[Official] Playstation 4 PS4 club - Part 3

Recce5

Both the 2 articles you pointed to are basically using conjecture and assumed Marvel had the rights but that isn't so.

My assumption of Sony exclusively holding the video game character rights is also incorrect.

Summary is that it's complicated as both Marvel and Sony did not have total rights to the character in video games. However it does look like Sony still has an advantage due to their movie character ownership and close partnership with Marvel and the developers.

Recce5

Very good strategy for Fall Guys to be given free with PS+. It's like Rocket League which was previously launched first on PS+ and went on to become one of the greatest success stories. Hope they can add new game modes quick enough before it becomes too repetitive.

How's your experience with the servers? I heard many people getting dropped or having difficulty connecting.

Didn't know it's an online only game when I download it.

Not an online multiplayer game fan but still gave it a try since already downloaded.

And have been trying to run it since without success, stuck at the connection stage. Gave up and uninstalled it.

Does this game actually worth anything? Isn't free to play online games are usually free? I wonder what is so special about this game.

joshiru

Not an online multiplayer game fan but still gave it a try since already downloaded.

And have been trying to run it since without success, stuck at the connection stage. Gave up and uninstalled it.

Does this game actually worth anything? Isn't free to play online games are usually free? I wonder what is so special about this game.

Stuck at connection stage for very long could be due to servers maintenance.

The game is quite fun, basically another style of battle royale that is not fps genre.

dio brando

avengers just looks boring.

beta is free so will still try. its just expectation is getting lower and lower.

PierceLee

Fall Guys had a server maintenance last night, till 6PM+. After that I played for a couple of hours, no issue with connection. Connection was fast, I could get into game within 30-60s every time (probably better than before maintenance?). I would get disqualified, exit, and get back in quickly, it's always "just one more game" since it's so easy to start again.

This is a battle royal game (like Fortnite, PUBG, Apex etc) so it is online only, you can't have 59 other players as AI. I have seen reviews that complain there is no offline mode so you can't practice on your own, but I think that's a good thing, otherwise it will be too repetitive very soon since everyone can practice offline and get very good.

I don't like multiplayer games but this one is very fun, can just play in small dosages. Unlike online mp shooter games (COD, Overwatch, etc), there is no advantage for having played hundreds of hours, you don't get better weapons/armors, you don't level up anything. Here everyone is at the same level, regardless if you have been grinding forever. You just gain experience and know how to tackle each game mode. So it is easy to just drop in and play a few rounds for some fun, it's not a heavy investment in time (unless you get addicted). The only loots you get are just cosmetics (personally I keep using the very beginning looks, even though I have more customisation items now, don't want to draw attention).

PS. This platinum trophy is going to be super hard, as there is a trophy for winning (getting the Crown, ala "chicken dinner" in PUBG) 5 times... in a row!

justln

Only played Cold Steel 1 and 2, started on 3 but used a bad savegame for newgame+ ended up with a super OP MC so had to restart. :s22:

Swordsman

avengers just looks boring.

beta is free so will still try. its just expectation is getting lower and lower.

i see the graphics sibei sianz, so low res so blurry maybe because that's beta.

frame rate also like shite.

i think this game is meant for PS5.

if not for the exclusive stuff, i would have already pre-ordered the steam version.

i can name a couple of older games that got way better graphics than avengers.

horizon zero dawn, god of war, the order 1886, uncharted 4, until dawn, spider-man, Detroit: Become Human, death stranding.

if people tell me avengers is released in 2010, i would have believe it.

PierceLee

i see the graphics sibei sianz, so low res so blurry maybe because that's beta.

frame rate also like shite.

i think this game is meant for PS5.

if not for the exclusive stuff, i would have already pre-ordered the steam version.

i can name a couple of older games that got way better graphics than avengers.

horizon zero dawn, god of war, the order 1886, uncharted 4, until dawn, spider-man, Detroit: Become Human, death stranding.

if people tell me avengers is released in 2010, i would have believe it.
Is it the art style or graphics technical shortcoming? Personally I dislike the looks of the characters because they don't go for the comics look, but when they go for 'realistic' look they don't use the real actors' faces. So they all look like sai, a bit like the actors but not really (cos they don't have the rights to the likeness).

Cannot compare to those you listed lah, those are single player, some are not open world. But just compare to Destiny 2 (or even Destiny 1), the graphics here (not character model but the environment, effects etc) also not impressive. Again, maybe an art design thing, for a comics game, to me (based on videos, I haven't played yet) it lacks the colorful look or stylistic look (like some Batman cartoons).

