Apple Event — 11 Nov, 2AM SGT.  Silicon Macs Expected to Debut

Reaction score
Think I just get the base can liao

https://9to5mac.com/2020/11/18/opinion-is-the-base-macbook-air-m1-8gb-powerful-enough-for-you/

Posted from PCWX using Rem mm is best waifu

xiaofan

Arch-Supremacy Member
Reaction score

Interesting review.

I am not a software developer but I do like to use docker and I used Homebrew quite a bit for my involvement in some open source projects.

One external monitor limitation for the MBA/MBP can really be a problem for SW/FW development. Lack of virtualization support and docker support can also be a problem. Homebrew is also quite essential under macOS for development.

Anyway, I think virtualization, docker and Homebrew support should not take long. Not so sure about the multiple external monitor support though for MBA/MBP, that is probably HW limitation.

Last edited:

lumpyme

Master Member
Reaction score

Compare to Intel 13” MacBook Pro (2020) Intel based version, the M1 just killed intel. I think Intel very stress when Apple silicon and AMD over taking them....

if you are active in the hackintosh forums, you will be able to see amd threadrippers with 5700xt running macos

i really don't think amd or intel will sweat too much considering that macs still make up less than 20% of the laptop market

twosix

Arch-Supremacy Member
Reaction score
Time will tell. Usually people dun see the black horse until it is too late.

Asphodeli

Arch-Supremacy Member
Reaction score

Interesting review.

I am not a software developer but I do like to use docker and I used Homebrew quite a bit for my involvement in some open source projects.

One external monitor limitation for the MBA/MBP can really be a problem for SW/FW development. Lack of virtualization support and docker support can also be a problem. Homebrew is also quite essential under macOS for development.