[Warning - KPC thread !] My Latest Cooking Toys are here - Productive Pursuits etc ....

kaypohchee

What do u mean - different technology bah

If u mean simple Heating Up - can be done also in a wok/pan of heated/boiled water - like throwing into a rice cooker filled with water ??

I've just steamed up a Sweet n a Savory Bazhang from Swatow Restaurant [delivered an hour back] for our Tea in the NUSHI Rice Cooker
- just over a low steamer rack with water !
Not bad - I prefer the Savoury one as has more liao=ingredients !

1452003590.g_520-w_g.jpg

e8yzXg9l.jpg

NzEPqAbl.jpg

UYhBwpnl.jpg

oVDOVGIl.jpg

6se79kzl.jpg

kaypohchee

Good deal.

Sent from By Baba yaga At Your Pigu Dong using GAGT

Yes - $22.90 for 1+1 is the CHEAPEST ever too
My 2 Previous 1+1 Buys were nearer $30 at ard $28 etc ....

Good titanium stone/ceramic pots n woks n lightweight too !!!
Great quality at very good price !!!! :)

kaypohchee

NO - THIS is even cheaper than the $41 one at $35 !!!
https://ezbuy.sg/product/414355042.html

Be Shopary: De-sugar rice cooker automatic rice soup separation sugar-reduced rice rice cooking intelligent de-sugar meter rice cooker kitchen appliances
$35.27

$44.09 -20% OFF

11483904300_152530018.jpg

Huh ??? The other Chiffon Cake Funnel Pan-Tray version found in the La Gourmet brand was for collecting the Water Vapour supposedly containing the sugary carbs with the rice remaining at the bigger rice pot with the water ???
Here - the pan-tray cooks the rice itself - got 'sieve-holes' to filter water down into the Bottom Bigger Pot containing water for STEAMING the rice [Many more brands using THIS principle of a FILTER STEAMING POT OF RICE over the Bottom Pot containing the Steaming Water ]???
11549882759_152530018.jpg

11483901412_152530018.jpg

11518957385_152530018.jpg

11549897313_152530018.jpg

11518951665_152530018.jpg

11483925099_152530018.jpg

11549900215_152530018.jpg

https://youtu.be/V1oXTp7hyco

Starch-Removing Rice Cooker • Cut Calories & Best for Diabetics! Unboxing & how to cook rice?

Steam-pressure cooking time = 25 minutes
1 cup rice to 2.5 cups water [1 cup to 4 cups water in the other ECOHOME brand]

EZBuy can use ATM Payment too - YAY !!!

bank transfer
Credit card
Payment verification

After you have done the transfer on ATM or respective i-banking page, you will need to submit the payment details form on ezbuy's website. You will enter the transaction reference number which is given by your bank, exact amount, date & time for our finance team to verify.

Normally payment verification will be done within working hours. To fasten the process, you are advised to set your i-banking "my initial" as your ezbuy's user id and avoid whole number like 100, 200, use 100.02 or 200.01 instead.

kaypohchee

This is the MANUAL Way of getting Resistant Starch from overnight cooked reheated rice - for LC Rice ...
Won't work on mom - she HATES eating overnight stuff !

https://youtu.be/84oUmuJK7m4

Low carb Rice | How to remove starch from rice | weightloss, diabetes

Pre-soak rice for 20 mins
Boil 5 cups water + add 2 Tbsp EV coconut oil
Add 1 cup soaked rice to boiling water
Cook over low flame half-covered till rice is cooked
Filter rice n cool - refrigerate the cooled rice for 12 hours
Reheat the rice before serving
* The filtered leftover rice water makes a good hair conditioner - apply to shampooed hair for 15 mins then rinse off *

https://youtu.be/lyfAGuV4_Dg

******************️ A Simple & Proven Way To Cut Rice Calories By 50% - by Dr Sam Robbins

Rinse 1 cup of white rice, until the water is clear.
Boil some water
Add 1 teaspoon of coconut oil
Add the 1 cup of white rice that you just rinsed and washed.
Cook the rice for about 30 minutes.
IMPORTANT: Let the rice cool down in the refrigerator for about 12 hours.
Reheat and serve.

https://youtu.be/LzSYycjPNGM

Blood Sugar Test: White Rice vs Brown Rice

Some good pics :

No need to buy New LC Rice Cooker
Just need to adapt/modify the "Filter Steamer Rice Pot/Net" - from steamer, colander, metal sieve, etc

c200e6bd838e8ba63a10872ebb12c451.jpg

AKIRA D1 Mini 1.2L Small Desugar Health Rice Cooker Rice Soup Separate Automatic Appointment Low Sugar Steam Congee Pot 1-2 People
8f969db9461fba764e5d4b6174005964.jpg

5458250c068d656be88e948cfa267824.jpg

fc2152f08def2cbbd419c14fec5503e5.jpg

8fdbbb1dc7af3763cff9cfbda47d233b.jpg

Homenhome Stainless Steel Steamer Foldable Steaming Rack
$9.20 on Lazada - to find Q10 Equivalent as the holes are tiny enough here for rice grains !

7df4482459903049e0e83d087c10b94d.jpg

aff106373f3a7046b3b9d9c247fd9085.jpg

Need to remove the handles to fit the PC SS Pot tho'
de91d645add4c35da691772cc9d07d3f.jpg

Actually can use the Provided Steamer and Steamer Rack in the PC too
[may need to use Steamer Paper to 'cover' the too-big-holes for the small rice grains tho']

Just remembered I have the NUSHI Travel Cooker SS Steamer Tray
its holes are tiny enough for rice grains !!!!
More than sufficient for mom's 1/3-1/2 cup dinner rice too ....
Solution found from Existing Stuff !!!! YIPPEEE ....

kaypohchee

More good pics for understanding the process :

460bb7f6d2515e35aebc08b9fb4757d2.jpg

f2b5a534be96a8e5f7cd779ad7163673.jpg

a64a1b8d99e56f75aa8321e2b37615f0.jpg

118ea8813d486f931c8ffa3f9af3d8de.jpg

Found something suitable for about $10 too
Fitness Steamer Steam Rack Convenient Economic Stainless Steel Kitchen Vegetables Tableware Food Accessories Dish Cookware Cooking

9754a72c88bc8ffc5ff0ccde807fe1a4.jpg

e14f9532b41ad185ab09bf0647052250.jpg

kaypohchee

thanks kpc jie jie

moi ish see the white halogen one - boh brands one.

just now ssrr got 1 powerpac similar type one.

dunno get the white one same type but this is powerpac brand
https://www.qoo10.sg/item/POWERPAC-...MINS-TIMER-PPT615/677590863?banner_no=1305330

or the korean one smaller for same pricing
https://www.qoo10.sg/item/VOTOKOREA...-AIRFRYER-5L-OVEN/677576966?banner_no=1305330

So, which did you buy in the end ? Halogen or Air Fryer ???

