IBM ThinkPad Users' Group

DarthGW

yes, but no backlit keyboard and also the chassis materials considered inferior or less premium), but looks like the A series is a one-off model. stick the the E series

razorlala

lol either u guys using this cause work also using it, or rly got siaolang go and buy ibm laptops.

piang eh the l ctrl n fn key flipped, print screen location, etc. nightmare sia

Tucksoon

x250 repair

My refurbished x250's keyboard is not working. The function keys still work though :s22:

Anybody can recommend a place to repair? TIA.

grynove

i think not worth to repair la. better swap the whole keyboard.

btw any other lobang to hunt used thinkpad? other than carousel

znltan

My refurbished x250's keyboard is not working. The function keys still work though :s22:

Can try Sim Lim Square and ask around for quotes to compare?

Alternatively, see any helpful soul in this thread who has experience in upgrading of thinkpads willing to help to replace the whole keyboard (to place order online for new hardware) for a token sum (to be discussed and agreed upon).

Sent from 瑞特斯波德 using GAGT

znltan

i think not worth to repair la. better swap the whole keyboard.

btw any other lobang to hunt used thinkpad? other than carousel

Saw before some used Thinkpads for sale online such as Lazada, Qoo10, Shopee.

Sent from 瑞特斯波德 using GAGT

Tucksoon

Thanks guys. Decided to use an external keyboard instead of repairing/replacing keyboard. For my kid doing e-learning actually. She must have spilled water on it and don't dare to admit :s13:

ruffruff

can anyone share with me (via pm if cannot post here) where is the cheapest to get a fully customized x1 carbon gen 8 laptop? :o

I looking for the following specs:
i7 / 16gb ram / 512 ssd / WWAN / UHD screen / Adobe photoshop elements

Intrinion

Senior Moderator
It is a pain to replace. Need to remove everything - motherboard, transparent keyboard frame etc. to get to the keyboard.

It is a total dismantle. Took me 3 hours. :s22:

linusz

Have a ThinkPad bought from USA coming to end of warranty.
Thinking of extending for $USD 110 for 2 years - worth it?

Have anyone done this before and wanted to confirm if it is also under its international warranty?

Thanks.

dimitri_can

Have a ThinkPad bought from USA coming to end of warranty.
Thinking of extending for $USD 110 for 2 years - worth it?

Have anyone done this before and wanted to confirm if it is also under its international warranty?

Thanks.

I bought extra 2 years warranty for my US X1 Carbon to make it 3 years, but can only use US credit card to buy e warranty.

linusz

I bought extra 2 years warranty for my US X1 Carbon to make it 3 years, but can only use US credit card to buy e warranty.

oh ya mine is end of 3y (thinking if i want to get 2 more yrs).
it's 81 for yr 4 and another 108 for yr 5.

not very worth it; though in SG its more exp than that.

think is always better to buy closer to warranty expiry; cheaper.

my t470 easy to upgrade though if it happens it will be trouble-some to DIY.

the machine is v v good to date

think overseas credit card oso can; but they will call and validate.
thanks.

rerear

Is it worth getting T470s or older X1 carbon like Gen 5th from Ebay USA and shipping it over with Vpost?

kazuki666

Anyone seen before T480 selling outside? My workplace has them, though a little heavy, but I find them not bad

Sent from Xiaomi POCOPHONE F1 using GAGT

jtch74

any idea which Lenovo laptop to recommend? I need touch screen with pen, to be use for normally for drawing and normal stuff.

Was thinking of getting the IdeaPad flex 5i.Thanks.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.