[Mac 101] Ask your questions here!

BenXiaoHai

oh ya, if I dun want to display the Macintosh HD on my desktop, can i just trash it? Don't dare to do it yet, cuz scared later entire hd kena wiped

unfinished07

maybe you should manually download the update from the apple website and install it

and yes, repair disk permissions before installing the update.

ok i'll try it. i was thinking using software update would be much easier becoz i've got quite alot of updates to install.

unfinished07

Is there enough free disk space?

Anyways, download Onyx (http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id/11582 -- pick the correct version for your OS) and under the "Automation" tab, select every options except for Rebuilding LaunchServices & Display of folder content, and hit Execute. That should clean up your Mac.

yeah, still have enough free disk space, not much stuff in tat MB.

anyways i'll update to the new onyx and try it, another item to update.

eD|t|0n

How to make files/documents to appear hidden or password protected just as in windozes? :)

animefan

heard that they will sell dvd drive separate just like MBA. Sianz.... but MB will be aluminium liao.

Neoorigin

My adium windows open up 'mis-aligned'

My chat sessions are full-screen, every time i open up a window, it opens with half of the window out of my screen.

How can i fix this problem to 'fix' adium's chat windows position

eD|t|0n

How to make files/documents to appear hidden or password protected just as in windozes?

RupertGee

How to make files/documents to appear hidden or password protected just as in windozes?

For documents & contents folders you value their privacy, your best bet is to use Disk Utility to create a encrypted disk (up to DVD size for easy archive to DVD) and keep them in it. To be truly private, *never* accept the offer to store the password in your Keychain.

Picture1-9.png

There are of course 3rd partiy apps that do what you want but can you be sure the 3rd party will still be around when you want to support in future?

RupertGee

oh ya, if I dun want to display the Macintosh HD on my desktop, can i just trash it? Don't dare to do it yet, cuz scared later entire hd kena wiped

Finder -> Preferences -> General -> Show these items … -> [untick] Hard disks

eD|t|0n

For documents & contents folders you value their privacy, your best bet is to use Disk Utility to create a encrypted disk (up to DVD size for easy archive to DVD) and keep them in it. To be truly private, *never* accept the offer to store the password in your Keychain.

Picture1-9.png

There are of course 3rd partiy apps that do what you want but can you be sure the 3rd party will still be around when you want to support in future?

But what ab saving the the hidden file onto the Mac HDD...? How can i make it appear or disappear as i wish and stop those prying eyes....keke =) No intention to backup to DVD dics :s13:

RupertGee

But what ab saving the the hidden file onto the Mac HDD...? How can i make it appear or disappear as i wish and stop those prying eyes....keke =) No intention to backup to DVD dics :s13:

Any filename that starts with a period, .gayporn.mp4, will automatically be hidden by unix.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.