EDMW Knife Collectors

KouAnKyuuKa

Below is the email I received from 'Roger' :

[FONT='Tahoma','sans-serif']From:[/FONT][FONT='Tahoma','sans-serif'] Roger [mailto:Roger@knifeworks.com]
Sent: Thursday, April 02, 2009 1:42 AM
To: 'Kenzo Leong'
Subject: RE: Regarding Order#73813 [/FONT]

Ken

Someone put the wrong number on your order, tracking number below and it is shipping today and it will be tonight before the number will work.

[FONT='Arial','sans-serif']EH 882 087 949 US [/FONT]

Roger

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

I'm not sure if people in LA skip pleasantries or is 'Roger' too busy to type a 'Hi' or 'Kind Regards'. And definitely no apologies on the mixed-up.

I have read reviews that their customer service is supposed to be good.

So I will leave the judgment on service quality up to you.

viix

I've ordered online so often.. most don't say hi or bye when they send messages like orders shipped, payment recieved etc.. so don't take it to heart.

Just XXXX, your order is shipped, tracking number XXXXXXXXX, from XXXX.. that's it.. I also don't bother.. As long as it arrives in good condition.

viix

i thought got one bro ordered no problem with knifework, anyway please update here if your parcel arrive. thanks!

Yea, knifeworks should be no problem.. if you don't want any exotic knives, also can order from lighthound.com and shipped international flat rate @ 14.99 for 2-3 small knives too.

Pedobear_BTSS

Those who bought knives online before can give some advise please.

I am interested in buying some knives (Fixed blade/machete/throwing knife) online from knife depot (http://www.knife-depot.com) for collecting/camping purposes. But was afriad if they would be confisticated or blunted for whatever reasons.

Can any butties offer some advice on what to look out for when buying them online and how to aviod them being confisticated or blunted keeping in line of the legal guidelines.

Thanks in advance.

vinn

Oh, my BOB is ordered using my friend's credit card. I've only order from miles the widgy bars, peanut lighter, micro grappling hook and diplomat organiser for 10USD shipping and 5USD handling charge.. For my BOB, my friend has her billing and shipping address attached to her vpost account so she ordered for me direct from countycomm. I shipped 2 (XL and gen5) BOB for about 35SGD via vpost. Shipping from CountyComm to vpost was another 8USD. That was my first order from CC but paisay to trouble her again so I ordered from miles the other small items.

I tried using concierge services also but CountyComm doesn't allow shipping to addresses other than the credit cards billing address. You can go the the bank and ask them to change your billing address to a vpost address though, and not to send you CC bill via snail mail.. I know Citibank allows it but other banks I'm not too sure.

I'm sure it isn't cheap to ship large bags via USPS cheap. But you can try asking miles to forward the package to your vpost instead since registration @vpost is free.

Probably a typo.. just wait for a reply from roger.
tanks.
dun think i wana change my cc billing add to vpost. :(

KouAnKyuuKa

I've ordered online so often.. most don't say hi or bye when they send messages like orders shipped, payment recieved etc.. so don't take it to heart.

Just XXXX, your order is shipped, tracking number XXXXXXXXX, from XXXX.. that's it.. I also don't bother.. As long as it arrives in good condition.

Actually, I'm only not happy at their attitude as if they did no wrong in providing me a wrong tracking code and not even apologize about it.

But if my package arrives in good condition, I'm not going to bother.

viix

I am interested in buying some knives (Fixed blade/machete/throwing knife) online from knife depot (http://www.knife-depot.com) for collecting/camping purposes. But was afriad if they would be confisticated or blunted for whatever reasons.

Can any butties offer some advice on what to look out for when buying them online and how to aviod them being confisticated or blunted keeping in line of the legal guidelines.

Thanks in advance.

fixed blade cannot be double edge, else will confiscate unless 1 side is blunted.
Machete/parang can buy only from shop and take down IC IIRC.. My colleague has them as props but is blunted one.. throwing knife is just any other knife can get online, just will depends on ICA happy or not to ask you go visit them..

Best to check with A&E@ cantonment..

KouAnKyuuKa

Thanks in advance.
I think you should look for knifes that are only sharpened on a single side, no automatics (like press button and blade comes out).

I think some bros have mentioned about certain length limits too.

Pedobear_BTSS

fixed blade cannot be double edge, else will confiscate unless 1 side is blunted.
Machete/parang can buy only from shop and take down IC IIRC.. My colleague has them as props but is blunted one.. throwing knife is just any other knife can get online, just will depends on ICA happy or not to ask you go visit them..

Best to check with A&E@ cantonment..

Thanks for the infomation, i tried to call them no one pick up. Very informative thanks.

I think you should look for knifes that are only sharpened on a single side, no automatics (like press button and blade comes out).

I think some bros have mentioned about certain length limits too.

Thanks. any butties know if specifics on length permitted?