Tonight saw this NEW version from DAEWOO - interesting !!!
Looks like a combi Grill/Roasting Pan cum Air Fryer [whatever can be done in the Halogen Oven tho']
- but the 3D Heating Element is from BELOW & NOT from the TOP now !
https://www.qoo10.sg/item/DAEWOO-EL...YER-ELECTRIC-BAKING-PAN-2IN1-BASKET/679035170

Daewoo Electronics15 Discount Daewoo Air Fryer Electric Baking Pan 2in1 Basket Bake Roasting Pan Non-Stick Air Oven
Retail Price S$250.00
Q-Price S$163.00 can get discount coupons n vouchers too

1454741713.g_520-w_g.jpg

https://youtu.be/vuhymQES5A4

kaypohchee

So, which did you buy in the end ? Halogen or Air Fryer ???

Tonight saw this NEW version from DAEWOO - interesting !!!
Looks like a combi Grill/Roasting Pan cum Air Fryer [whatever can be done in the Halogen Oven tho']
- but the 3D Heating Element is from BELOW & NOT from the TOP now !
https://www.qoo10.sg/item/DAEWOO-EL...YER-ELECTRIC-BAKING-PAN-2IN1-BASKET/679035170

Daewoo Electronics15 Discount Daewoo Air Fryer Electric Baking Pan 2in1 Basket Bake Roasting Pan Non-Stick Air Oven
Retail Price S$250.00
Q-Price S$163.00 can get discount coupons n vouchers too

1454741713.g_520-w_g.jpg

https://youtu.be/vuhymQES5A4

Huh today even cheaper with
Daily deal S$155.00

kaypohchee

I am copying these posts from DS' thread for more completeness on the LC Rice Cookers topic

Those able to read Chinese
I have a small favour to ask there at my Cooking Toys thread
Pls read my Pg 8 1st post on the Low Carb Reduced Sugar Rice Cooker n respond to my questions ...
https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/127843092-post119.html
[Even cheaper $35 LC Rice Cooker at Pg 9 post
https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/127844646-post124.html
But I started this at Pg 7 - https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/127770126-post104.html ]

I want to confirm my suspicion
- that simply STEAMING rice in an upper pot (whether 'filtered' with holes to allow water to flow down into the Bottom Bigger Pot or not) above the normal Rice Cooker Pot WILL result in LC Fluffier Rice !
ie the very act of STEAMING does wonders as opposed to COOKING rice surrounded IN water ....

TIA !

Sent from OPPO CPH1725 using GAGT

Basically wat the so-called LC rice cooker do is

Submerged rice in water and cook. As it cook, the inner pot will rise, the water will drip off to the bottom pot (coz inner pot has mini holes). Then the rice continued to cook thru steaming those dripped off water.

Tink of it this way. You cook porridge in pot on stove. When you see the water turns cloudy. Sieve out the grains. Then use the porridge water to steam the rice.

Anyway, experiments hv been conducted on the effectiveness in reducing blood sugar. Conclusion = effect insignificant.

Wat the rice cooker do is to remove partial amt of Amylopectin fr the rice. It can only slightly lower GI. No great impact on the overall blood sugar level. Hence not much help in combating diabetes.

These are all gimmick talks by manufacturers. Dun be fooled into wasting money on these. It din really say the rice will be fluffy or not.

Posted from PCWX using Oh! Jo-Delicious!

Thanks for your help here DS !

I managed later to find this in English - easy explanation of sorts

I don't think the LC rice cooker is 100% gimmicky as I feel there is
some science behind the principles for cooking LC Rice
- using the traditional methods [without the use of these 'gimmicky
rice cookers ...' which simply make things much simpler n convenient
for us instead]

On effectiveness/methods - some references :

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3117313/

https://www.livestrong.com/article/466408-how-to-cook-rice-without-starch/

https://food.ndtv.com/food-drinks/i...67563#:~:text=All you need to do,for two to t

From https://www.bulletproof.com/recipes/low-carb/low-carb-carbs-hack-your-rice-with-coconut-oil-recipe/

"Therefore, the benefit of cooking rice with coconut oil is twofold:

The rice produces a smaller spike in blood sugar because you get more resistant starch to take the place of digestible starch.
Moreover, the inherent qualities of the resistant starch decrease this smaller spike even further.
The result is lower-carb rice."

https://youtu.be/WhidYgW4Gj4

From https://www.ruchiskitchen.com/how-to-cook-starch-free-rice/

Why STEAMING Rice makes it fluffy.

"Now the question here is – why drain and steam cook the rice again if the rice is already cooked? The answer is simple- at this point the grain is still sticky, to make them look fluffy- rice needs to be steam cooked for another 3-4 minutes and the end result will be separate, fluffy grains with no clumps."

Addition of vinegar in cooking rice mentioned here too
https://www.thespruceeats.com/cook-basmati-rice-with-less-starch-1957856

From https://www.bonappetit.com/test-kitchen/cooking-tips/article/how-to-make-white-rice-effed-it-up

Here's a good rule of them to follow: Generally, the sweet spot for cooking white rice is 1 cup of rice to 1 cup of water for short grain white rice or 1¼ cups water for long grain white rice.

Let rice stand (rest), covered, for 15-20 minutes to firm up.

https://www.popsugar.com/fitness/How-Make-Healthier-Rice-37167924
The science behind healthier white rice - digestible starch n resistant starch

Adding an oil like coconut oil results in more resistant starch conversion ...

INGREDIENTS
1 cup white rice
2 teaspoons coconut oil
1 3/4 cups water
DIRECTIONS
1) In a pot, bring water to a boil.
2) Add coconut oil to pot, followed by the rice.
3) Cover, lower heat, and cook for 20 to 25 minutes.
4) Let rice cool, then chill in the fridge for at least 12 hours. Reheat as necessary before serving using this reheating method.

