lets share hw our love affair wf Linux started

reeed

SunOS (c. 1996)

My goodness, I can't imagine how we survived with 96megs of system RAM, and 12 Gb of hard disk space !!! (The RZ26L is 1 Gb each, the Seagates are 5Gb each).

The following is another more powerful system I also held an account on, from 1996 (sorry, a bit lengthy, but this is considered juicy by some ;-):

OS/MP 4.1C Export(ARIEL/root)#0: Fri Sep 20 16:18:03 1996
Copyright (c) 1988-1994, Sun Microsystems, Inc. and Solbourne Computer, Inc.
All Rights Reserved. Unpublished -- rights reserved under the copyright
laws of the United States. Solbourne Computer, Inc. 1900 Pike Road,
Longmont, Colorado, 80501 U.S.A.

This product and related documentation is protected by copyright and
distributed under licenses restricting its use, copying, distribution,
and decompilation. No part of this product or related documentation, may be
reproduced in any form by any means without prior written authorization of
Sun, Solbourne, and its licensors, if any.

Derived from SPARC (R) SunOS 4.1.3 licensed from Sun Microsystems, Inc.
and derived from UNIX (R) and Berkeley 4.3BSD licensed from UNIX Systems
Laboratories, Inc. and The Regents of the University of California, respec-
tively.

Restricted Rights Legend: Use, duplication or disclosure by the Government
is subject to restrictions as set forth in FAR 52.227-19, and (for NASA) as
supplemented in NASA FAR Supplement 18.52.227.86 or in subparagraph
(c)(1)(ii) of the Rights in Technical Data and Computer Software clause of
DFARS 52.227-7013, any successor regulations, or comparable regulations of
other Government agencies as appropriate.
mem = 393216K (0x18000000) 384M
avail mem = 392347648 (0x1762c000) 374.22M

Slot Type Rev Information
7 S2 DF Kbus System Board
hostid: 0x4010d88
serial number: LM0011487
ethernet address: 0:0:8e:0:a:a4
iobus 0
7 G0 AG BW20 Monochrome Frame Buffer
6 P3 AA Kbus 50MHz Series6 CPU p/n 106512-002: s/n XT0003562
5 P3 AA Kbus 50MHz Series6 CPU p/n 106512-002: s/n FP0010998
4 T0 AA Kbus Multi-Channel Accelerator Board: s/n XT0002027
iobus 1
3 P3 AA Kbus 50MHz Series6 CPU p/n 106512-002: s/n FP0011160
2 M2 AB Kbus Memory Board
128 Megabytes
Base Address 0x10000000
1 M3 AA Kbus Memory Board: s/n AN0000324
256 Megabytes
Base Address 0x0