Pedobear_BTSS

Knife works ok lah.. no big screw ups will happen.. anyway what you want to buy?

these from the Knife Depot:

http://www.knife-depot.com/knife-128838.html
4_82736.jpg

http://www.knife-depot.com/knife-166075.html
4_134879.jpg

http://www.knife-depot.com/knife-166057.html
4_122446.jpg

http://www.knife-depot.com/knife-87365.html
4_67061.jpg

http://www.knife-depot.com/knife-87358.html
4_67054.jpg

http://www.knife-depot.com/knife-34647.html
4_38518.jpg

Any advice rendered is appreciated.

viix

Any advice rendered is appreciated.

AFAIK, all the knife sure cannot pass customs.. your throwing knife confirm cannot.. If you want, have to ask A&E if can even bring in.. surely need license and have it blunted one.. Ehem, all your choices is double edged leh.. 110% cannot one..

Your fixed blade I don't know if considered double edge, will have to ask the other collectors here on the serrated edge.

this one
4_122446.jpg
I'm sure immediately confiscate + fine as it is not legal :s13:

vinn

i just asked CID A&E one month ago, survival knives are legal in singapore, they would stop the knives at custom if they detect and you will have to go down CID to collect them.
subject to their interpretation of survival knives .

Pedobear_BTSS

For the items i am interested in, i already sent CID A&E an email asking them what can buy what cannot buy liao. Now wait and see their response loh. I hope they dont go ask me go lim kopi leh or aw kong sho scary.

KouAnKyuuKa

these from the Knife Depot:

http://www.knife-depot.com/knife-128838.html
4_82736.jpg

http://www.knife-depot.com/knife-166075.html
4_134879.jpg

http://www.knife-depot.com/knife-166057.html
4_122446.jpg

4_38518.jpg

All these all cannot. Both sides of the blades are sharpened.

http://www.knife-depot.com/knife-87365.html
4_67061.jpg

http://www.knife-depot.com/knife-87358.html
4_67054.jpg

http://www.knife-depot.com/knife-34647.html

The last one can. I have the Aitor one. But the first one looks like a bayonet ring on the guard. But should confirm the first hunting knife with A and E.

Lonerider

For survival knives you might want to ask them whether the upper clip is sharpened. Some have false unsharpened swedges but there are some models like older KABARs that has a shapened clip. This short run of sharpened edge may still make it count as a double edged knife. What are you going to use the knife for?

On a side note... Just received my Spyderco Kris and Mini Manix. Also just bought a few more Victorinox knives. Will post the pics tomorrow. Damn handphone cam is useless at night. Everytime I plan to buy a proper cam I end up spending on more knives.

Not my pics...
Spyderco Kris
Ed Schempp design... Discontinued and getting veri difficult to find. Got lucki and found a collector numbered knife #187. This will go in the safe as a collector.
C104_L.jpg

Spyderco Mini Manix Combo Edge this year with the BB lock. Would have preferred plain edge though. Serrations are a pain to sharpen.
Discontinued, a new version of this is coming out
C101GPS.jpg

Victorinox Farmer
Discontinued and getting difficult to find.. Managed to track down all 3 colours; red, blue and silver alox.
img126ad6e4zikdzj.jpeg

Next month I've a custom knife coming to me... My first ever custom! Sigh... Next month I may be eating grass liao.

viix

Spyderco Kris
Ed Schempp design... Discontinued and getting veri difficult to find. Got lucki and found a collector numbered knife #187. This will go in the safe as a collector.
C104_L.jpg

Spyderco Mini Manix Combo Edge this year with the BB lock. Would have preferred plain edge though. Serrations are a pain to sharpen.
Discontinued, a new version of this is coming out
C101GPS.jpg

Victorinox Farmer
Discontinued and getting difficult to find.. Managed to track down all 3 colours; red, blue and silver alox.
img126ad6e4zikdzj.jpeg

Next month I've a custom knife coming to me... My first ever custom! Sigh... Next month I may be eating grass liao.

Nice! I like the kris's blade geometry! Must take pictures of your new arrivals! And even more curious about your custom!! :s27:

KouAnKyuuKa

I will be ordering ColdSteel Recon-1 soon.

Any Bros have thios knife? Care to comment ?

I have seen videos and reviews, but would like to hear from fellow collectors in SG about this knife.

THanks.

Lonerider

My Spyderco Kris...

Pics as promised... Sorry for the poor quality. Wish I have a proper camera. Maybe one of the bros here can recommend me a decent one. Someone told me I need one with macro function. No idea what that means.

Back to the knife... Its larger and a lot heavier than I expected. Came razor sharp, I expected no less from a Spyderco. In fact I cut myself playing with it and din feel a thing. Really sharp knives tend to do that. I'd love to use it but the blade has all those recurves and sharpening them would be a nightmare. Blade is VG10 and handle is black micarta. Very slick stuff but it looks really good. Pics dun do this knife justice. Locks like a bank vault. No blade play whatsoever and blade is centred perfectly.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.