[Official cycling thread]

lohyks

Hi, is there any riding group which I can join? I hd only started at beginning of this year. Thanks.

Ah_keong

I think V brakes version does not come with disc compatible hubs, so most probably u have to change wheelset.

i see, thanks..
was wondering to buy the v brakes version or the disc brake version as the difference is about $100...

Ah_keong

Actually I also looking at Ava 1.0 but also comparing it with Giant Iguana and Jamis Durango. I heard for that price Durango has got better parts and Giant has a slightly lighter frame. I'm also trying to max my budget more to get a Giant XTC SE 2.

i see, i asked my friend's brother who is a pro on bikes...
he recommend me GT ava for a start, then learn from there....

so now i am still learning the difference between ava 3.0, 2.0 and 1.0....

:D

Ah_keong

hmmm
got a place selling 2009 gt avalanche 2.0 disc for ard $700
1.0 disc not in yet. it shld be abt $900.

u guys think its worth it boh?
actually i wanna look for 2008 2.0 disc, white color, cos its the color i want and its cheaper.

any advice? or places tat still can get 2008 models?

thankssss

i saw it in AMK - C2C last week, think i saw a GT ava 2.0 white, don know is it 2009 or 2008 (i newbie, paiseh)
but was quoted for around $770 for that bike...

Ah_keong

went to a few shops on saturday.
best price i found was at soon hock store
blk 330 AMK ave 1
tel: 6455 5006

3.0 disc = $630
2.0 disc = $720
prices b4 discount

i would advise u to get 2.0 disc if u can afford to increase ur budget
saves u alot of hassle in future if u want to change to disc

thanks, i went there last sat...
quoted $560 for a 3.0 V-brakes version....
the price they offer is like quite affordable....

didnt saw 3.0 disc or 2.0 disc there... so didnt ask for the price...
my last bicycle was also bought there like 12 years ago?? hee hee hee..... :D

would consider 2.0 based on ur advice... thanks!!

Ah_keong

yeah i would recommend gt ava 2.0 too if u are lookin at ava series. Alot of ppl thought just component diff. The extra 100 (2.0 and 3.0) if i am not wrong is the frame butted for 2.0 but not for 3.0 and the hydro disc brakes. I say the 100 is well spent ba.

thanks for the advice!
would consider 2.0 also... :D

lohyks

come come, who here cycles ?
let me start first, i'm riding a GT avalanche hardtail and living in the east. hope to hear from more ppl in my area, or anywhere in this sunny island :):)

local websites : www.togoparts.com
www.sgcycling.org
http://chaosinduction.com
http://z13.invisionfree.com/SengkangMTB/index.php
http://www.sunsetrails.com/

foreign website :www.mtbr.com
http://www.pinkbike.com/

1) oreo_cheescake v2.0 (bedok)
2) TheoDr
3) dxboy
4) twists ( yishun )
5) DanHoon (farrer rd)
6)KoChi ( jurong )
7)IcehOt ( east)
8)pew (sengkang)
9)tamashi1987 (North)
10)xtn32 (pasir ris)
11)Redpillbluepill (north )
12)Expert (north)
13)fadzuli (tampines )
14)astroboy82 (east )
15)xiao_cai7 Old Airport (East).
16)Singapura
17)AeroSix
18)genocideX ( East- Pasir Ris )
19)undead102 (Jurong East)
20) ultratigafriend (yishun )
21)Valence (town area)
22)mafia6
23)Xerium ,north area(sembawang)
24)speedknight
25) Helbreath (fort road)
26)dipznpipz (bishan)
27) tecnica (west)
28)K20A
29)BobaFett
30)dirtysock (yishun)
31)blazingifrit (pasir panjang)
32)Red_Dotie
33)ekin53 (west area)
34)hdrcorp (Sembawang)
35)CivicDash (Jurong)
36)athletic91
37)smartboy4
38)eez_enegue (yishun)
39)TeRtEr (west side)
40)blurpasta (Ang Mo Kio)
41)bigbadber (Jurong East)
42)terence83 (west side) -pm for ride
43)bOnkfEsT (katong)
44)firdie (bedok/east coast) #820

I m from Queenstown / West.

ludacris10

Guys who just started cycling and wanna buy a new bike can look for me. I got lobang for gt 3.0 for 380+. My father got lobang for this offer. :) cheers

sukhoi37

disc brake is for the real mountain biker la.
tell me how many cyclist who actually bought mountain bike and really use their bike in mud?:s13:

zenotic

Guys who just started cycling and wanna buy a new bike can look for me. I got lobang for gt 3.0 for 380+. My father got lobang for this offer. :) cheers

Hey have ava 1.0 white frame or not ? Got any other lobangs or not ?

pew

Is Kowa. A good fork brand? Can't seem to find much info on it. Intend to change out my cheapo fork from my cheapo bike.

sexpensive lor, call patrick of eclipe sports to enquire

meggidodimus

heard siglap area got good bike shop. Any bros can verify? thinking of getting a hybrid kinda bike but is damn noob abt it. May need the expertise of bike pros arnd here thanks ;)

sarlame_saucepack

Joeblow max floor pump. No more going to bike shop to pump tyres with this.

Thanks. Is this available online only 'cause I call up a few shops and they carry made in taiwan pumps only. I just bought a pump from Mustafa B2. Over there, the salesman tried it on a kiddo bike. When I reached home, I realized the noozle didn't fit. So I cannibalized the adapter from the S$2.50 damaged cheapo pump. I don't have a cam. now so I post the picture later.

tremor

bicycle parts prices keep increasing like nobody business, thats why bikes are more and more expensive. few years ago prices cannot compare one. This is not like computer parts.

Alpha_Hippo

er.. actually lemme say a word from a neutral point of view..

it all depends on the style of riding and where u ride..

if u do road riding more, vees will do more then enough..

trails and others tat requires modulation and power, of cos hydros ftw...

but having change to hydro, me too will not turn back to vees again.. the part where tremor said rims dirty and no power is true to an extent.. i brought my bikes with vee to trail and can hardly brake because of the wet condition and mud clogging issue..

so buy the right thing for the right use.. hehe :o

hippo! its all ur fault tat i upgrade my bike! :(

why blame me:(? I never poison u. All Pew's fault okay.

pew

long time never hhave hardwarezone rollers mass orgy ride already leh, shall we plan 1 soon? any suggestion on routes?

pew

hi guys,

i have a few noob questions.

what does it mean by frame butted?
can we remove the wheels for disc brakes as easily as vee brake for transportation?

butted means the ends of the tubing is thicker than the centre. butted tubings are usually lighter.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.