iobus 0: system board in KBUS slot 7
si0 at kbio 0x90000800 pri 2
si0: 20MHz WD33C93A ucode 0: R2.3: id 7: synch: offset 12: 5.00MB/sec
sa0 at si0 slave 0
sa1 at si0 slave 0
st1 at si0 slave 5
sd0 at si0 slave 0
sd0: si0 target 0 lun 0: online: FUJITSU M2624S-512 0302:
sd0: synch negotiation: offset 12: 5.00MB/sec
sd0: label: <Fujitsu M2624SA 520 MB cyl 1433 alt 2 hd 11 sec 63>
sd1 at si0 slave 1
sd1: si0 target 1 lun 0: online: SEAGATE ST41650 5938:
sd1: synch negotiation: offset 12: 5.00MB/sec
sd1: label: <Seagate ST41659 Wren8 cyl 2080 alt 2 hd 15 sec 89>
sd2 at si0 slave 2
sd2: si0 target 2 lun 0: online: MAXTOR P1-17S LB22:
sd2: synch negotiation: offset 12: 5.00MB/sec
sd2: label: <Maxtor P1-17S cyl 1750 alt 2 hd 19 sec 87>
sd3 at si0 slave 3
sd3: si0 target 3 lun 0: online: MAXTOR P1-17S LB22:
sd3: synch negotiation: offset 12: 5.00MB/sec
sd3: label: <Maxtor P1-17S Panther cyl 1755 alt 2 hd 19 sec 87>
sd4 at si0 slave 4
sd4: si0 target 4 lun 0: online: SEAGATE ST42100 8224:
sd4: synch negotiation: offset 12: 5.00MB/sec
sd4: label: <Seagate ST42100N Wren9 cyl 2540 alt 2 hd 15 sec 96>
sd6 at si0 slave 6
sd6: si0 target 6 lun 0: online: SEAGATE ST42100 8224:
sd6: synch negotiation: offset 12: 5.00MB/sec
sd6: label: <Seagate ST42100N Wren9 cyl 2540 alt 2 hd 15 sec 96>
sv2 at vme16d16 0x8000 dma vme24d32 level 2 vec 0x52
sv2: V/SCSI2:0774.256124-ffffff-A19-2: 8sngl: id 7: synch: offset 8: 10.0MB/sec
sa2 at sv2 slave 0
sd20 at sv2 slave 0
sd20: sv2 target 0 lun 0: online: SEAGATE ST42100 8224: QD2
sd20: synch negotiation: offset 8: 10.0MB/sec
sd20: label: <Wren9 ST42100N cyl 2540 alt 2 hd 15 sec 96>
sd21 at sv2 slave 1
sd21: sv2 target 1 lun 0: online: SEAGATE ST42100 8224: QD2
sd21: synch negotiation: offset 8: 10.0MB/sec
sd21: label: <Wren9 ST42100N cyl 2540 alt 2 hd 15 sec 96>
sd22 at sv2 slave 2
sd23 at sv2 slave 3
sd23: sv2 target 3 lun 0: sv2: sv_wait timeout: last target 3: last bus state a7
<REQ,BUSY,MSG,CMD,IN>
fwqr 0 crsw 0 scbec 0
sv2: sv_issue command timeout!
online: SEAGATE ST12550N 0013: QD2
sv2: cmd 20 crsw 7<ER,CC,CRBV> ec: svfatal(DMA VMEbusError(20))
iom_dvma: sv: DVMA map consistent
iom_dvma: sv: scan memory pointed to by DVMA map
sd23: label: bad magic number 0
sd24 at sv2 slave 4
sd25 at sv2 slave 5
sd26 at sv2 slave 6
sv3 at vme16d16 0x8000 dma vme24d32 level 2 vec 0x53
sv3: V/SCSI2:0774.256124-ffffff-A19-2: 8sngl: id 7: synch: offset 8: 10.0MB/sec
sa3 at sv3 slave 0
sd30 at sv3 slave 0
sd31 at sv3 slave 1
sd32 at sv3 slave 2
sd32: sv3 target 2 lun 0: online: MAXTOR P1-17S LB22: QC2
sd32: label: bad magic number 0
sd33 at sv3 slave 3
sd34 at sv3 slave 4
sd35 at sv3 slave 5
sd36 at sv3 slave 6
sd36: sv3 target 6 lun 0: online: MAXTOR P1-17S LB22: QC2
sd36: label: bad magic number 0
zs1 at kbio 0x17011000 pri 3
zs0 at kbio 0x17012000 pri 3
bwtwo0 at kbio 0x17200000 pri 4
bwtwo0: resolution 1152 x 900
ei0 at kbio 0x90001000 pri 3
Ethernet address = 0:0:8e:0:a:a4
ei0: 0:0:8e:0:a:a4

