*Official* BBCWatcher club

lemniscate

Reaction score
Yes, I did drop them an email regarding the matter and they told me that they'll have to consider on a case-by-case basis whether they will approve the REP renewal or not. I just thought that I should prepare for the worst case (not like I have any idea how many years of work experience I want to get before returning, and I'm still open to the possibility of staying over there permanently).

Staying as a PR in the country without REP does sound like it'd make for an amusing experience though. :D

neanea

Master Member
Reaction score
The banks had no particular problems with SARS, the most similar comparison available. Why, what do you have in mind?

I have invested in them thinking if I need to do something about it. How about HK banks? Would they be of more concern of getting into financial problems?

BBCWatcher

Arch-Supremacy Member
Reaction score
I have invested in them thinking if I need to do something about it.
1. Why did you buy individual bank stocks?
2. Why do you feel you need to “do something about it”?
3. Why now?

How about HK banks? Would they be of more concern of getting into financial problems?
4. What does a bank do? How does it make its money? (As a bank stockholder, one would think you should understand at least the basic business model of banks. So let’s review the basics.)
5. How would #4 be affected if COVID-19 gets worse, better, or stays about the same?
6. If you were to divest of your bank stocks, where would you redeploy these funds?

Last edited:

lemniscate

Reaction score
By the way I forgot to ask about IBKR Lite (I don't remember there was such thing when I opened my account two years ago). Please correct me if I'm wrong but for those who only invest in LSE-listed ETFs the only benefit of Lite over Pro is the lack of monthly min $10 fee? I guess if you're based in the US and exclusively buy US-listed ETFs the 0 commission would be attractive?

BBCWatcher

Arch-Supremacy Member