KPC : Basically May Soak Rice 20-30 mins n Use MORE Water
- Add vinegar n coconut oil to boiling water before adding rice etc ...
To make LC Rice WITHOUT using a LC Rice Cooker or PC

Well I've just ordered the pretty cheap Small Hole SS Steamer from HK for use in my SONA SPC2509 and this will act as the Inner Rice Steaming Net/Filter where water will drain into the SS Pot below to STEAM-Cook the rice & end up with Fluffy LC Rice
- without my buying another rice cooker too !
O1CN01bb5S3o1hWZhix8wX5_!!2280324285.jpg

5458250c068d656be88e948cfa267824.jpg

Nuts - this means I'll hv to cook mom's rice too since she's not allowed to touch the SONA PC... sighzzzz
Hmmm wonder whether steam-cooking rice in the NUSHI Rice Cooker will hv the same pressure-steaming effect or not - there IS a steam-vent there too ...can leave mom to cook her own rice there after teaching her the different method bah ....

If is juz for more fluffy rice, i din do so leceh if using a rice cooker to cook. I mentioned before how I cooked the rice.

69W84nr.jpg

BK8GDUM.jpg

Before Y2017, when I was using those not so smart rice cooker, I will soak the brown rice and basmati rice for 30min then cook so tat they can be fluffy and the cooking time can be shorten. But after the old rice cooker kaput and I upgraded to the Mayer rice cooker, I find tat even w/o soaking, the brown rice and basmati comes out fluffy too.

Wat I'm worried abt those reduced sugar rice cooker is they may impart a false sense of security, leading one to eat more tinking tat the rice has turned LC.

If to achieve lower GI in rice, I did in a diff way. I was oso looking at creating low (or lower GI) food when dad's blood sugar went haywire when he was undergoing TB treatment. Becoz while taking the TB meds, he need to be off metformin and used insulin injection instead. But even wif increase insulin dosage, his blood sugar would often be in the range of 19-26. And dad is a rice person. So I cannot eliminate tat fr his diet. After discussing wif the doc abs dietician, I tried to lower the GI of the rice by adding things like quinoa, oatmeal, barley, mixed grains etc to the white rice. And tat works, his blood sugar went down significantly to single digits.

Posted from PCWX using Oh! Jo-Delicious!

I hv since read that we are NOT doing the GI reading for rice correctly
bc NO-ONE just takes rice EXCLUSIVELY [ie eat ONLY rice]

We eat our rice WITH Other Foods as well and the ORDER of eating the various foods ALSO plays a big part in the final GI score

Ideally we should fill up on PROTEINS + some Fats first as they don't raise blood sugar (much) - then eat Carbs last !

(Hmmm think that's what I do usually with my carb-containing dinner [as my IF lunch is usually LC Fish Soup] - minimal rice at dinner (if any/at all) with a Fruity/Sweet Dessert following dinner ... so no big insulin spike bah )

kaypohchee

Only today I come across the link with pic showing more of how the La Gourmet LC Rice Cooking Process works in English ....

Theirs is a bit different using Evaporated-Condensed Water in an Upward HYDROLIC Process whereas the Other Brands mostly use a FILTERED NET LEACHING Starchy Water Downwards Process !

https://www.qoo10.sg/item/LA-GOURME...06283?banner_no=1824038&sAffiliate=Q109125426

6be44e07-659a-4794-b3a2-e1edcee57d45.jpg

I'm expecting my cheap $7.20 Small-Hole Net Container to be delivered soon from HK too

1442183550.g_80-w-st_g.jpg

O1CN01pEmM681hWZhix5aee_!!2280324285.jpg

kaypohchee

Got quite a number of deliveries from Q10 uncle today but the one I am tinkering with now is my 1.8l LOPOL Electric Health/Tea Pot (upgraded with filter etc)
I grabbed it at the 618 sale when price was very reasonable - abt $28 only !!!
Price was ridiculously high at over $90+ at some ISETAN Vendor Promo too ....

Boils water very very fast - can be our daily kettle when the gas whistling kettle dies on us !!!
Hv been wanting to get one for the longest time ever but put off by the pricing
Spas using this to serve nice teas n desserts to their clients ...

Now cooking Red Bean Soup with tangerine peel as the dessert for today ...so nice to watch thru' see-thru glass here

18 functions etc ...
Got helpful English translations in description page/review as stupid manual all in Chinese ...
Stick to the few selected simple functions instead of more complicating ones bah
wfVLn7Ql.jpg

lptvxkYl.jpg

qOMlXUsl.jpg

Early birthday celebratory Eats with Kueh Pie Tee dinner as don't want to wait till the cilantro gets spoilt for the garnishing with own cooked prawns - just need to heat up the turnip etc n a yummy
dinner is served !
Bought 2 packs on offer
Decided against the Popiah Set due to the more pricey delivery needed there !!!
ZaKqraKl.jpg

kaypohchee

Jin ho jiak - the Mr Popiah Kueh Pie Tee dinner
added my own prawn n cilantro garnishings

HKr5bP7l.jpg

sng9rKjl.jpg

8S3obwKl.jpg

Followed by the Red Bean Soup dessert cooked in my LATEST Toy
- my LOPOL Electrical Health/Tea Pot
S9L4YXSl.jpg

Zj7NyQtl.jpg

Tonight saw THIS pretty versatile split multi-functional electric cooker !
Decided to post it here
Rather than in the 2-Room BTO Thread which I feel is more appropriate as there are some who feel otherwise and jjww about it sighzzzz
THIS would make a great portable electric 'cooking stove' for BBFA types
https://www.lazada.sg/products/bear...ng-pan-drg-c12y1-i705756497-s2207626026.html?

Bear Split multi-functional electric cooker 3in1 electric frying pan DRG-C12Y1
$107.90
($146.07-26%)

e47021851d6233d072be7bdc49b2b3a7.jpg

1d2723653e9542e3cc908840243d00be.jpg

162bac226cefa20a63658887c7bdfcde.jpg

kaypohchee

Useful Videos

https://youtu.be/MXTL_4ZJYo0

Best Pressure Cooker Review

We spent 30 hours researching and testing each pressure cooker and cooked over 50 pounds of food in total to evaluate each appliance.

