HoNg KoNg TrIp...Hooray!!~~

existence

How's the weather over at hong kong now? Will be flying off wed morning :D

24c is like aircon rite haha..

i just come back late ytd night... so tired now...

weather is good with slight drizzle..
22 degrees +/-

singapore is so hot!!! haha!!!!!

Clarence80

hey guys, am planning the itinerary for my trip for the coming end of march.

as i've got most shopping areas covered in a list..

i was wondering if anyone can give me some tips on what kinda food thats a must try?

language would be a problem here as i can't read chinese menus(speak only)

its gonna be my first time there.. appreciating all the help in advanced! thanks! :)

s7460597

try the roast meats eg roast goose, duck, char siew etc. generally quite good everywhere.

dim sum especially at the lower end restaurants which the locals patronise, good and cheap. avoid going weekends cos of long queues.

Cafe De Coral, Maxims for local favourites and localised western dishes.

cart noodle, beef noodle, wanton noodle, porridge, claypot rice

desserts

Clarence80

try the roast meats eg roast goose, duck, char siew etc. generally quite good everywhere.

dim sum especially at the lower end restaurants which the locals patronise, good and cheap. avoid going weekends cos of long queues.

Cafe De Coral, Maxims for local favourites and localised western dishes.

cart noodle, beef noodle, wanton noodle, porridge, claypot rice

desserts
thanks buddy, as for dim sum at lower end restaurants.. will there be a problem if i cant read their local chinese meal? or i could just point and order when they push their carts around?

thanks!

s7460597

Not all restaurants have push cards. For those that have just point at what you want. For those that don't have ask the waiters/waitresses or point at the dishes other diners are eating. I also have problem reading Chinese. Just be a bit thick skin and ask. Sometimes I just ask the waitress to fill in the form for me. Can also ask what is the special for the day etc.

BubbleQoo

Hi, here's my Hong Kong Trip Itinerary
Is there anything I can add on or change?

Saturday
Arrive at Hong Kong International Airport
Take Bus No A21 to Cityview Hotel
Check in Hotel
Lunch at nearby restaurant
F&E at nearby places (Ladies Street, Mongkok Street)
Tsim Sha Tsui - Symphony of Lights (8pm)
Avenue of Stars

Sunday
Breakfast
Repulse Bay (Central MTR)
Shopping Time at Citygate (Tung Chung MTR)

Monday
Breakfast
Ocean Park (Admiralty MTR)
Shopping at Fa Yuen Street (Wan Chai MTR)

Tuesday
Breakfast
Disneyland

Wednesday
Macau
Senado Square & Ruins of St Paul
Venetian Casino
Macau Fishermen’s Wharf

Thursday
Wong Tai Sin Temple (Wong Tai Sin MTR)
The Peak (Central MTR)

Friday
Ngong Ping 360
Lantau Island (Chung Tung MTR)
Shopping at Citygate again (if time allows)

Saturday
Last minute shopping

Clarence80

Not all restaurants have push cards. For those that have just point at what you want. For those that don't have ask the waiters/waitresses or point at the dishes other diners are eating. I also have problem reading Chinese. Just be a bit thick skin and ask. Sometimes I just ask the waitress to fill in the form for me. Can also ask what is the special for the day etc.
thanks buddy, no worries about being thick skinned just for a good trip.

i heard that i should speak english instead of mandarin since my proficiency of cantonese is only 1%.

true that they speak and understand english better than mandarin?

thanks in advanced! maybe i'll post up my compilation to share once i have a complete and good list. :D

s7460597

thanks buddy, no worries about being thick skinned just for a good trip.

i heard that i should speak english instead of mandarin since my proficiency of cantonese is only 1%.

true that they speak and understand english better than mandarin?

thanks in advanced! maybe i'll post up my compilation to share once i have a complete and good list. :D

Depends where. In high end restaurants (read expensive) where foreigners go they can understand English. Other than that Mandarin would be better. Now a lot better as they are dependent on Mainland Chinese for a lot bulk of business and will try to respond in Mandarin even though they don't speak it well.

