HoNg KoNg TrIp...Hooray!!~~

mubz96

Anyone know if I can rent apartments in HK for a few days like 4 days? How much would it cost in HK island, kowloon and new territories? Is it cheaper compared to guest house?

steelze

Tour experience @ Shenzhen

You will be gg with ur gf only aH? nt in a tour grp?
Hm up to u whether u wan to take the risk or not lor...Anwya its betta to have a local guiding u ard Shenzhen...

My colleague told me how his fren got rob in Shenzhen...
They will juz drove a van by ur side...and shout...U OWE ME MONEY...! He will drag u go up and Van, beat and rob u...ahahaha

I never go before cuz security nt tt gd...

I have been there twice. First was Dec 2006 and the recent one was July 2007.

Of course like you peers, I have also heard such stories about Shenzhen. I didn't believe them, until they really happened to me.

We went to 深圳步行街. It's the "must-go" tourist location. Very similar to our bugis street, but it's 20 times LARGER. Prices are ridiculously CHEAP. Shoes are thrown on floor for "lelong" of RMB 10 (S$2!!!). But most items are fake definitely. And the crowd there are mostly their local chinese.

Enough of the positive highlight. When my family and 1 china friend of mine reached there, we noticed many eyes staring at us secretly. It was relatively obvious to tell that we are not local chinese from their eyes. Next thing we knew, many scrappy clothed men stood very close to us.

Then my china friend began to warn us to hold our belongings tight. We did so as we were all very disturbed by these "hungry-looking" beggars. Then suddenly, my auntie was knocked by a soiled clothed man coming from nowhere. Upon the collision, he dropped his "shopping bags" on the ground. So, my auntie thought that it was her fault and helped to pick them up for the man. She apologised to him and he walked away shortly. All of us didn't notice anything wrong.

A while later, my auntie decided to make a phone call. To our shocks, her handbag was unzipped and her phone was gone. Immediately, we all knew that she was conned by that man in broad daylight. Apparently when she was helping to pick the shopping bags for that man, another con man came and stole her stuff when her attention was diverted away.

This is just one of the many tricks these con men in Shenzhen will do. My advise, don't carry any handbags or haversacks or wallets at all. You just need your $$$. Dun flash your phones in public to frequent, you will attract "flies".

The second trip I was more careful. My brother and I went to 华强 to get those wholesales IT gadgets. The IT stuffs over there were crazily cheap, and it was told that they import these items to other parts of china like Hong Kong, Shanghai, Beijing and etc.

Again, our shopping experience was short lived. We noticed shabby clothed men trailing us. I have to advise you peers don't get too engross in shopping for cheap stuffs. Always keep a look-out for such dangers.

So we saw this man kept following us from street to street. We will stop and look at him. He had no choice by to walk past us, pretending that he was not trailing us. But after a while, we saw his friends trailing us again.

It was really fed up experience for us. As far as i wanted to express my shopping enjoyment in Shenzhen (because things are really cheaper than Hong Kong), these negative events spoilt our days.

If you guys are caution enough and dare to take the risk for CHEAP clothes/toys/IT gadgets, Shenzhen is a good place to shop. But be prepared that security level there is disgustingly low.

Regards

jamesphang

I have been there twice. First was Dec 2006 and the recent one was July 2007.

Of course like you peers, I have also heard such stories about Shenzhen. I didn't believe them, until they really happened to me.

We went to 深圳步行街. It's the "must-go" tourist location. Very similar to our bugis street, but it's 20 times LARGER. Prices are ridiculously CHEAP. Shoes are thrown on floor for "lelong" of RMB 10 (S$2!!!). But most items are fake definitely. And the crowd there are mostly their local chinese.

Enough of the positive highlight. When my family and 1 china friend of mine reached there, we noticed many eyes staring at us secretly. It was relatively obvious to tell that we are not local chinese from their eyes. Next thing we knew, many scrappy clothed men stood very close to us.

Then my china friend began to warn us to hold our belongings tight. We did so as we were all very disturbed by these "hungry-looking" beggars. Then suddenly, my auntie was knocked by a soiled clothed man coming from nowhere. Upon the collision, he dropped his "shopping bags" on the ground. So, my auntie thought that it was her fault and helped to pick them up for the man. She apologised to him and he walked away shortly. All of us didn't notice anything wrong.

