[NAS] Synology NAS owner club!

Status
Not open for further replies.

cscs3

Arch-Supremacy Member
Reaction score
If you wanna get a NAS, better to go for the 4 bays one. Gives you more flexibility.

Agreed. Especially the disk size is so large now. Getting a 2 bay machine and run mirror is not quite price effective.

dannyboy88

Reaction score
Newbie here, can I know why nobody is talking about DS720+? I am pounding between this model or the ds220+

batniss

Arch-Supremacy Member
Reaction score
Any ups to reccomend?

Just need to power enough for shut down ca. Le.

This? or something similar also can

Like to share my experience for those looking for a cheaper alternative UPS

APC-Back-UPS-700VA

For those who is looking for "not a white elephant battery" and cheaper alternative compared to what was discussed before. CS650. This is approximately <SGD$130, only 3 outlet (you can use a multiplug) and only 390W.

Product Technical Info
APC%20Back-UPS%20700VA.jpg

Link to buy from: APC-Back-UPS-700VA (Note: Type-A USB not included)

Connected to Synology with UPS PowerChute port (Type-A USB)
ybuCdvt.jpg

i1magic

Arch-Supremacy Member
Reaction score
Agreed. Especially the disk size is so large now. Getting a 2 bay machine and run mirror is not quite price effective.

Yah lor. 4 bay is minimum. For DIY NAS, at least 6 bay, then makes MORE sense.

i1magic

Arch-Supremacy Member
Reaction score
Very poisonous thread...LoL

Finally arrived today...

after hosting everything on cloud for pass 3yrs decide to slowly migrate back...
Considered freenas, but no time... sysnology is build for idiot, plug-in all disk and power on.....:s13:

Wah! Nice! How much did you buy? RAM is 4GB or you upgraded?

i1magic

Arch-Supremacy Member
Reaction score
I am thinking to buy theDS920+ after reading through this forum,

about the HDD,

as the data from my computer is 4.1 TB

i am thinking to get 2 x 6 TB and set up at SHR1 and then 1 x 8 TB as standalone,