iobus 1: channel board in KBUS slot 4
si1 at kbio 0xbfffff40 pri 2
si1: 20MHz WD33C92A ucode 0: R2.3: id 7: synch: offset 12: 5.00MB/sec
st3 at si1 slave 5
sd8 at si1 slave 0
sd9 at si1 slave 1
sd9: si1 target 1 lun 0: online: SEAGATE ST42100 7614:
sd9: synch negotiation: offset 12: 5.00MB/sec
sd9: label: <Seagate ST42100N Wren9 cyl 2540 alt 2 hd 15 sec 96>
sd10 at si1 slave 2
sd10: si1 target 2 lun 0: online: SEAGATE ST42100 8224:
sd10: synch negotiation: offset 12: 5.00MB/sec
sd10: label: <Seagate ST42100N Wren9 cyl 2540 alt 2 hd 15 sec 96>
sd11 at si1 slave 3
sd11: si1 target 3 lun 0: online: SEAGATE ST41650 6050:
sd11: synch negotiation: offset 12: 5.00MB/sec
sd11: label: <Seagate ST41650N Wren8 cyl 2040 alt 2 hd 15 sec 89>
sd12 at si1 slave 4
sd12: si1 target 4 lun 0: online: SEAGATE ST41650 5938:
sd12: synch negotiation: offset 12: 5.00MB/sec
sd12: label: <Seagate ST41659 Wren8 cyl 2080 alt 2 hd 15 sec 89>
sd14 at si1 slave 6

cpu 0 in slot 3 started: ECC enabled
Undirected interrupts enabled
root on sd4a fstype 4.2
swap on sd6b fstype spec size 259200K
dump on sd6b fstype spec size 259200K
Console is ttya
cpu 1 in slot 6 started: ECC enabled
cpu 2 in slot 5 started: ECC enabled
sd21: read: disconnected:..timeout, resetting
sv2: resetting scsi bus
sv2: sv_reset: last target 3: last bus state 67<ACK,BUSY,MSG,CMD,IN>
fwqr 0 crsw 3<CC,CRBV> cmd 20 scbec 0
sv2: lost interrupt? CRBV with no IRQ
sd36: sv3 target 6 lun 0: sd32: sv3 target 2 lun 0: online: MAXTOR P1-17S
LB22: QC2
online: MAXTOR P1-17S LB22: QC2
sd36: label: <Maxtor P1-17S Panther cyl 1755 alt 2 hd 19 sec 87>
sd32: label: <Maxtor P1-17S cyl 1750 alt 2 hd 19 sec 87>
sd21.1: read: reset:..retry
sd20.1: read: reset:..retry
sd21.1: read: check: unit attention(06): power_on/reset(29):..retry
sd20.1: read: check: unit attention(06): power_on/reset(29):..retry
sd21.1: recovered
sd23: sv2 target 3 lun 0: sd20.1: recovered
online: SEAGATE ST12550N 0013: QD2
sd23: label: <Seagate ST12550N cyl 2747 alt 2 hd 19 sec 80>

kingorder

I came upon Linux in 1999. At that time, I was working on AIX, Novell and Windows. Windows was/is buggy (prone to crashes), viruses/tojans/worms etc ... I was getting frustrated with Windows crashing it's applications when I was in the midst of doing my work on the PC. The last straw came when Windows crashed again and this time it causes system-wide corruption.

I thereby promptly go to SLQ and bought a copy of RH and installed it on my PC (stuartly wiping off Windows and using it as desktop OS). Stability-wise, it was fantastic. However, it does have a steep learning curve and not all applications are available for Linux. However, with determination, I learned how Linux works and managed to find and use Linux-based applications (for it's Windows-based equivalents). It was tough going and definitely not for the faint-hearted. It also requires quite an amount of reading and IT techincal skills. Windows-based skills in most parts (at that time) were mostly useless. However, advanced DOS based skills came in handy. It made the switch less painful.

Nowadays the Linux Distributions are getting much more friendlier. However, it seems that the "intuitiveness" of the Windows's GUI still beat Linux's GUI environment (not speaking of the Macs). However, in a lot of cases, Linux is ready now (even for the desktop) if users are willing to give it a try. Prompt security updates, not much worries about viruses etc ..., PC hardware being workable straight from installation (without multiple requirements of installing drivers etc...) is a plus.

