HoNg KoNg TrIp...Hooray!!~~

qqspot

djchris said:
Eh, does anyone have a softcopy of the hongkong map (hi-res 1-page, street directory type)?
Can't seem to find one on google.
Try this listed below

http://www.ypmap.com/en/viewer.asp?mapService=LocationMap
http://www.vectormap.com/eng/english.htm
http://www.hkta.org/eng/mustknow/maps/index.jhtml
http://www.centamap.com/cent/index.htm
http://hkgteam.com/~moming/

All these are diff version of HK Maps

http://www.centamap.com/cent/index.htm
Will be the best for me...

qqspot

broskel ar, reply pm send... Please kindly check the detail and confirm your orders...

cutiedoggy92

hey..i would lyk to ask u all where is the place which have boutiques lyk adidas? and is the clothes or jackets nicer than those in singapore? and what are the price range?

qqspot

pank

anyone know what time most of the factory outlets at Yip Fat Factory Building closed during weekday and weekend?

qqspot

pank said:
anyone know what time most of the factory outlets at Yip Fat Factory Building closed during weekday and weekend?
Go on the weedays is better then weekends...

louislsh

pank said:
Most shops were close on mondays,i suggest you go on a weekend.
And dun make a trip just for the yip fatt factory,not worth it,nothing there.
Maybe if you happen to be at APM then turn a corner to yip fatt to see see.

pank

yup.. I'm planning to go yip fatt on a weekend evening. That's why trying to find out whether the shops there close ard what time.
Not worth going? Why lei? Heard that there are quite a few outlets there.

vimcent

YIP FAT!

pank said:
yup.. I'm planning to go yip fatt on a weekend evening. That's why trying to find out whether the shops there close ard what time.
Not worth going? Why lei? Heard that there are quite a few outlets there.

It is worth a visit! (i just came back from HK 3 weeks ago) Why not? As for me my buddy and i went on their National Day Sunday and most of the shops are Open!
Just tat the timberland factory oulet moved already, to citigate? i dun know i didnt follow up. (im a BIG timberland fan, i end up bought a leather shoe from other Timberland shop which is on sales - Great buy!)
Nike and Addias are cheaper there. Say S$120 nike shoes in Singapore, there selling @ S$60 - S$80. Just tat it is off season.
I spoke to a HK pretty lady in Yip Fat. She told me there is where their local ppl hang out and shop. So why not drop by Yip Fat? :)

tt32003

My madrush 52 hour Hong Kong trip

Will be going next week.
Partially sponsored company trip.

Plans :

Day 1
Arrived 2pm, Check into Kowloon Hotel then go to the Peak.
Then go to Avenue of stars to watch Symphony of Light.
Then go walk walk and shopping Tsim Tas Tsui to Mongkok area.

Day 2.
Disneyland and stay one night in the hotel.
Get 2 days pass for price of one for hotel guest.
Will spend day in Disneyland and watch fireworks at 7pm.
Then probably got Tsing Yi for some makan and shopping.

Day 3
Go to the 360 cable car ride and shopping at Citygate.
If have time may go to town again.
depart at 8pm flight.

tt32003

Mademe Tussaud

How is the Madame Tussaud's Wax Musuem at the peak ?
Is it anywhere near the one at London ? Went to the London one before and quite llike it.
Btw is it more worth it to get the wax museum plus tram package where one can save money and time in queing or more worth it to get the group wntry pacakage at the wax museum where can get a free guide book ?

vimcent

6.5/7 out of ten!

tt32003 said:
How is the Madame Tussaud's Wax Musuem at the peak ?
Is it anywhere near the one at London ? Went to the London one before and quite llike it.
Btw is it more worth it to get the wax museum plus tram package where one can save money and time in queing or more worth it to get the group wntry pacakage at the wax museum where can get a free guide book ?

I didnt been to London's but my friend and I give 6.5/7 out of ten for the one @ Peak. We were planning to spend only an hour there but end up two plus hours cos there are many figures to c and take pic with.
The wax musuem was not tat well maintained (tats e reason i gave 7). Cos when we were there on tat day, many of the individual figures' board (the one tat explains who's who n stuff) was not in place or not even there! So ending up I dun know who e few figures were.
The guide book was sold out when i was there. By getting the museum-plus-tram package indeed allow my friend and I save time by cutting the long Q (?20mins)!

Disney HK in fact is more world class, more well maintained as compared to Mdm Tussaud's. But each gave a different exp. :) Oh! I miss Disney!

tfosorcim

sorry to post this kinda replies here. i think people gonna curse me for not further reading up before posting.hahaha

here goes.

im going to go to take a flight from singapore to macau, and take a ferry from macau to hongkong.
may i know if there's any cheap hotels in macau.
any places of interest in macau to recommend?
good shopping spot?
im 19, can i enter the casinos?

and

for hongkong, may i know if there's any cheap hotels in hongkong?
my first time there, so i know nuts about that place.
what's the price of a meal like and transport?
what are the must visits over there?
is it expensive to club over there?
is there any wholesale shopping market over there?

im on budget.
because i will be going to bangkok for a week before heading to macau and hongkong for another week of stay.

sorry people for posting such posts without reading up first. because there's like 60 pages. will read up slowly.
wahaha at the mean time, hope some kind souls will placate my excitedness.

tt32003

Just came back from my 52 hours rush like mad HK trip.