PierceLee

Only this 'Ultimate' edition can upgrade to next gen. If you already owned the game and DLCs, you will have to buy it again.

justln

Is it the art style or graphics technical shortcoming? Personally I dislike the looks of the characters because they don't go for the comics look, but when they go for 'realistic' look they don't use the real actors' faces. So they all look like sai, a bit like the actors but not really (cos they don't have the rights to the likeness).

Cannot compare to those you listed lah, those are single player, some are not open world. But just compare to Destiny 2 (or even Destiny 1), the graphics here (not character model but the environment, effects etc) also not impressive. Again, maybe an art design thing, for a comics game, to me (based on videos, I haven't played yet) it lacks the colorful look or stylistic look (like some Batman cartoons).
Basically knockoff porn parodies of the main actors. :s22:

Swordsman

Im referring to graphics technical shortcoming although art style i would have preferred comics look. they are too poor to use the MCU movie actors face..

I think even GTA V looks better than Avengers. :s13:

RDR2 too.

galliano

My personal comments on Ghosts of Tsushima.
Into Act II only.
Considering that it’s the last PS4 exclusive, I kinda expected more out of this title. Apologies to most here, cos I’m witnessing quite a fair bit of praise in this thread. Sadly I have to draw comparisons with Last of Us II since both games were out at this period of time.

Pros:
1. Gameplay mechanics are simple, challenging at times and luckily it’s not punishingly hard (eg, Sekiro or Demon Souls).
2. There are very subtle Jap moments in this (eg, haiku) that I think was a nice touch. Despite the fact, that it’s a bit jarring to see Jin recite poems or soak in hot springs less than 100m from a Mongol camp.
3. Huge open-world with tons of quests and side quests to accomplish. Most ‘value-game’ in my opinion.

Cons:
1. Coming from the gorgeous Last of Us II, GOT graphics is not as visually appealing. The colors and scenery might be nice, especially w the day/night translations. But it’s the small details that I think Naughty Dog got it right and deservingly it’s accolades. In short, I was not ‘wow’ by Sucker Punch’s samurai world.

2. Resource hunting. I kinda got bored searching mundane houses (which all look the same) for my supplies. Rotating the camera constantly looking at collectibles got really boring for me

3. Camera angle. There were times during combat that I could not parry well due to the strange / awkward position I was in.

4. Mundane quests. I got bored hearing the NPCs requests. It’s all rather similar. I felt event the main characters did not have a good story arc.

Summary:
To be honest, my interest in Assassins Creed died off after its 1st few iterations. Similarly I’m struggling to finish GOT as it’s concept is entirely similar cept with better combat (at least most of the time).

I would’nt really recommend this game strongly. But then again, on the hind side. GOT will prob occupy yr PS4 time whilst waiting for Cyberpunk next month.

Think i have expended quite a lot of time on GOT already (Completed all main + mythic + side quests, and upgraded all gear). Spending my time to "plat" this title which i think its not that difficult.

My opinions have changed after completing this game.

Overall, GOT is a good game. Yes, it can get very repetitive. Most of the side quests are really mundane, and you cannot skip the cut scenes.
But i enjoyed the main story (especially from ACT II onwards) and the side quests from the main NPCs. Some parts are quite emotional and oriented in Jap culture.

I would recommend this game to anyone. I think Sucker Punch did a really good job on this.

Haha .. i still suck at "Standoffs" but its incredibly satisfying when you managed to execute the maximum 5. Woooooooo

WhiteHunter

Think i have expended quite a lot of time on GOT already (Completed all main + mythic + side quests, and upgraded all gear). Spending my time to "plat" this title which i think its not that difficult.

My opinions have changed after completing this game.

Overall, GOT is a good game. Yes, it can get very repetitive. Most of the side quests are really mundane, and you cannot skip the cut scenes.
But i enjoyed the main story (especially from ACT II onwards) and the side quests from the main NPCs. Some parts are quite emotional and oriented in Jap culture.

I would recommend this game to anyone. I think Sucker Punch did a really good job on this.

Haha .. i still suck at "Standoffs" but its incredibly satisfying when you managed to execute the maximum 5. Woooooooo

this is one of the easiest game to plat. the only hard part is locating the hidden altars but you can use walkthrough.

this game is pretty much assassin creed japan. almost everything is similar except story. if valhalla come out early then i think this game's rating might not be higher than witcher 3.

hopefully there will be dlcs on what happen after the events of main game or more on main npcs.

Soulhacker

Anyone hype about this on PS4? Should be coming soon around OCT. The gamepray look similar to Avenger and look fun too, always want to pray a 3rd person GI Joe shooter or as snakeeye to hack and slash. It ish one of moi most favorite childhood franchises so Moi definitely going to hoot it though more likely will be hooting PC version since this ish a multiplatform game.

PierceLee

Swordsman

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.