Personally, I prefer not going back to Windows (not with highly restrictive OS-based DRMS/Trusted Computing Initiatives etc.... coming for Longhorn etc...) - until my work absolutely requires it.

Jack_Chen

MS-XP WILL make you seek Alternatives

Started out with DOS while in Primary School. Thought a GUI will be a fantastic idea back then, since everything I do was line by line and visualizing it was having a good imagination.

Win95 came along and the blue screens of death too. The frustration mounts when you wish you understood those error messages and perhaps troubleshoot.

Win98 was a little better but still buggy.

Went to Army, Dec 99, didn't really touch computers for those years as a slave. Brain cells dying exponentially every month.

ORD- Emancipation Day -->Went Aussie Uni, started to get memories of computers back, Windows XP was pretty okay, no more blue screen of death.

Firstly hated IE, didn't want to use it unless the webpage has to use IE. Knew of Mozilla first, then Firefox. Then after countless problems with viruses, bugs and the worse types of spyware. Decided to look around for alternatives.

Took the pill that brought me into another reality. Was attracted by KDE desktop eye candy. Downloaded a Knoppix Live CD. Was very impressed by the speeds. The fact it's free (licensing and what not) and the many different applications.

Now has Debian 3.1 dual booting. Linux is a world that is not so easy, it's like going back to the DOS days where I was just starting to learn commands again. It's like learning a dialect, of course there are parallels between various OS but they also react differently. Hope to find a group of people where we can learn from each other on Linux usage. :)

maxhurt

Just a week ago. I'v always heard of Linux but ignored it & thot of it as somethin like a MAC lol..4 yrs ago i got into a lil bit of networking or rather *ahem* & found the DOS system to b a great invention. 3 years later, after i got to know abt this open-source 3D modelling software Blender, i was indirectly introduced to an open-source OS called Linux. Yet i didnt give it much thought.

Then one fine day last week my XP started to irritate me..i got fed up. Started to surf the net to vent. Suddenly rmmbrd linux..dunno y out of the blue the thought of running linux was so IN. Went to research abt it for 3 days. It sounded so cool..& then voila!

My first was a LiveCd of Ubuntu. Then Kubuntu. Then Fedora coz Kubuntu's package manager wasnt tht great. Now Ubuntu again coz Fedora something wrong, mayb my iso image not written properly. Waiting to try Mandriva, Debian. Knoppix. KDE is awesome for its visuals..GNOME isnt savvy of eye-candy, looks traditional, but its a classic IMO with much more technical control. Linux..it opens up a whole new world. No regrets..even if there r things i cant install, i can always find alternatives or make the software myself hahah. Would b dual-booting after i get a new machine. Hoping to meet other Linux users & learn more.

ksc133

i started using Linux when i couldn't afford a $400++ linksys router at that time... i installed RH7.2 on my old duron PC and it became my router + Firewall for my LAN.....it simply ROCKS!
now i use linux to run my LDAP samba qmail apache mysql..... next will be Astriek IP-PBX.... i hope linux is free forever lives forever.... "u can take our lives but not our freedom"

mejustmenobodyelse

First, with Knoppix for system recovery. Then one fine day when I was fedup, I suddenly installed ubuntu onto my system. Been liking it since

ck1985

i'm a noob and am still a noob

i first tried install debian as introduced by my pro friend...however i had to configure some graphics thingy by myself and literature on it was scarce...so i abandoned it

next i tried to install suse...however the free version at that time was only for ftp install and my onboard lan was not detected properly...

next i installed ubuntu...viola it was okay

however, i stopped using it as it's pretty confusing to have to use two OS on a PC...gotta ditch windows completely...at that point of time the primary concern was gaming...now i dun game much so it's no problem to use linux full time.

