Back from South island New Zealand

socrates

Yes the weather was very good when I was in Te Anau. Just the day before I arrived I was told it was raining continously but no rain when I was there.

no05.jpg

P1070792.jpg

Stayed here at the lakeside motels, facing the lake, ducks swimming in the lake, blue skies and nice garden flowers. Currently so crazy at work in Singapore and wish I could unwind my day in front of this type of scenery.

Gasband: Wonderful that you can go on more holidays so soon again. be sure to post pictures and report when you get back. Have a safe and fun trip !

donald83

wow the pics are so nice. can't wait to go there. will ask u guys for more info like car rental, accommodation etc when the date draws near

but why so many ppl prefer southern island rather than northern island?

gasband

wow the pics are so nice. can't wait to go there. will ask u guys for more info like car rental, accommodation etc when the date draws near

but why so many ppl prefer southern island rather than northern island?

If you ask even the Kiwis in the North Island, they will also say that the south is the gem in NZ. North Island generall is flat but in the South you have plenty of interesting landscapes and most importantly SPACE!!! in a country of 4 mil, South Island only holds 1 mil of that. imagine the amount of space u get in that big island?:D

conan_kaya

Hello socrates,

I have pm you. Can i get your itinery from you as a reference to plan for my itinery to new zeland?

milostylo2008

Hi socrates,

I am planning on a vacation in New Zealand this coming November. It will be a free and easy trip. Can i get your itinery as a reference to plan for my travel plan?

Also, I would like to seek an advice from you.

I saw that you got your tickets from SIA under the 2 to go promotion where the price is S$1278 pax. May I know when did you bought the tickets? Also do you have any idea if there will still be such a promotion from now till before Nov?

Arbalest

omg bro really beautiful.. also wanna change honeymoon destination to NZ liao!! :s13:

blizzy

Hi socrates,

I am planning on a vacation in New Zealand this coming November. It will be a free and easy trip. Can i get your itinery as a reference to plan for my travel plan?

Also, I would like to seek an advice from you.

I saw that you got your tickets from SIA under the 2 to go promotion where the price is S$1278 pax. May I know when did you bought the tickets? Also do you have any idea if there will still be such a promotion from now till before Nov?

2 to go can be bought anytime. earlier = cheaper. i got mine for 1.3k or so last year. a few months later, it was 1.6k (for the same travel period)

sflow_00

I also went NZ last Nov.

Can see my blog: bubblelow.multiply.com. Click on each day photo to view the itinerary details.

Rgds,
Low

socrates

Just recieved this email offer from UOB

6/7/9D Fly & Drive New Zealand from S$1,438*
UOB Cards Special: UP to S$100 OFF per couple*
North New Zealand • South New Zealand
• Return airfare on Qantas Airways / Singapore Airlines
• Stay 4/5/7 nights at your choice of hotel / resort
• 4/5/7 days Hertz car rental (Toyota Camry, 2.0L)
• Minimum 2 to go

gasband

I am almost sure the UOB offer doesnt include TAX yet :yawn: hehehe

anyway socrates how are you? Any holidays soon? After I came back from Shanghai and Cambodia in Jan...5 months of staying in Singapre, I sian ah! But finally 24th I am leaving for Europe hurhurhur!!! :s12::s12:

socrates

6 months goes by very fast Gasband. Good to hear from you ! I am going for a holiday to Sri Lanka next week .

Be sure you post pictures of your travels to Europe and of course any giant juicy burgers you may encounter like in Queenstown! which countries are you going to visit?

gasband

wow Sri Lanka! That is a very nice place to go! I haven gone there yet but I think the exoticism will draw me there sooner or later haha!

I am making it to London, Scotland and Barcelona... wished I had more days than the 15 days.... JUST NEVER SEEM ENOUGH :s13:

You enjoy your trip too! Pictures to tempt me pls! HAHA

socrates

Hi gasband,

Good itineary you have lined up. I went to England last year June on Emirates for $868. Really had a good trip. Enjoyed many places there like the lake district, Cotswold, Bath and liked London for all the fantastic museums they have there. I am sure that Scotland will have some very good lakes and country side which should remind you of New Zealand !

How much is your airticket there? what is your rough itineary for this trip

yes I will post my sir lanka trip and you post yours !

donald83

Hi all i've booked my air tickets to Christchurch and will be there from 19th Jul till 29 Jul.

Am thinking how many days shld I stay in Christchurch before making my way down south.

What are the things to do at Christchurch? From what i've read so far, there's nothing much. So prob stay 1 night there will do?

gasband

Not that there is nothing to do at Christchurch, just that whether you would like to do those things. They have a nice Botanical Gardens, take a ride down the Avon, musuems, Cathedrals. Slightly Further out they do not some attractions like the Willowbank reserves. The casinos and the arts weekend market etc. You get the idea. Its a more urban kind of attractions. For me, I am not so interested so I only stayed one night when I arrived there, and one night before I depart. YOu have only 11 days so ya, if you are more interested in the sceneries of South Island, outside of Christchurch there is more to see.

donald83

Not that there is nothing to do at Christchurch, just that whether you would like to do those things. They have a nice Botanical Gardens, take a ride down the Avon, musuems, Cathedrals. Slightly Further out they do not some attractions like the Willowbank reserves. The casinos and the arts weekend market etc. You get the idea. Its a more urban kind of attractions. For me, I am not so interested so I only stayed one night when I arrived there, and one night before I depart. YOu have only 11 days so ya, if you are more interested in the sceneries of South Island, outside of Christchurch there is more to see.

Thank you for your informative post.

1) Any shopping at Christchuch? Buying winter clothes, groceries shopping etc.

2) Where did you stay? Want to find a budget motel for me and my gf

gasband

Thank you for your informative post.

1) Any shopping at Christchuch? Buying winter clothes, groceries shopping etc.

2) Where did you stay? Want to find a budget motel for me and my gf

Shopping is not much, but if you want shopping for clothings, you can go to their outlets, Dress Smart (409 Main South Road, Hornby) http://www.dress-smart.co.nz/index.php/page/homepage

many shops in one places and I am sure you can find something you like. For groceries I go to this place call Riccarton Mall where there is a big supermarket and some shopping too. 129 RICCARTON RD - RICCARTON MALL and I stayed in a motel nearby this shopping mall http://www.christchurch-hotel.com ( Riccarton Village Inn - 106 Mandeville St, Riccarton - 3-348-5049)

Pretty good price.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.