Our picks for the best pressure cooker:
1. Instant Pot - DUO-60: http://geni.us/InstantPotDuo60
2. Cuisinart - CPC-600: http://geni.us/CuisinartCPC600
3. T-Fal - P25107: http://geni.us/TFalP252144 [Stove top]

When purchasing a pressure cooker, the top features to consider are:
• Electric vs. stovetop
• User-friendly programmable functions
• Speed to pressurize
• Ease of cleaning

After testing, we found that the Instant Pot - DUO-60 is the best pressure cooker. Learn more here: https://www.yourbestdigs.com/reviews/...

https://youtu.be/PmtdUtVr2ss

5 Best Multi-Cookers for 2020

https://youtu.be/dt-YQ-S7PUU

5 Best Electric Pressure Cooker 2020 - The Best Pressure Cookers (5 BEST)

https://youtu.be/H-3X41cFL-M

Top 5 Best Electric Pressure Cookers Review in 2020

TIPS on using PCs .....

https://youtu.be/7ztF31OdOYc

How-to-Cook with the Presto® Electric Pressure Cooker Plus

https://youtu.be/ZXAd9BYDPJQ

How to Use an Instant Pot - Instant Pot 101 - Beginner? Start HERE!

https://youtu.be/rjj08liF8aw

How To Get Started With Your Instant Pot

https://youtu.be/eZs25HMglm4

How to Get Started with your Instant Pot Duo! Beginners start here!

https://youtu.be/f1DyyQoMYZw

30 Instant Pot Tips EVERYONE NEEDS TO KNOW! Instant Pot 101

I've been getting a lot of questions so I decided I would make a video to answer a lot of your questions! Here are my 30 Instant Pot Tips that you might not know about! Or if you did know, you might need a little refresher!

Here are links I told you I would link below.

1. Our Facebook Group: https://www.facebook.com/groups/sixsisters...

3. Freezer Jam: https://www.sixsistersstuff.com/recip...
Bread: https://studio.youtube.com/video/v4tJmdEY8pE/edit

4. Pot in Pot Recipes: https://www.youtube.com/ztyD-2eQhAI

5. Instant Pot Eggs: www.sixsistersstuff.com/recipe/how-...n-the-instant-pot-5-5-5-method/&v=f1DyyQoMYZw
https://www.sixsistersstuff.com/recip...

9. Bar Keepers Friend Video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QreiaVucjoI

10. Cooking Time List: https://www.sixsistersstuff.com/how-t...

11. Vinegar: https://amzn.to/2WJIa7Y

13. Sealing Rings: https://amzn.to/2WIS4qp

14. Steamer Basket: https://amzn.to/2YRGwDO

16. Chocolate Fondue: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gXeBZgGLc_g

17. OUR NEW INSTANT POT COOKBOOK: https://amzn.to/2WlmcsG

18. Yogurt: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M0yeMATuPH4

19: Burn notice: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SJPcDAqGyZw

21. Inner Pot: https://amzn.to/2zvafYs

26. Freezer Meal Recipes: https://www.youtube.com/watch?
v=nAF8DM0fkNw&list=PLezM9OAIzPandUkGwsc3MTqUKZQWkuq2x

New to the Instant Pot? Watch how to use your Instant Pot here: https://youtu.be/ZXAd9BYDPJQ

Here is my FAVORITE Instant Pot - The Instant Pot Duo: https://amzn.to/33u4Wll

https://youtu.be/QreiaVucjoI

How to Clean Your Instant Pot POT! Make Your Pot Look Brand NEW! Bar Keepers Friend/Vinegar

https://youtu.be/96g4OFELBLI

How To Clean Your Instant Pot, Instant Pot Lid and Float Valve

https://youtu.be/spI9UPvz0Xg

How to deep clean your Instant Pot (and get the smell out of your sealing ring - 2-Min steamed hot vinegary water + lemon)

https://youtu.be/ym-659M6KkE

How To Clean Your Instant Pot Tips and Tricks

https://youtu.be/HpBkYSj0Ja4

Instant Pot Yogurt (Two Ways) - 2 basic ingredients

TWO WAYS: Regular (unstrained & creamy) and Greek (strained & thick)!
And no having to pre-boil any milk and buy a candy thermometer here - we're doing this the best and easiest way: the cold start method.

https://youtu.be/M0yeMATuPH4

3 Ingredient Instant Pot "No Boil" Yogurt - Cold Start Dump and Go Yogurt Recipe

https://youtu.be/cl2s8Sdvr8U

How to make yogurt in the Instant Pot (greek yogurt or regular yogurt)

Recipe : https://www.365daysofcrockpot.com/instant-pot-greek-yogurt/

kaypohchee

In due course I would want to do healthy Greek Yoghurt in my SONA SPC2509 PC - as shown in above Instant Pot videos
That Euro Cuisine yogurt strainer is SO expensive on Amazon Q10 Lazada etc etc !!! :eek:

Screen-Shot-2018-02-06-at-9.38.26-AM.png

So no choice but to go for the CHEAPER alternative of a colander lined with cheese cloth/coffee filters/etc...
Just ordered the cheese cloth from China but delivery charges are pretty high
Next to look for (cheap) UHT Milk on Q10

1184899971.g_520-w_g.jpg

My soon-to-be-delivered 24-cm Colander Set should do fine for the yoghurt straining too - might need a Bigger Bottom Whey-Collecting Container which I ALREADY have too [plus other possible containers too] ??
TB2iAZaeXXXXXbyXXXXXXXXXXXX_!!2182697971.jpg

kaypohchee

This Coconut Yoghurt is made by the Boiling Method whereas the Instant Pot Method skips this boiling part ....
Read https://thestonesoup.com/blog/2012/03/20/yoghurt/

https://youtu.be/38myjFSnuwE

2 cans coconut milk or cream (400g / 14oz each), approx 20% fat
40g (1.5oz) egg white powder
1 teaspoon yoghurt culture

VARIATIONS
no egg white powder?
– You should be able to find it online or a cake decorating supplier. Whole egg powder would be fine, although it will change the flavour. Don’t use fresh egg whites as they may contain salmonella. The yoghurt is still lovely without it, just a lot less thick.

vegan – skip the egg white powder and be prepared for a runnier (but still delicious!) yoghurt

short on time? – the yoghurt can be eaten after the first 12 hours, but the flavour and texture are thicker and more yoghurty after the extra day in the fridge.

using powdered coconut milk?– mix it up with boiling water then cool to 43C (110F). Then add the egg white powder and proceed as per the recipe.

https://youtu.be/odGpIWIz2xs

cows milk yoghurt
makes 8 cups

This may seem like a lot of yoghurt but it will keep for a month or so in the fridge. Even though there are only 2 of us, we haven’t had any problems eating it up!