First Day

Took 10am Cathay flight. Must say the food is the best airline food I have ever tasted. Somemore got Hagan Dax ice cream. But inflight entertainment no fight with SQ. Control panel is fixed to the chair and my vidio screen keep flickering while watching pirates of the caribbean 2. Find this timing quite good cause save time on lunch and eat on board.

Took airport express to Kowloon and board the shuttle bus to go to Koeloon Hotel. But my friends who got off airport express at Tsing Yi and change to normal MTR and alight at Tsim Sa Chui station actually arrived before me.

Kowloon Hotel's room is really really small. And they provide a miserable free fruit platter with 2 bananas and one apple and one orange in every room.

Went up the peak and jumped queue by buying Madam Trussade plus tram tickets. Unfortunately over the last weekend HK is rather hazy so view not very good. In fact their PSI was between 85-105 but nobody seems to make any noise over it. Maybe its the norm for them.

Madam Trussad was rather small as compared to the London one but there is hardly any crowd so can take many photos and don't have to fight with other people.

Lucky for me the next day there was a fault at the peak tram and service was suspended for by 6 hours.

Took taxi from lower peak station to star ferry terminal and was surprise to find that it cost only HK$15 ie the meter never jump at all. No wonder the cab drive'r face was very black.

Caught the Symphony of Light near the clock tower and it was quite nice.

Went to Mong Kok and Ladies market and nothing much has changed since my last trip to HK many years ago. The Langham Place long express excalator was quite interesting. There is also a nice small noodle restaurant on the 4th floor.

2nd Day
Took MTR to Disneyland.
We all tried to act smart and walk to Hollywood Hotel from the mrt station.
Big Mistake. It's at least 1.5km of walk and dragging your luggage along under the sun is nojoke. Actually the weather when I was there was really sunny during the day.
Just remember to take the shuttle if you stay in the hotel and don't bother to try walking!!!.

The hotel only allow you to go to your room after 3 pm. So after checking in leave the luggage with the bell hop and we went to Disneyland.

HK Disneyland is small but fun. There seemed to be a lot of people at the entrance, lot of Chian people but they seemed to disappear inside. There was hardly any queue for all the rides.

And remember to get you coupeon from the bonus book at the airport and get your free souvenior at cityhall. Must show you pasport. It's worth the effort.

I did space mountain, winnie the pooh and buzz lightyear and cautht the parade all within 45 minutes. This is unkeard of in other Disneyland. in fact, one of my friend took space mountain 4 times in a few hours. No need to use fast pass at all.

Had luch a plaza inn, it's run by Maxim. Food is good. Must try to roast goose there.

Fireworks display was really nice. Better than sumphony of lights.

Went back to Mong Kok after fireworks. It's then that one realise the disadvantage of staying in the Disneyland hotels if you want to go to town. Travelling alone took more than an hour both way. A cab ride back to the hotel cost HK$200.

3rd day.

Went back to Disneyland in the morning for some shopping and photo taking. Hotel guests get 2 days ticket for the price of one till the December. Found that most of the charaaters are quite free fo take picture with visitors. Hardly any queue at all. This was really a pleasant surprise cause I went there on Sat and Sun.

Over spent my time at Disneyland and only get to Tung Chung around one oclock. Found the queue for the Ngong Ping 360 to be really really long by then. A notie was put to say that quing time is at least an hour both way.

Since our flight was at 8pm, gave up the cable car ride and went shopping at Citygate. They are really making this place into an outlet centre. Got Timberland, Nike, Adidas, Esprit, Giordano, Samsonite, Levi's, City Chain, Calvin Clein underwear and others.

Took Taxi from hotel to the airport. Found out that the city taxi )red colur) charge HK$5 per luggage, including back pack and even plastic bags ! but the lantau taxi (blue) did not!
And the meter jumps faster for city taxi. So a taxi ride form disneyland hotels to airport can have a HK30 differece between the 2 types of cabs.

Did some last minute shopping at the airport to spend my loose change. Found that the Disney shops at HK airport have some sale items not available in the park.

universe

tt32003
haha, went to disney tt time
got free shuttle bus to hotel leh...why u walk leh :D

tt time i went was christmas eve (last yr) dun have such gd luck of no need fast pass, everywhere was so crowded and queue was so long....
haiz

tfosorcim
not sure abt how to ans all ur qns, but meals wise, it costs ard $6-10 sing dollars per meal in eateries
went to dimsum restaurant(which is very common, not like singapore, expensive restaurant) and had timsum for ard HKD120 for 3 pax
anyway,

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.