however, i have since deleted linux and am using windows...i do wish i can make a full migration to linux one fine day. it should be easier now that i have a laptop which i can use to assist in the installation(look on web for solution while i'm figuring out how to install)

in the meanwhile i'm too busy to try to install linux in my desktop. however, to ease in the future transistion, i'm using FLOSS like azureus and firefox which are available in both platforms instead of using utorrent(highly rated as low memory profile) and IE.

one fine day i shall be chatting in this forum on this very desktop either on freeBSD or linux...

shadowandy

am a noob in linux

installed redhat 6.9 when I was given a the boxed installation by some friendly uncle at one of the computer show back then. It's pretty cool, except that hardware support isn't that fantastic. Played Diablo 2 through WINE back then on my slow computer. Still remembered a few occasions that I entered the portal and cant exit from it. *lol*

Next is set up an old system and using it as a simple router. Being a newbie, doing IP masquerading is nuts and head banging. Performance is so so due to the weak hardware. And often there is lag in transmission. Probably due to hardware limitations.

Recently just installed unbuntu 6.06 LTS to do my GNU C programming on. Was surprised by the GUI and the ease of using it. There's even a package manager to make installation easy. Not like the past where by need to load up the terminal and do, make, make install, configure type of stuffs.

Running 2 OSes now (win xp pro and ubuntu 6.06 LTS) mainly cos some softwares are only supported on windows.

ocillator

I've been using different distributions of Linux casually many years ago. The really "serious" linux distribution I right now is Debian 3.1, where i got to learn all the System and networking tools like DDNS, RADIUS, HA, HTTP, LDAP, PAM, etc, etc. Linux is getting mainstream nowadays with the influence from Ubuntu and sorts, and therefore the skills I honed had made me felt a more valuable Linux person than many years ago. There are many Linux GUI environments like the cool Xgl interfaces, but I'm still stuck to bash shell for speed and stuffs. May my Linux journey take me further!

marcnggc

Been Linux-surfing for a couple of years already.
Started with Mandrake, then Red Hat, then bought a SUSE 9.3 box edition @ one of the IT show to support Linux efforts and finally now end up with Ubuntu 6.06 LTS.

Currently i am looking how to boot and install ubuntu onto a 40 GB 2.5" removable HDD becos i need my primary PC with XP for work purpose.

Linux community had grown leap and bound thru many years and now is the best time to showcase the usage of Linux on desktop.

Also just receive a batch of KUbuntu and Ubuntu CDs thru courier and distributed to my colleagues to spread the use of Linux at home.

BTW, am typing this on my Macbook - also unix-variant OS (BSD) :D :D :D :D

absoluthk

i was using linux ten years back. so excited when kde first appear..

but i have to go ns and part time study.. nvr have time to use it again.. until i discover there is such thing as livecd.

kde is more eye candy than mac.

mwql23

one word: ubuntu! i started using ubuntu 2 years ago and it was the first linux distro ive ever used. it was nice and easy to install, plus it looks and feels nicer than windoze. i played around with gentoo, cos i wanted to feel l33t, but it was more work maintaining a gentoo system, imo.

its so nice that there are sweet programming tools that i can use on *nix. windoze have them too, but it feels more natural to use it in a *nix system.

kwleesg

ubuntu 6.10

i just started linux. must say that it is fast, good and stable.

:s12:

BradenHeat

Curiosity

LOL, MUST MAKE BIG BIG.

Ahem.....I arh, butt itchy lor. Tried and install zenwalk, but too much trouble lar. Network must configure, forget to put user account, not much eyecandy to make me stay anyway=:p
Alamark, because nooby, confirm "up lorry". no choice but to formate my laptop. You might ask why, as I didn't found such stuff as repair MBR that time, so lan lan just format.

Second successful install was the famous BUT slow SuSe10.2.
SLOW.
JUST SLOW, was what made me formate the second time, lol. at that time I tio virus in windows and got alot of stuff need to uninstall so.....aha.