2L (8 cups) full fat milk
100g (3.5oz) full cream milk powder, optional
2 teaspoons yoghurt culture

VARIATIONS
no full cream milk powder?
– Regular milk will work.

vegan – see the coconut yoghurt recipe above.

short on time? – see the head note for how to use UHT milk and skip the heating step.

super creamy – add in a cup of whipping cream or double the milk powder.

Yes if you want to use all powdered milk and water that’s fine…

I make my yogurt in a soup flask that has a wide neck, keeps it warm enough over night.

Chira says:
20 March, 2012 at 6:50 pm
Ever since we moved to Bhutan and after that to Tanzania nearly 20 years ago I make yoghurt at home. As I cannot buy powdered yoghurt cultures here in Tanzania and as using a fresh culture for every batch of yoghurt would be expensive, I developed the following method. I use a powdered yoghurt culture for the first batch of 2 liters. Half of this yoghurt we eat, the other half I pour into a silicone ice-cube tray and freeze. These are my starter cultures. Once the fresh yoghurt is nearly eaten, I make a new batch using 2 tablespoons of left-over yoghurt. Once the freshly made yoghurt becomes too sour (usually after 5 to 6 batches) I use 2 frozen yoghurt cubes to start a new batch and restart the process. I bought an Indian 2 liter hotpot many many years ago and though it’s really ugly it has kept my yoghurt at the right temperature for nearly 20 years. I never bought a thermometer as I test it like you would test the temperature of a bottle of milk for a baby. Just drip one drop on the back of your hand. If it’s too hot for you to give to a baby it’s too hot for the yoghurt starter. My most popular yoghurt variation is to first leave a vanilla pod in the hot milk, leave to infuse for 30 minutes, then remove pod and scrape out the seeds in the milk. Make yoghurt as usual. We are lucky though to have vanilla grown nearby and available really cheaply.

Chris says:
6 April, 2020 at 11:32 pm
I just store my yoghurt in the same container it ferments in, everytime I bought a store bought yoghurt I kept the container, it also makes less cleaning and less chance of contamination than if you transferred to new container, as for sterilization, I just use regular dish soap, cheap and kills pretty much any bacteria.

Mika says:
21 March, 2012 at 1:35 am
I also started making my own yogurt several years ago and realized how easy it was. I have always used a few tablespoons of plain commercial yogurt (Dannon brand works well.) And you then use some of your just recently made yogurt as a starter for the next batch. If you won’t be making the next batch for awhile, you can freeze enough of the yogurt to use a starter for the next time. I incubate my yogurt in a cooler with a large milk or water container that has some hot water in it.

Would this work using half coconut milk and half cows milk?
YES

AnnaO says:
24 March, 2012 at 11:58 pm
I made the coconut yogurt, leaving it in the fridge for another 12 hours really made a difference :) As I´m intolerant to eggs I excluded the egg white powder. Any ideas on what might work, as the yogurt turned out so runny, deliciuos but runny? Xanthan Gum?
Thank you for the great work you do :)

jules says:
28 March, 2012 at 8:56 am
HI Anna
I’d recommend trying the Tapioca starch that another reader suggested to thicken. I haven’t used Xanthan Gum so not familiar.

Liz says:
1 May, 2012 at 9:31 pm
I tried using agar (a vegan safe algae that thickens like gelatin). Has anyone used that with success? My first try resulted in a yogurt you could cut with a knife. Seriously – it was harder than cheese! Wondering on what ratio I should have used…. :)

stanwoodabby says:
25 May, 2018 at 1:59 pm
We’ve been adding unsweetened dried coconut flakes to the coconut cream before heating & culturing it–the thickness is great!

Tabatha says:
1 April, 2012 at 5:00 am
Corn or potato starch will also help thicken. It’s what would be used more commonly in store-bought yoghurts, especially Greek-style.

Andrea says:
31 March, 2012 at 5:45 am
I just started making my own yogurt three weeks ago- and am similar to you in that I am kicking myself for not doing it sooner! So easy. I use the crockpot method and just wrap up the whole thing in a couple of towels and put it out of the way. I have a colander that I line with two cheesecloth type things and put that over a bowl. I use the separated whey in place of buttermilk and i have a “greek” style yogurt as a result. My two sons (ages 1 and 3) love it. We add honey, or pomegranates (in winter) or some homemade jam.

This post has made me excited to start playing around with it! I love the vanilla idea mentioned earlier. I’d like to try egg whites. And I am excited to find out that this can be done with coconut milk!

Sue says:
5 June, 2012 at 2:34 pm
I make coconut yoghurt using 30g of glucose powder (Lotus brand, and I use this for all yoghurt I make with non lactose containing milk) and around 100ml of starter per 1 litre of long life coconut cream (Kara brand). I use an electric yoghurt maker (Easy Yoghurt, which holds just over 1 litre). I warm the coconut cream in the microwave for about 90 secs and then stir in the glucose powder and the starter culture. I used a commercial culture which I obtained fromGreen Living Australia (http://www.greenlivingaustralia.com.au/yoghurt_culture_soy.html) for my first batch, but now store some of each batch to use in the next one. The yoghurt is so thick that you can stand a spoon up in it, and I recently drained a batch through cheesecloth to make a fantastic cheesecake.

If I need to thicken any yoghurt that I make, I do this to make fruit yoghurts, and only after it has been incubated and then refrigerated. I use arrowroot starch as the thickener, as I find tapioca has an unpleasant flavour. If anyone wants a recipe, I’m happy to provide it.

