

How can I tell if I am using both disk? e.g. 1x8TB for data and 1x8TB for backup??

I'm just worried that I'm only using 1 disk. Then no redundancy liao...

7QqELKi.png

Both hard disks are being used. It is configured as SHR with 1 drive fault tolerance which is like raid 1.

kentona

Hi all, for those using Synology and macbook, can I know if there are issues with your macbook photos located in the nas?

davidktw

i am not into nas but minor flamebait spotted.

it is not about buying any ext hdd rather it is about getting a wd red from inside one.

how does 5400rpm hdd be less durable? common sense means they use less power therefore less heat and quieter and their lifespan can turn out to be longer than drives that spin at higher rpm not to mention it is less expensive too.

That is not how we measure reliability of drives. Enterprise drives operate at 10-15Krpms, dissipating more heat, generally still end up more reliable. While we can argue that those price range are different, they are still after all hardwares. Hence we can only truly ascertain the durability of hard drives through statistics, not simply just decide base on heat generated and or other factors on their own. The quality and design of the harddisk matters too.

Besides the way how harddisk are used also matters. In my case, my NAS hardly shutdown, since I am also connected to surveillance cameras writing all the time to the harddisk, my harddisks generally is running without hibernation 24x7. Despite that they still works flawlessly typically more than 4years and some stretching into 6years. In fact, I had to upgrade them because I ran out of spaces, not because they are damaged.

You can refer to the Backblazer 2019 report. While the top most failure is a 7200rpm harddisk, the one trailing behind is immediately a 5400rpm harddisk. Unless the rest in the stats are all only 5400rpm harddisks, then the statement of placing 5400rpm harddisks are more durable might be statistically true. :)

chercm

i understand that ds918 can run vm on them , is it able to support running 2 vm - window 10 and the other server os?

batniss

Hi all, I am having a DS218 with 2x 8TB HDD.

How can I tell if I am using both disk? e.g. 1x8TB for data and 1x8TB for backup??

I'm just worried that I'm only using 1 disk. Then no redundancy liao...

7QqELKi.png

u r using both. is on redundancy mode.

acechub

That is not how we measure reliability of drives. Enterprise drives operate at 10-15Krpms, dissipating more heat, generally still end up more reliable. While we can argue that those price range are different, they are still after all hardwares. Hence we can only truly ascertain the durability of hard drives through statistics, not simply just decide base on heat generated and or other factors on their own. The quality and design of the harddisk matters too.

Besides the way how harddisk are used also matters. In my case, my NAS hardly shutdown, since I am also connected to surveillance cameras writing all the time to the harddisk, my harddisks generally is running without hibernation 24x7. Despite that they still works flawlessly typically more than 4years and some stretching into 6years. In fact, I had to upgrade them because I ran out of spaces, not because they are damaged.

You can refer to the Backblazer 2019 report. While the top most failure is a 7200rpm harddisk, the one trailing behind is immediately a 5400rpm harddisk. Unless the rest in the stats are all only 5400rpm harddisks, then the statement of placing 5400rpm harddisks are more durable might be statistically true. :)

you have taken my post out of context. i am refuting an earlier post containing the line 'Those drives are 5400rpm and won't be as durable for 24/7 operations.' not as a statement that 5400rpm hdd are more durable but rather how can it be less durable than other rpm hdd in the same grade & tier.

2019 & backblaze stats still a thing? stats are easily manipulated & misinterpreted. take them with a grain of salt.

https://www.tweaktown.com/articles/...bility-myth-the-real-story-covered/index.html

batniss

you have taken my post out of context. i am refuting an earlier post containing the line 'Those drives are 5400rpm and won't be as durable for 24/7 operations.' not as a statement that 5400rpm hdd are more durable but rather how can it be less durable than other rpm hdd in the same grade & tier.

2019 & backblaze stats still a thing? stats are easily manipulated & misinterpreted. take them with a grain of salt.

https://www.tweaktown.com/articles/...bility-myth-the-real-story-covered/index.html

honestly, i don't believe in backblze

batniss

i understand that ds918 can run vm on them , is it able to support running 2 vm - window 10 and the other server os?

yes and no

1. depends on amount of ram you have
2. ur CPU will maxed out if u are trying to do something intensive.
3. i won't really suggest win os as it is resource intensive on the NAS.

glidingqy

My DS415+ just kaput.

Orange blinking LEDs then auto power off.

If I were to get the DS918+ can I just swap my drives over and not lose data?

harky

no issue as long is same brand, same os.

mainly is same OS.

My DS415+ just kaput.

Orange blinking LEDs then auto power off.

If I were to get the DS918+ can I just swap my drives over and not lose data?

harky

dont understand why my drive all got error... even i did not do anything E#@#@#@#@

harky

i use Synology DS416.

at first is 2 toshiba 4tb has bad sector
now got 1 red has problem also... sian

i get the 8tb first than repair..
i think the wd red one, just need to repair.. but 2 toshiba 4tb really got bad sector..

Is your NAS a DIY one or Synology? And what HDD too?

stam

anyone know where and how much to buy the synology surveillance license? I have more than 2 cameras, need additional license for 1 more camera. Thanks.

jtjt00

i use Synology DS416.

at first is 2 toshiba 4tb has bad sector
now got 1 red has problem also... sian

i get the 8tb first than repair..
i think the wd red one, just need to repair.. but 2 toshiba 4tb really got bad sector..

I guess you are really unlucky.

In my case:

Current:
DS418
4x 2TB Toshiba 7200rpm HDD (same batch) from Tradepac

Past:
DS414

harky

my is 4tb from Tradepac..

ur is 2tb :p

tio bad sector, scan still can reuse a not ?
i havent scan yet... but the os say got 20+ bad sector.

I guess you are really unlucky.

In my case:

Current:
DS418

Past:
DS414

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.