Clarence80

Depends where. In high end restaurants (read expensive) where foreigners go they can understand English. Other than that Mandarin would be better. Now a lot better as they are dependent on Mainland Chinese for a lot bulk of business and will try to respond in Mandarin even though they don't speak it well.
thanks for the prompt reply..

so i assume.. the rundown ones have more pushcarts and purely chinese menus than high end ones that have everything? guess i'll do point and ask technique and i'll be using mandarin then.

thanks!! :)

BubbleQoo

Other than LKF, there's Knutsford Terrace at TST.
KTV wise, Neway and 加州紅 are practically everywhere.

Thanks for your info. I heard that the ktv there are mostly packed everyday that you have to pre-book the day before?

BubbleQoo

May I know what's the differences between Ta Yuen Street and Fa Yuen Street? Are both of them located at Wan Chai MTR?

BubbleQoo

Another qns, is Zhu Hai a MUST to go? I dun think there's any time slot for this leh...
And how do I go to Venetian Macao Casino, Senado Square, Ruins of St Paul and Macau Tower in Macau? Are they close to each other?

Signhere

Hi...

Tai Yuen Street is in wan chai and selling toys ( for / men young people / kids ...etc )... Fa Yuen street is at Prince Edward ( Mong Kok )... they are selling something like Basar Malam...... but of course the things they are selling there is different.

In Macau... if you taking ferry there from HK.... basically once you step out... there are many FOC shutter bus can send you there.... of course they assume you are either staying there or going there for gambling...

If you want to have a better communication... I suggest you speak to them in Mandarin.... if cannot then english... I can't say speak english can't have better price in term when in neg.... but chinese is better.

Before you want to try out the KTV or karaoke... please read there menu first... like happy hour is btw 6 to 8pm... usually come with 2 drinks...

Nowaday dim sum also seldom come in push cart and asking u..... usually u filled the form and they steam straight away.... Um.... to have the best bargin... you should try to taking to morning session btw 07:00am to 11:30am or high tea session 14:00 to 16:00..... the dim sum usually at HK$ 6.8 to 8.8 per dish.... of course if you having in central is much expensive than having it in shatin.

if go by 7pm... usually come with buffet dinner.... etc

Go there are lunch time.. they have set lunch.. like HK$68... sing for 2 hours with meals... etc study more to enjoy more. OK???

If you want to know more about where to buy cheap ocean park ticket or disneyland ticket... or something can help u... let me know OK..

haha.... I am a guy psoted to shenzhen and staying in Hong Kong. ( Sporean la!!! )

Enjoy your trip

Bak_Chor_Mee

Another qns, is Zhu Hai a MUST to go? I dun think there's any time slot for this leh...
And how do I go to Venetian Macao Casino, Senado Square, Ruins of St Paul and Macau Tower in Macau? Are they close to each other?

Senado Sq and Ruins of St Paul are very close. As for macau tower and venetian, could be slightly further. but taking cab in macau is very cheap! dun need save on cab fare. :s13:

BubbleQoo

Senado Sq and Ruins of St Paul are very close. As for macau tower and venetian, could be slightly further. but taking cab in macau is very cheap! dun need save on cab fare. :s13:

Okok...thanks for your advice. Shall take cab then...will bring S$2k each for shopping expenses...hould be enought including food la hor..

BubbleQoo

Hi...

Tai Yuen Street is in wan chai and selling toys ( for / men young people / kids ...etc )... Fa Yuen street is at Prince Edward ( Mong Kok )... they are selling something like Basar Malam...... but of course the things they are selling there is different.

Thanks for your info! I think I will go to both areas. I am looking for toys such as HAMTARO..think shouldnt be a problem finding them at Ta Yuen Street :s12:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.