Question abt ICA Specialist

ox2009

Thanx for the update. I would like to know also, what exactly does a SO do at the checkpoint? In addition, what is the pay structure like? What is your personal view on the job based on your experience? As for career progression, I understand that your first posting will be @ the checkpoint but what I actually wanted to know was like how is the promotion like, pay increment, etc...

At checkpoints, officer refer a case which they feel doubtful and SO will assess and clear based on ur judgement and of cse adhering to SOP. Ur duty is to exercise judgement, resolve difficult situations/complains and do anything that requires a SO level.

You must like the job nature to appreciate it. Also be prepared for heavy responsibility as a SO. To be frank, checkpoint work is tough but easy (ironic) because after work you dun need to think much. But I seen friends in staff posting scratching head even after work because there are lots of things to do.

Pay Structure is exactly same as listed in website.. +abt $500 for guys with NS. Other Rank pay structure I am not sure as I only served 1.5 yrs :)

Promotion is based on ur potential. From INSP1 to INSP2 to ASP1 to ASP2 to DSP1 to DSP2 and so on. Pay increment differs so can't really comment.

There is 1 previous question for allowance for ICA specialist. There is no allowance as Pay already included that. But for Specialist scheme, you earn $ when u work overtime but for SO scheme, only timeoff given.

edesenjavier

Hi MASMUS, did they tell you when the Offer of Appointment will come? I was also told I was selected and to wait for the Offer of Appointment. But until I see the appointment in black & white, i'm not sure if i should reject other offers and interviews :s11:

Hi FYI.
after i went for my 1st interview, i recv am sms about 1 week later telling me i m selected r. then in about 4 to 5 days later, i recv the Offer of Appointment.

MASMUS

Yah. I have yet to receive anything yet. I have received offers from SPF, SCDF and Prisons but they will all start AFTER 1st of June when the pay cut is in effect. Only ICA so far claimed to offer me before 1st June (29th May intake). But there is still no official Offer of Apptmt except for an email telling me to wait for it and then I am commencing on 29th May. Thus I am a bit concerned too.

edesenjavier

Yah. I have yet to receive anything yet. I have received offers from SPF, SCDF and Prisons but they will all start AFTER 1st of June when the pay cut is in effect. Only ICA so far claimed to offer me before 1st June (29th May intake). But there is still no official Offer of Apptmt except for an email telling me to wait for it and then I am commencing on 29th May. Thus I am a bit concerned too.

I think it would come by tomorrow or tuesday ba. Because ICA have scheduled me to go and sign the letter of appointment on this coming wed at MND complex. Be patient. =)

getsby

got pay cut one meh? the news never say lei??? how many % cut

MASMUS

Enquiry

Anyway, can someone explain again regarding the shifts? In addition, are the bonuses the same as SCDF and SPF?

MASMUS

I think it would come by tomorrow or tuesday ba. Because ICA have scheduled me to go and sign the letter of appointment on this coming wed at MND complex. Be patient. =)

Hey, I have yet to receive anything. Will it be via email or mail. I think its a bit poorly organized. I don't even know the info regarding the job like the scope, shift hours, bonuses, benefits, etc etc. Whatever I know is from the website or from this forum. Are we expected to just sign once we get the Offer of Appointment without having much info on what we are getting ourselves into?

toogood

Hi All

Need advice.When go for interview, they ask for documents to proof working experience and employment testimonial.If dun have how? meaning gone case? Pls help.
t

edesenjavier

Hey, I have yet to receive anything. Will it be via email or mail. I think its a bit poorly organized. I don't even know the info regarding the job like the scope, shift hours, bonuses, benefits, etc etc. Whatever I know is from the website or from this forum. Are we expected to just sign once we get the Offer of Appointment without having much info on what we are getting ourselves into?

You will recv it by mail.
You can decide wether u wan to sign the Offer of Appointment.
Once u decide to take up the offer, u must go the the MND complex at maxwell on the date stated on the offer letter.
Once there, there will be a HR officer attending to you. I think u can voiced out all queries and concerns that u are unsure of. At the end of the day, if u feel that the offer is not good, u can just reject it. If in are ok with it, den u can sign at the last page of the offer letter.
Then, the HR officer will inform u of the date to report for work etc.

simetra

Hi All

Need advice.When go for interview, they ask for documents to proof working experience and employment testimonial.If dun have how? meaning gone case? Pls help.
t
Hi toogood,

You have prior working experience? If don't have just bring along your academic certs and CCA certs will do

juventusfc27

would like to ask

1) do they accept permanent PES C civilians?
2) does this job involve standing for very long hours/period of time?
3) and i noticed that the working shifts posted by ox2009 doesnt seem to be very even. instead of 8/8/8, it's like 7/7/10. if kanna night shift all the way from 2200 to 0800 die liao lor?

thanks

edesenjavier

would like to ask

1) do they accept permanent PES C civilians?
2) does this job involve standing for very long hours/period of time?
3) and i noticed that the working shifts posted by ox2009 doesnt seem to be very even. instead of 8/8/8, it's like 7/7/10. if kanna night shift all the way from 2200 to 0800 die liao lor?

thanks

1) i think they do accept PES C civilians. Call up the ICA HR to check.

2) It depends on which customs or commands u are in. Standing for long periods is a norm for all ICA staffs i think.

3) You wunt kena nite shift all the way. the shift is morning, morning, nite, nite, OFF, noon, noon, OFF. and starts all over again. there wunt be any perm nite shift.

=)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.