Car rental in Perth, Western Australia

chimpchimp

how abt bayswater? seen a lot of those cars around in perth. seems a very popular choice of company to rent car from.

shingo1

i'm guessing i'm bending towards bayswater for my rental in Sept liao..
anyway, can someone advise, how do the parking in AU works?

coupons, fuels? as my plan will be driving across to hyden, coming down to albany, across to margaret river, up Bunbury and last back to Perth..

shingo1

can anyone who used bayswater rental be4 advise..
what does standard cover and top cover damage policies cover?

i cant find the info

Calblee

My humble 2 cents worth from my last 15 trips to Perth, WA.

Rent from Bayswater (No birds. haha) - Cheapest and most value for money. Their entire fleet is Toyota Corolla or Yaris-equivalent. But book in advance for better rates and availability. The entire fleet of cars were booked out on my last trip in Dec 2009 during X'mas.

Rent from M2000 - 2nd cheapest and the chain is being run by an asian family who hires a lot of asian students. Easy to communicate. I paid more for a 2 litre Kia Cerato (Black) new car to avoid all the unnecessary hassle of breakdown. 2nd driver with a car mileage of 1200 km clocked when i rented it.

Driving in WA is very enjoyable. Petrol is not as expensive, drivers are very courteous and safe, roads for excellent for straight-line warriors. A lot of pitstops along the way.

I drove to Busselton, rented a place and basically camped out from my base to every part of the southern WA for the next 7 days. Busselton - all the wineries and nearby places/off the road beaches and etc.

To be safe, it is also good to have a GPS and a comprehensive car insurance to protect yourself. Rent a GPS if you need one. Otherwise, just buy 1 from the megamall for AUD105. I think the aussie brand is called Tomtom.

Interesting bit - On the way back, i made a wrong turn off the highway back to Perth and took a very freaking long winding road back via the countryside. Turned out to be a really beautiful and quiet drive between my OC and I. Accidentally passed by the Harvey Orange orchards and farms too.

Drive safe and don't bring the singaporean attitude to aussie!

Calblee

Forgot to mention that M2000 and Bayswater are situated at a few places in central and south perth. They are not based at the airport.

For renting cars directly from airport, Hertz and Avis are the popular and well-established choices.

Cab from airport to city is about AUD55-AUD70 one way.

enrell69

thinking of going to australia since the AUD is quite weak against SGD. perth seems a good choice..any nice places ard perth? im thinking of 2 weeks, me and my mum.

hows the stuffs over there? food, basic necessities etc..im definitely be driving ard...

chimpchimp

do a road trip to the south. at this time of the year, it shdnt be too cold alr and perhaps some spring flowers should sprout. the weather shd also be more fine ie. less rainy days. allocate about 4 days to cover margaret river and albany. good for ur mum too.

food is double price than sg, but portion is double bigger. try some malaysian zichar, most are better than sg's. for cheap but huge burgers, Jus Burgers at Leederville. for churros and hot choc, Chocolateria San Churro at Fremantle or Subiaco. for fish and chips, try Kaili's at Fremantle, the nearby competitor Cicerello's is over-rated. for steak, try Outback Jack's, be sure to order medium rare.

be sure to buy back the australian milo, it's nicer than sg milo and i think cheaper.

scwarczkopf shampoo also buy back, sg cannot find.

buy back eucalyptus-scented tissue paper, good for sinus.

tt's all i can think of...

enrell69

do a road trip to the south. at this time of the year, it shdnt be too cold alr and perhaps some spring flowers should sprout. the weather shd also be more fine ie. less rainy days. allocate about 4 days to cover margaret river and albany. good for ur mum too.

food is double price than sg, but portion is double bigger. try some malaysian zichar, most are better than sg's. for cheap but huge burgers, Jus Burgers at Leederville. for churros and hot choc, Chocolateria San Churro at Fremantle or Subiaco. for fish and chips, try Kaili's at Fremantle, the nearby competitor Cicerello's is over-rated. for steak, try Outback Jack's, be sure to order medium rare.

