Home Automation Enthusiasts

KevinJT

Reaction score
Correct. If you just want a smart bulb instead of a system, select the one that doesn't require a hub. Philips hue is not the only choice.

viix

Master Member
Reaction score
Sorry I’m new to HA. My understanding is that Philips Hue will require their hub, likewise Aqara will require its own hub. So if I using both Philips and Aqara HomeKit devices I’ll need both hub, correct?

To be specific, Philips Hue is a lighting system, Aqara is a more complete HA system.
You can use Yeelight lights and not require any hub if you are comparing HUE to a Xiaomi ecosystem compatible light. But if you want to use their sensors, you will need a hub.
If you intend to use both, you need a hub that can talk to each other, IE using IFTTT or some other HA system like Home Assistant or Homey etc.. some of these do not require the xiaomi or aqara hub if they have a zigbee radio and a driver/app for it.

1 example I can give is Homey can use hue without the bridge (hue's hub) and aqara sensors. For Hue though, there is an advantage to use it's own bridge as you can maximise their entertainment API and Hue SYNC or even their disco lighting with spotify using third party apps which I personally use alot..

Last edited:

jolin90

Reaction score
Just need to pull neutral from your light point to your switches.
Add electrical points to your window area.
Get UK zwave compatible hubs, so it's easier to find zwave accessories.
Switch options, you get what you pay for. There are limitations to RF switches, some latency for wifi switches, minimal lag for zigbee and zwave. And I would say zwave is most instantaneous.
Curtain motor wise, check that the hub supports it. They may indicate that the brand is supported but to be extra sure check the models. So far on Homey, only the DT82 series dooya and aqara curtain motor is supported.