Jackielyn Powell says:
23 July, 2012 at 3:21 pm
Hey Jules,

Wow, the pectin worked and the texture is creamy and smooth just like yoghurt. This was my third attempt and it was PERFECT! I used three heaped tablespoons of pectin (which also have castor sugar as a carrier and citric acid – i hope the citric acid doesn’t harm the bacteria?). I actually heated the coconut milk up to 60-70 degree so that the pectin would dissolve easily and then cooled it down to about 40 degrees where i then added the contents of my pro-biotic capsules.

I got the pectin from coles, but am going to check out woolies to see if they have any other brands that i can try which don’t have citric acid and castor sugar as when my yoghurt was ready to move out of the oven and into the fridge, i opended the lid and tasted my yoghurt to see if it was tart enough, i couldn’t tell if it was naturally tart or because of the citric acid?

All in all, it worked out well and this is how i will continue to make my coconut yoghurt, the pectin gives it the perfect texture, you could use about 3 or 4 heaped tablespoons for a batch using 3 cans of coconut milk.

Next mission. To make my own coconut milk.

Thanks Jules, love your blog!

jules says:
23 July, 2012 at 6:46 pm
Wow Jackielyn!
Thanks for reporting back… I’m going to have to track down some pectin myself.
The citric acid shouldn’t harm the bacteria as lactic acid bacteria are relatively tolerant – although only up to a point.
I’ve tried coconut milk.. way too much effort for me… but hope you come up with an easier way.
Good luck!
Jx

You mentioned some yogurts are a bit runny. One thing we always did was to add 1 cup of powdered milk to the mixture. It thickened the yogurt nicely.

jules says:
4 December, 2012 at 5:30 pm
Hi Viridiana
The main difference between powdered cultures and live ones is that the powdered cultures use strains of yeast that are more hardy and able to tolerate the freeze drying process. I’m not familiar with any yoghurt starters that look like blue cheese… might be worth your while tracking down a keffir culture… which tends to be crumbly like you describe. Good luck!

lydija says:
4 March, 2013 at 3:02 am
Thanks for putting this recipe up. I tried it last night and it was great. It is still more of a European style (runnier than most American yogurts) and so I put half the batch to drip off a cheesecloth and got the greek style I was hoping for. I used honey during the incubation phase and probiotic capsules. I also added some protein powder for a bit of extra protein. I also added a drop of vanilla and I was in heaven.

Kevin says:
30 March, 2013 at 3:05 am
Hi All –
Been making my own Greek style non-fat yogurt for a while now.
Not into the probiotic/non-dairy thing as a lot of you seem to be.
I use store bought skim milk (sometimes add non-fat powdered milk to bump up the protein and the calcium) and either my own yogurt or, if I forget to save some for starter, use any commercial plain yogurt for starter. Have never tried the powdered stuff.
I heat 7-8 cups of milk to 180 deg./F (altho I don’t think it’s necessary for commercial milk), cool it to 110 deg., put 3-4 good tablespoons of yogurt into a 2 quart glass casserole dish and stir in the milk. Then I put the dish into my yogurt maker for about 8 hours. The longer you leave it the more tart it gets. I’ve heard of using the cooler or heating pad method, even putting it in the oven w/ just the light on to keep it warm but I have a yogurt maker so….
At this point it’s good to go (just stir and refrigerate) but I prefer Greek style so I strain it thru a linen napkin for an hour or two (you loose about 50% of the volume) and since I like it really creamy I force it thru a fine mesh screen. Then I stir back in enough of the whey to get the texture I like. It does thicken somewhat in the fridge. Lasts at least a week or two. Have never had it go bad before I used it up.
You can use any milk (whole, 2%, goat, etc.) Have never tried soy milk but I might try it for my neice.
Definitely am going to try coconut. Sounds great!

Almost forgot… you need to use fresh starter after 4 batches. It definitely loses it’s potency over time.
For FR – you’re looking for approx. 112 deg./F for the entire fermenting time.
Doesn’t have to be exact but should be above 100F and below 130F. Above 130 deg./F will kill the bacteria culture, below 100 deg./F the bacteria don’t grow quickly enough to gel properly.

hippytea says:
2 April, 2013 at 5:39 am
Hi there! I must try coconut yoghurt – I have lots of fun making regular cow’s milk yoghurt.

Just a comment: the step of heating the milk up to 83C is not for sterilisation (though that’s a bonus) – it’s to denature the milk proteins, and it gives a better set, especially if you can hold it around that temperature for 20-30mins before cooling and adding the starter. That’s why a lot of yoghurt recipes recommend doing this even with freshly-opened pasteurised milk – pasteurisation doesn’t keep the milk hot for long enough to denature the proteins.

I believe UHT/ultrapasteurised milk doesn’t need this step as it has already been done (hence why it tastes a bit different). I’ve never used UHT for yoghurt but apparently it works well.

Kevin Moore says:
16 April, 2013 at 6:58 am
You can use any yogurt for a starter as long as it contains live cultures. I’ve used sweetened yogurt in a pinch (vanilla flavored and honey flavored) and it works okay. Prefer the plain.
You can also use any milk – cows, sheep, goat – raw, pasteurized, UHT and can combine them. I don’t use raw milk and have never tried soy or almond but have my first batch of coconut working right now.

Elle says:
21 April, 2013 at 8:06 pm
Jules, thank you for your inspirational recipe for yogurts. I have been making cows milk yogurt for years without any problems.
I have thrown out many coconut yogurt attempts – worse one had almonds in. I at last had success adding some powdered coconut milk to tinned coconut milk, instead of the powdered egg white. (Just didn’t have the powdered egg white). Is there any reason I shouldn’t use powdered coconut milk?
I used the live cultures I keep in the freezer and they work for both cow and coconut yogurts.
Thanks, Elle

John Spitaleri says:
25 April, 2013 at 5:26 am
When I lived in Ecuador I used to make yogurt ever day.

No jars needed, no bags for storage, no thermometer needed.

We had raw milk delivered each morning. Just put a tablespoon of yesterday’s yogurt in a shallow bowl mixed with fresh milk. Cover lightly with cloth, on a warm spot. Tomorrow your yogurt is ready. Next day repeat.

No Work
No Storage needed
Fresh Every day.

Bec says:
16 May, 2013 at 10:11 am
Hi, thank you for this post!