be sure to buy back the australian milo, it's nicer than sg milo and i think cheaper.

scwarczkopf shampoo also buy back, sg cannot find.

buy back eucalyptus-scented tissue paper, good for sinus.

tt's all i can think of...
budget-wise?? accomodation? any recommendations?

chimpchimp

bring abt 2.5k to spend on u and ur mum. credit card shd bring also, helps a lot in booking accommodation because there are some that do not accept cash. cant help u with accommodation part but i can list the places that i stayed in.

perth city: criterion hotel (2nd cheapest hotel in the city and along the same street as hay street mall, very very near)

margaret river: bridgefield guesthouse (very charming and no. 1 favourite countryside accommodation)

pls note that these are the cheapest yet good/satisfactory quality accommodation.

chimpchimp

but take note that i did not spend all the 2.5k, still got a lot remaining leftover because im not the type to buy branded stuff or wat, i just buy stuff that cant find in sg.

cj-perth

thinking of going to australia since the AUD is quite weak against SGD. perth seems a good choice..any nice places ard perth? im thinking of 2 weeks, me and my mum.

hows the stuffs over there? food, basic necessities etc..im definitely be driving ard...
G'Day enrell69 - Just joined the forum (since I'm seeking info re: travel from Sing up to KL or even Penang enroute to BKK) and thought I should help someone else before I start asking questions of others :)
I've lived here in WA for the past 30 yrs (originally from UK) and Perth certainly is a nice spot with a good range of diverse things to see/do. Don't know what age your mother is (whether able and fit to see places on foot or whatever); what your interests are, or how much ground you want to cover in the proposed 2 wks. Can I suggest three reliable web sites that give accurate info:

http://www.bcl.com.au/perth/wotson.htm
http://www.westernaustralia.com/au/Things_to_See_and_Do/Must_See_and_Do/Pages/Must_See_And_Do.aspx
http://www.perthtouristcentre.com.au/

Personally I would look at seeing more of WA than just Perth. Remember that there's only just on one million population in Perth and you can get round all the sites reasonably easy (especially if you hire a car .... nb: all refs to bayswater hire and M2000 are accurate - I've used b/w a number of times over the years and they are a good value company). Road systems here are good [compared to Syd/Melb or UK!!] - no tolls; freeways linking nth to sth and good signage.

Look at spending a couple of days at least down south - Margaret River and the timber country of the south west (manjimup/nannup etc). Good food/wine area. Busselton has some good resorts and is handy for accessing the s/west area. Wildflowers will just be starting to come out from Sept/Oct - can be quite spectacular.

The city is a beaut place to visit - there are free transport modes around the city (eg, 'tram' which is a bus dressed up like a tram ... runs from the casino to the city and up to kings park; CAT bus service - a number of routes around city).
Just use common sense of places to go at night - 'northbridge' nightclubs, asian influence for eating ... can get roudy - but safe if not treading the streets at 2am when the clubs come out.

Hope this gives you some ideas. We are a fairly relaxed lot of here ... Hope if you come you'll have a good time. Feel free to ask me specific questions if you wish. Chris.

cj-perth

Forgot to mention that M2000 and Bayswater are situated at a few places in central and south perth. They are not based at the airport.

For renting cars directly from airport, Hertz and Avis are the popular and well-established choices.

Cab from airport to city is about AUD55-AUD70 one way.
Good Grief !!!

I don't like the idea of travelling and 'getting done' just because I'm obviously a visitor in another country... Since I live here in Perth I'm staggered when you mentioned the fare to the airport. Thats about 3 times the amount it should be.
You'll get a limo for just a little more.
See:
http://www.lookatwa.com.au/Transport/taxis.html

The ride from the international airport to the city is approximately thirty minutes, and costs around $20.00 - $26.00.

