Which one to choose? Asus Vivobook 2020 vs Lenovo Ideapad S145 vs Acer Aspire 5

flowerpalms

Hi all,

Need help to choose the best value laptop out of this 3 choices.
for long term use budget $1000

Asus Vivobook 14" 2020
https://www.lazada.sg/products/asus...o42.searchlist.list.1.5cfc614dh0Wt6j&search=1

Lenovo Ideapad S145 14"
https://www.lazada.sg/products/same...o42.searchlist.list.3.16561df5kQt3C8&search=1

Acer Aspire 5 14"
https://www.lazada.sg/products/read...o42.searchlist.list.1.3943447f9eomg4&search=1

Note that i have visited Challenger, Best Denki and Harvey Norman, it seems they offer the same prices...

natas

Both Acer and Asus are almost identical spec except for graphic card. If this laptop is for basic like doc, powerpoint, web surfing, video, etc both should do the job. You can read more reviews online or watch in youtube. As for the Lenovo, it is last gen AMD. U might want to look into newer 4000s.

As I used Asus before, I am more bias towards Asus.

SpecialKeyboardService

Screen
Asus Fhd ips panel 38 %srgb
Lenovo Fhd tn panel
Acer hd ips panel 1366 Ă— 768

All laptop screen cui. Need external monitor

Processor
Asus i5
Lenovo ryzen 3000 outdated liao no!
Acer i5

Ram
Asus 4 soldered plus 4gb
Lenovo 4 soldered plus 8 gb 2gb will be taken for amd vega
Acer 4 soldered plus 4 gb
soldered ram uplorry com unusable

Wifi
Asus ac outdated
Lenovo ac outdated
Acer ax latest

Battery
Asus 37Wh
Lenovo 35 Wh
Acer 51 Wh

Graphic card:
Asus Mx330 best
Lenovo Vega 8 soso
Acer Mx250 slightly worst than the mx330

Asus link: https://www.notebookcheck.net/ASUS-...machine-with-performance-issues.431776.0.html

Lenovo link: http://dealunboxing.com/lenovo-ideapad-s145-laptop-review-amd-ryzen-5-3500u-unboxing-teardown/

Acer: https://www.notebookcheck.net/Acer-...ot-Intel-Comet-Lake-at-its-Best.453635.0.html

Final note: acer have more ports. Pay more to get the fhd ips screen to be more worth. Bigger battery will ensure the com last long time.

Asus: best among the three for light gaming. If plugged in all the time , 37wh battery cap can be off set

Lenovo: cheapest. Buy if you can tahan the bad screen and enjoy longer warranty i guess?

Tldr: If budget is tight, take the asus.

flowerpalms

Screen
Asus Fhd ips panel 38 %srgb
Lenovo Fhd tn panel
Acer hd ips panel 1366 ********* 768

All laptop screen cui. Need external monitor

Processor
Asus i5
Lenovo ryzen 3000 outdated liao no!
Acer i5

Ram
Asus 4 soldered plus 4gb
Lenovo 4 soldered plus 8 gb 2gb will be taken for amd vega
Acer 4 soldered plus 4 gb
soldered ram uplorry com unusable

Wifi
Asus ac outdated
Lenovo ac outdated
Acer ax latest

Battery
Asus 37Wh
Lenovo 35 Wh
Acer 51 Wh

Graphic card:
Asus Mx330 best
Lenovo Vega 8 soso
Acer Mx250 slightly worst than the mx330

Asus link:
https://www.notebookcheck.net/ASUS-V....431776.0.html

Lenovo link:
http://dealunboxing.com/lenovo-ideap...xing-teardown/

Acer:
https://www.notebookcheck.net/Acer-A....453635.0.html

Final note: acer have more ports. Pay more to get the fhd ips screen to be more worth. Bigger battery will ensure the com last long time.

Asus: best among the three for light gaming. If plugged in all the time , 37wh battery cap can be off set

Lenovo: cheapest. Buy if you can tahan the bad screen and enjoy longer warranty i guess?

Tldr: If budget is tight, take the asus.