A while later, my auntie decided to make a phone call. To our shocks, her handbag was unzipped and her phone was gone. Immediately, we all knew that she was conned by that man in broad daylight. Apparently when she was helping to pick the shopping bags for that man, another con man came and stole her stuff when her attention was diverted away.

This is just one of the many tricks these con men in Shenzhen will do. My advise, don't carry any handbags or haversacks or wallets at all. You just need your $$$. Dun flash your phones in public to frequent, you will attract "flies".

The second trip I was more careful. My brother and I went to 华强 to get those wholesales IT gadgets. The IT stuffs over there were crazily cheap, and it was told that they import these items to other parts of china like Hong Kong, Shanghai, Beijing and etc.

Again, our shopping experience was short lived. We noticed shabby clothed men trailing us. I have to advise you peers don't get too engross in shopping for cheap stuffs. Always keep a look-out for such dangers.

So we saw this man kept following us from street to street. We will stop and look at him. He had no choice by to walk past us, pretending that he was not trailing us. But after a while, we saw his friends trailing us again.

It was really fed up experience for us. As far as i wanted to express my shopping enjoyment in Shenzhen (because things are really cheaper than Hong Kong), these negative events spoilt our days.

If you guys are caution enough and dare to take the risk for CHEAP clothes/toys/IT gadgets, Shenzhen is a good place to shop. But be prepared that security level there is disgustingly low.

Regards

hi,

you mentioned about 华强 in Shenzhen selling cheap IT gadgets, what are some IT gadgets (such as MP3 player) you can get over there? How cheap?

I am going to HK in auguest, would like to go shenzhen take a look.

cheers

sky140885

Just to ask, will it be more expensive(hotels and etc) and inconvenient to go HK in Aug as it is the Olympic period?

w3nGaL

i think will confirm be more ex during august this yr and convenience wise, yes to a certain extent...maybe tighter security etc.

JDelphiNet

Guys, last time I went to HK, they had this booklet at the airport that's full of discount vouchers, and it's free. On it you'll find vouchers/coupens that entitles you to something like 20% off tickets for Ocean Park admission, freebie at HK Disneyland once you present the coupon etc. Just wondering if there's still such a booklet nowadays....

Also, I read before that a Star Ferry terminal has been moved elsewhere. IIRC, it's the Central Station. Anybody knows whether the move was very far from where it once was?

Heading off to HK a few days from now... :p

:Later,

the_gryffindor

Guys, last time I went to HK, they had this booklet at the airport that's full of discount vouchers, and it's free. On it you'll find vouchers/coupens that entitles you to something like 20% off tickets for Ocean Park admission, freebie at HK Disneyland once you present the coupon etc. Just wondering if there's still such a booklet nowadays....

Also, I read before that a Star Ferry terminal has been moved elsewhere. IIRC, it's the Central Station. Anybody knows whether the move was very far from where it once was?

Heading off to HK a few days from now... :p

It's across an overhead bridge from IFC, which is just above Hong Kong MTR station.

w3nGaL

any idea if there is any difference to use HKD and Macau dollar when gambling in macau?

can their casino accept both type of currency?

how much does the cab ride cost if i am to take frm macau airport to metropark hotel?

JDelphiNet

any idea if there is any difference to use HKD and Macau dollar when gambling in macau?

can their casino accept both type of currency?

how much does the cab ride cost if i am to take frm macau airport to metropark hotel?
HK$ and MOP (Patacas) are accepted currencies throughout Macau. It's 1 to 1.

I'd love to know the cab ride cost as well. Coz we'll be taking that same route (Macau Airport to Metropark).

nofxzz

Anyone knows how to get to Prada warehouse? hear there's one there but i don't have directions or add.

o0SpaceY0o

eh eh nice pics! i just came back from hk as well 02 May to 7 May via jetstar! hmmm did you took jetstar? hehe any other places you visited? planning to go back to visit OP, macau and namya island heheh :s22:

omg...bro i took jetstar on May the 2nd oso leh....6.40am flight!!! you?

kkktoh

HK$ and MOP (Patacas) are accepted currencies throughout Macau. It's 1 to 1.

I'd love to know the cab ride cost as well. Coz we'll be taking that same route (Macau Airport to Metropark).

60+ irc.... stay the same hotel..

shin84

so comfrim if i go HK ans SZ in Aug i have to apply VISA le ??

that day i go chinatown change HK dollar also get 5.70

btw go SZ use HK dollar or RMB??

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.