Calblee

hi cj,

i think i got ripped off.

from the airport to holiday inn - i spent aud53 fares plus aud7 tips (nov 2009)

from the airport to marque hotel - i spent aud66 fares plus aud4 tips (dec 2009)

then again, it is based on meter and i hopped onboard the cab from the stand at the airport.

Calblee

Good Grief !!!

I don't like the idea of travelling and 'getting done' just because I'm obviously a visitor in another country... Since I live here in Perth I'm staggered when you mentioned the fare to the airport. Thats about 3 times the amount it should be.
You'll get a limo for just a little more.
See:
http://www.lookatwa.com.au/Transport/taxis.html

The ride from the international airport to the city is approximately thirty minutes, and costs around $20.00 - $26.00.

btw cj-perth, any chance that you dispense some good advice on sydney at the other thread. haha

BanGzi

lol wow seems like the cab driver brought you on a lil tour of perth

i pay bout 30 usually, 40 if its a bigger cab (maxi)

enrell69

G'Day enrell69 - Just joined the forum (since I'm seeking info re: travel from Sing up to KL or even Penang enroute to BKK) and thought I should help someone else before I start asking questions of others :)
I've lived here in WA for the past 30 yrs (originally from UK) and Perth certainly is a nice spot with a good range of diverse things to see/do. Don't know what age your mother is (whether able and fit to see places on foot or whatever); what your interests are, or how much ground you want to cover in the proposed 2 wks. Can I suggest three reliable web sites that give accurate info:

http://www.bcl.com.au/perth/wotson.htm
http://www.westernaustralia.com/au/Things_to_See_and_Do/Must_See_and_Do/Pages/Must_See_And_Do.aspx
http://www.perthtouristcentre.com.au/

Personally I would look at seeing more of WA than just Perth. Remember that there's only just on one million population in Perth and you can get round all the sites reasonably easy (especially if you hire a car .... nb: all refs to bayswater hire and M2000 are accurate - I've used b/w a number of times over the years and they are a good value company). Road systems here are good [compared to Syd/Melb or UK!!] - no tolls; freeways linking nth to sth and good signage.

Look at spending a couple of days at least down south - Margaret River and the timber country of the south west (manjimup/nannup etc). Good food/wine area. Busselton has some good resorts and is handy for accessing the s/west area. Wildflowers will just be starting to come out from Sept/Oct - can be quite spectacular.

The city is a beaut place to visit - there are free transport modes around the city (eg, 'tram' which is a bus dressed up like a tram ... runs from the casino to the city and up to kings park; CAT bus service - a number of routes around city).
Just use common sense of places to go at night - 'northbridge' nightclubs, asian influence for eating ... can get roudy - but safe if not treading the streets at 2am when the clubs come out.

Hope this gives you some ideas. We are a fairly relaxed lot of here ... Hope if you come you'll have a good time. Feel free to ask me specific questions if you wish. Chris.
hi cj

tanx for the advice...

my mum is abt 60..we like to go for nature sightseeing, mountains, beachers and all that..im not much a city-person ie its the same as singapore, so i wont spend much time in perth if i can help it.

i will checkout margaret river since it was also recommended by another forumer.

ive visited bayswater website and indeed the rates r much cheapere compared to hertz or m2000 but seems like they have only corollas in their fleet...

chimpchimp

hi cj

tanx for the advice...

my mum is abt 60..we like to go for nature sightseeing, mountains, beachers and all that..im not much a city-person ie its the same as singapore, so i wont spend much time in perth if i can help it.

i will checkout margaret river since it was also recommended by another forumer.

ive visited bayswater website and indeed the rates r much cheapere compared to hertz or m2000 but seems like they have only corollas in their fleet...
dun worry, the corolla hatchbacks are chio looking and they look quite new too.. they seem to be steady as well.. yeaps and not just margaret river, visit augusta, pemberton and albany (if u have the time since it's quite far away at the southern tip of WA).

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.