Finally, was PCLinuxOS, I did tried to run the CD once, but there wasn't much time to learn the bugs at that time, forgotten what went wrong to make me turn back to windows.
Now happy user la, got fire and smoke, like drag racing wheels that burn. thought ktorrent and occasional files problems, but still overall like it more than windows.
Main thing la, was that Beryl eyecandy and that vista too bloated liao.

But then hor, I really the luck leh, lol, as just nice vista came out to piss me, PCLinuxOS came to make me song song sing mahjong:o, like those fireworks on NDP. Sibe suck leh....dont pray pray.....haha, just want put this post down to make me a historian lar....

pclinux

@BradenHeat, lol... I can feel PCLOS makes you extremely happy! Congrats! ;)

BaLtO

That's good you have found a distro you like.

BaLtO

Looks like I haven't input my entry here.

I started with Win 95. Ya, crash a few times. Tried to fix windows for several times. Till the hard disk spolit. I remember my system is P1 120 Mhz, 40mb ram(8mb ram previously), and also 1.5 gb hdd. No internet subscription at the time of purchase. I only knew windows, and perhaps mac also, but I hardly saw mac in the market also. (Windows classic looks like win 95 ya? But requirement so high, especially in the recent windows ...). Then moved to Win 98, okay. And stayed for a while. And ya, have internet for a while that time(can't use much, cos got time limit, and also 33.6 kbps, how to download distro if there is). But still linux is unknown to me. I remember I bought those norton stuff(some in diskettes), publisher 95, encyclopedia also. Nowadays, got free utilities, and also wikipedia, young people are now fortunate.

Forward to yr 2000, I get in touch with Corel Linux, but I can't get onto the internet, cos of the winmodem, then I deleted it away. And also my colleague, showed me he used linux. He's not even studying IT. He studied material engineering, but he managed to build speakers at home and also installed linux, and tell me he download stuff more faster and efficiently in linux. (The technology is 56 kbps at that time), he using external modem that linux has absolutely no problem in this.

And I only start installing Redhat Personal 8 in 2002. At that time got no livecd, very risky. I put linux on one physical hard disk, and windows on another physical hard disk. And did it this way till now. Upgrade to Redhat Personal 9, then to Fedora Core 1.

Don't like Fedora Core 1 much from Redhat Personal 9 cos of the exclusion of MP3 codecs. But now I understand why, and people need to understand it also. And then while waiting for Fedora Core 2, I've tried Mandrake Linux(former name of mandriva) which is another popular linux distro at that time(Three top distro at that time: Mandrake, Redhat, Suse). Mandrake at that time is more to KDE. So I uses KDE. Not used to KDE after so long usage of GNOME. And then after a while I uninstall. Heard of Gentoo, the rising kid on the block, going to try it. Since I have only 1 computer, I printed the whole documentation out. Previously I have tried Gentoo once, but didn't succeed in installing it, but this time I can. And once install, I use it for a month and when Fedora Core 2 is out, I give it a miss, cos I don't want to reinstall again, and gentoo can be kept updated as time goes by, and at that time gentoo's stable release is quite fast also. That time is April - May 2004. Ya, that's how old my gentoo now in my system. At that time, Ubuntu is not born yet I guess. There's no OpenSuse at that time, Suse needs paying at that time.

procmail

I wonder if anyone reads this.. hehe

I started with Slackware back in 1997 and at that time KDE was very buggy still. Used it dialer to dial into Uni's dialup, I remember.

It became my favourite distro and then since I was a regular in an IRC channel #suse, I started to use suse too but after a while decided to try redhat and then mandrake. Still preferred Slackware until I started to use Debian.

Debian was and is my preferred distro. In between I also had Gentoo machines.

On and off I also have FreeBSD and OpenBSD machines but these are not the point of this thread.

maxhurt

maybe topic can be revised to include other free/oss OSs? this forum is about "Open source" :)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.