I only budget $1000 and i want 14 inch. Not much choices in the market

Seems like the asus 1 i should get

Posted from PCWX using SM-G973F

trenzterra

You need the laptop for what purpose? BAtt life important? Asus seems to have really small battery

flowerpalms

You need the laptop for what purpose? BAtt life important? Asus seems to have really small battery
Basic use, surf internet, youtube, online learning etc...
Not into gaming

Will also be bringing it out

Teo Ming Ern

I only budget $1000 and i want 14 inch. Not much choices in the market

Seems like the asus 1 i should get

Can stretch a bit more? This one is $1088. If anyone can gift you vouchers, can bring the price down a bit... this is a good laptop. Light and decent specs... Acer Swift 3. Now on sale at Shopee, only today and tomorrow. So fast hand fast leg bro...

https://shopee.sg/Acer-Swift-3-SF314-57-53L3--Grey--NEW-Thin-and-light-laptop-with-LATEST-10th-gen-Intel-i5-1035G1-processor-i.60315503.5008758544?gclid=CjwKCAjwi_b3BRAGEiwAemPNU50v3XNouvjalxa1htAOFeT818iy3zTgCmC2TRuZzbIRTZsJg6ee6xoCC5cQAvD_BwE

Or you die die must be below $1000, then try the same Swift 3 but with lower specifications: 4 GB RAM + 256 GB SSD. Only $866. This is good if you can upgrade the RAM yourself. Just pop in 4 GB RAM extra. Can do so at any PC shop at SLS... probably will cost you $80? Way below your budget lor... you get all the other goodies of the more expensive model. Just less storage space.

https://shopee.sg/Acer-Swift-3-SF314-57-NEW-Thin-and-light-laptop-(Grey-Pink)-with-LATEST-10th-gen-Intel-i3-1005G1-i.60315503.6401624703

flowerpalms

Can stretch a bit more? This one is $1088. If anyone can gift you vouchers, can bring the price down a bit... this is a good laptop. Light and decent specs... Acer Swift 3. Now on sale at Shopee, only today and tomorrow. So fast hand fast leg bro...

https://shopee.sg/Acer-Swift-3-SF314-57-53L3--Grey--NEW-Thin-and-light-laptop-with-LATEST-10th-gen-Intel-i5-1035G1-processor-i.60315503.5008758544?gclid=CjwKCAjwi_b3BRAGEiwAemPNU50v3XNouvjalxa1htAOFeT818iy3zTgCmC2TRuZzbIRTZsJg6ee6xoCC5cQAvD_BwE

Or you die die must be below $1000, then try the same Swift 3 but with lower specifications: 4 GB RAM + 256 GB SSD. Only $866. This is good if you can upgrade the RAM yourself. Just pop in 4 GB RAM extra. Can do so at any PC shop at SLS... probably will cost you $80? Way below your budget lor... you get all the other goodies of the more expensive model. Just less storage space.

https://shopee.sg/Acer-Swift-3-SF314-57-NEW-Thin-and-light-laptop-(Grey-Pink)-with-LATEST-10th-gen-Intel-i3-1005G1-i.60315503.6401624703

Thanks, will take a look

Teo Ming Ern

I've purchased 5-6 Acer laptops over the past few years for students to use... and they've served the students well... so the Acer of today pretty good quality now...

x3nor_S

I've purchased 5-6 Acer laptops over the past few years for students to use... and they've served the students well... so the Acer of today pretty good quality now...

Thats nice to know. Back in 2000s i have a few 2 of their laptops and they buang after warranty expire.

They dont really mention of their swift series have 100% sRGB screen

Teo Ming Ern

Thats nice to know. Back in 2000s i have a few 2 of their laptops and they buang after warranty expire.

They dont really mention of their swift series have 100% sRGB screen

Yeah I know right... I bought an Acer desktop not that long ago, but it was not as good as their laptops... yeah 100% sRGB screen is great! Colour reproduction will look good and the screen will look very colourful instead of the usual washed out look that their older laptops used to have (due to TN and poor colour reproduction).

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.