I borrowed an Easiyo yoghurt maker from a friend a while back and tried a couple of times to make yoghurt using full fat coconut milk. I found that the coconut milk in the container mimicked what it does in the cans – ie. it separated, leaving a thicker, white layer at the top and a watery, clear layer at the bottom. Do you recommend using only the thicker part of the coconut milk/cream from the can, or is there a brand you can recommend for me? I didn’t add egg white powder but from the sounds of your post that’s morea thickener – I added powdered coconut milk to my second batch thinking that may help it emulsify but it didn’t seem to help.

I don’t own a food thermometer and I’d prefer not to buy any extra equipment so I’d like to continue trying with the yoghurt maker, but any advice you could give me about brands of coconut milk that may work better would be greatly appreciated!

JerryF says:
26 May, 2013 at 12:06 am
Very nice blog and beautiful photo’s. That being said let me go to the making of yogurt.
I’m an expat living in the Philippines and it’s hard to get fresh milk (getting easier) and 100ml of Nestle’s yogurt will set you back about US$ ~1.25.
So what I do is this, and I love it.
I use only dried milk powder, haven’t tried the instant, but don’t see why it wouldn’t work.
The DMS that I use call for 50g per L, I use about 75g /L, then add in some of the Nestle’s plain, 1-2 Tbspn or 30ml. Then set it on my counter (except in the rainy season when it’s cool), normal temp being around 90F or 34C, after about 8-10 hrs, I have yogurt, after 15-18 hrs it is so thick and tangy that it blows my mind. No Heating of the milk, just put it in the jar and put a lid on it. In the rainy season, I use an electric heating pad set on low in the oven.

I use dry milk solids for skim milk, yogurt, fresh cheeses and for me it works great.
I will do anything to avoid UHT milk.

kezia says:
4 June, 2013 at 7:26 pm
i found some esiyo yoghurt makers at the op shop, is so easy to make yoghurt in them! You just half fill the 1L container (or a jar of similar size) with room temperature water, add 1 1/2 cups full cream milk powder, 3 tablespoons yoghurt (i used Jalna biodynamic for my first batch, but now use some of my own), put the lid on, shake well, then *Fill to the top of the jar with more room temperature water!, shake again! Fill the esiyo with boiling water to the top of the red insert, put the lid on….and 6 hours later you’ve got delicious yoghurt!

Sandra says:
15 June, 2015 at 1:40 pm
Hi, I was just reading your yoghurt ideas….. Have you ever tried making yoghurt in the slow cooker. I make heaps of Greek yoghurt because we eat so much of it. It is cheaper. I use cows milk, here is what I do.
I put 4 litres of milk in slow cooker and heat until bubbles form around the top (this is to kill any bad bacteria) turn off and allow to cool until it is around the temperature of a baby’s bottle (I never use a thermometer and I have never had a fail). In a bowl I whisk one cup of my milk and my culture (from my favourite Greek yoghurt or my saved culture from my last batch). Save some (2/3 tbs) from each batch to keep it going). Then whisk the mix gently with long strokes back into the slow cooker. Place the pot into a warmed oven. Do not leave oven on. (put towel on shelf then pot and towel over top and sides). Leave overnight. For yummy thick Greek yoghurt I strain off some of the whey by putting a thin cotton tea towel over a colander and loading in the yoghurt. I like mine nice and thick.
I find making yoghurt this way so easy. Another thing you could do is leave the oven light on to keep the temperature right. I haven’t had to do this as I am in a warm climate. Have fun

Mike G says:
17 June, 2015 at 7:17 pm
I’ve been making yoghurt for over a year using dry culture from a local Australian company called Country Brewer, who also do beer and cheesemaking supplies. No affiliation.
The reason for heating cows milk to near boiling is to get rid of unwanted bacteria and also to denature the milk proteins so the yogurt doesn’t come out slimy or “ropey”.
This has already been done with the dollar a litre UHT long life milk so it’s only necessary to heat it to 43 degrees typically. I also stir in the full cream milk powder and I’ve yet to come across a supermarket yoghurt that is smoother, creamier or more delicious than my own brew. Also, including the powdered milk and the culture it’s only costing around $1.50 a kilo.

Thanks for the blog.

Pauline says:
4 July, 2015 at 11:08 pm
Love the info on here. I buy a litre of UHT milk, a pot of natural greek yoghurt, and mix three tablespoons of the yogurt into the milk, no need to heat it as its already done for you. I put it into the easiyo jar, pour boiling water into the thermos container in to the top of the red insert and leave the jar inside the thermos for 24 hours. If you want thick and creamy yoghurt, strain the yoghurt through a piece of muslin over a bowl, I put the muslin into a sieve to hold the muslin you will see the liquid separating I think the yellowish liquid is called whey but could be wrong. It takes a while to work out how long to leave it but the longer you leave it the thicker it will be. Once you have it to the consistency you like tip away the yellowish liquid, if the yoghurt is nice and thick you will probably find you can almost scrape it from the muslin. I am sure I saw somewhere where some people keep the whey and add it to soups etc, I don’t as it has a taste I don’t like.

Marianne Gifford says:
10 January, 2017 at 3:17 pm
whey protein is really good for you….it comes from cow’s milk, is a rich source of the body’s essential amino acids, is efficiently digested and absorbed and is the most nutritious protein available. You could use it in recipes where you cannot taste it, if you’re finicky.

Here’s what you do; buy a 6 pack of yogurt with live cultures. Pop the whole tray in the freezer. Defrost a single tub at a time, as needed, or if you run out of left overs from your previous batch of yogurt and Viola! Bob’s your uncle, you always have culture. I find that buying culture is sometimes a tad expensive, so I decided to try this and I have had nothing but smooth, thick success.

Ayas says:
28 August, 2015 at 6:40 pm
You will get even better results if you set your yogurt in an earthen utensil. Yogurt set in earthen pots gets a nice texture and eating yogurt from earthen utensils is much tastier (Like decanted wine). And adding a smidge of sugar will speed up the process as well.The sugar is food for the starter culture.

jules says:
29 September, 2015 at 3:48 pm
Yes Margrit.
The bacteria ferments the sugars to form lactic acid which lowers the pH of the yoghurt and causes the PROTEIN in the milk to change form and thicken the yoghurt. Almond and soy milks don’t have these proteins so even if you get the fermentation you don’t get the thickening…
Jx

care4u

Anyone here using Ariston microwave oven? Came across their 33L 6-in-1 Tabletop Combi Microwave Oven, look nice and lots of function, however not much reviews. Looking for one that can microwave/reheat, convection, steam, grill and airfry if possible.

kaypohchee

Anyone here using Ariston microwave oven? Came across their 33L 6-in-1 Tabletop Combi Microwave Oven, look nice and lots of function, however not much reviews. Looking for one that can microwave/reheat, convection, steam, grill and airfry if possible.
You will need someone else to help you here as I am not into microwave believing it to be unhealthy
Why not a steam oven etc etc instead like the Panasonic Cubie ???

Why not look into.. desiresale DS thread
She recommended Kitchenaid's new countertop oven in her post ..

Taloona

I think THIS 5L Korean Airfryer with glass will be my next toy
when I need to replace the old Halogen Oven
Feel it beats the Turbo design of the Philips pricier air fryers too

https://www.qoo10.sg/item/VOTO-KORE...ECT-SIZE-FOR-HOME-DIRECT/658647746?stcode=411

VOTO KOREA[VOTO] Korea HOT Items ★ Air Fryer 5L Perfect size for home ★ direct view glass air fry ★5 colors
Retail Price S$350.00
Q-Price S$150.00
Daily deal S$125.00

1312939244.g_400-w_g.jpg

7cebd1b6-76ea-4395-b62b-9c41947f874d.jpg

67be8927-b7bc-46d7-b208-ec2f05bf1030.jpg

a89f3bec-e507-42d3-9e4b-5d0c337a0e3f.jpg

Review said the manual is in Korean and plug is two pin round plug?

I am currently looking to buy a air fryer.

kaypohchee

After a busy day today, my Q10 partial hoot from HK n China got delivered by another courier

Those Instant Pot SS steamer pans came with a coarse strainer filter cloth too ...
IF I had known then wouldn't hv needed to buy cheesecloth for the Greek Yoghurt straining too !!!
Glad the smaller steamer fitted EXACTLY into the NUSHI Rice Cooker for lid cover to close tightly too
Now to teach mom to STEAM her rice instead to get rid of some starch before she eats her rice !!!
ADDED : Mom is too used to old habits - didn't want additional steps in steaming rice instead !!!
cyxiuB1l.jpg

The slightly-bigger steamer below can be used in my SONA PC n also for straining Greek Yoghurt (above some Mixing Bowl)
anKFtFgl.jpg

The SS Colander Set is also very solid except for a small rust? spot shown below the toothpick there - think can be removed .... [yay - removed !!!]
[Had to try very hard not to show myself in all that SS reflection]
pLoZNCKl.jpg

dCL6vagl.jpg

As I still could not find my Muffin Tray (fits toaster/halogen ovens) I bought this set of Bake Ware at cheap price ... Altho' got some dents in 3 of the 6+2 (free sieve+ mixing bowl) set, pretty ok still on the whole bah ! If only seller bothered to pack properly ...
Oce5a70l.jpg

(ADDED 29 July - bought Silicone Egg Mold from Q10 - also can be used in my SONA PC !)

Also got these freebies
Is that silicon "paw" thingy for baking cookies ?
[Hmm I think can use this to make those With Filling Nonya Kuehs where you can 'bang' the mold like those Ang Ku Kuehs Wooden Molds ???]
Popsicle sticks ??
aG6phsal.jpg

Come to think of it
That free sieve could also be used for Greek Yoghurt straining bah

kaypohchee

Review said the manual is in Korean and plug is two pin round plug?

I am currently looking to buy a air fryer.
Will reply when on laptop later

I'm not sure whether there is any manual at all
If there was I'd probably left it somewhere if in Korean
Anyway I didn't need the manual at all
Simple enough to operate with just 2 buttons [just that I find the print not clear/big enough for my old eyes]
- TIME & TEMPERATURE [up to 210C]

https://www.qoo10.sg/item/VOTOKOREA...-AIRFRYER-5L-OVEN/677576966?banner_no=1305330

OK - on the plug I had already replied to another edmwer bwaysaigan at
Page 7 here
in particular this EDITED copied post https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/127680243-post94.html

The VOTO air fryer uses a 2-pin (rounded) plug as shown in pic
No problem fitting it into the multi-plug flexi-connector slab also bought on Q10 offer (or just get an adapter)

SbQYTekl.jpg

QXV58dcl.jpg

For airfrying etc I either use the VOTO or the SENCOR Halogen Oven or BOTH
For bulky/bigger dishes I will use the 45L Powerpac Oven at the balcony

Tonight I used the VOTO to crisp up 5 (already-fried) chicken wings after spraying coconut oil - in the PCT Easy Pot (so no need for any cleaning other than the PCT Pot) !!!

*** You MUST get at least one L Size PCT Easy Pot for the 5L VOTO
I've got both a White n a Grey One - I find this much cheaper and more functional as it is 'hard' unlike soft silicon [the pricier Balsang ?]
Link https://www.qoo10.sg/item/EASY-POT-AIRFRYER-MICROWAVE-PCT-CONTAINER-LARGE-SMALL-IVORY/675998103

So far the VOTO works quite well tho' it is smaller than what I am used to - the 12L halogen oven with up to 250C temperature ...
NWCLOfHl.jpg

e0NnFzXl.jpg

HxaiWBIl.jpg

For a replacement air fryer maybe you want to consider the 5.3L LIVINGWELL brand on Q10 ....
Will post with more details later ....
See my Post #97 at Pg 7 here
https://www.qoo10.sg/item/LIVINGWEL...ACITY-5-3L-FRYING/677706789?banner_no=1305330

I would go for THIS over the $104 VOTO as :
1) Bigger at 5.3L
2) More Functions - can refer to pic below for ENGLISH so won't be deterred by the Korean Manual
3) Price not much more at $119 Time Sale
** For Easier Washing still should get at least one Size L PCT Easy Pot too

1440552393.g_520-w_g.jpg

imageproxy

ADDED : There's now an even NEWER Hybrid 2-in-1 Air Fryer cum Grill
See my later posts on Pg 9 here
BUT it's even SMALLER at 2.35L only - max 220C temperature

1454741713.g_520-w_g.jpg

I'll go for the slightly bigger LIVINGWELL Air Fryer over the VOTO as I much prefer having MORE Functions etc !

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.