EDMW Knife Collectors

Lonerider

Annual Maintenance...

Time for annual maintenance of my collection. Annual maintenance mean cleaning, re-oiling and inspection of my knives. I do a headcount and take stock of their present market value. Start with medium sized Spydies first. It's going to take a few days to sort through everything.

img0559ky.jpg

Mad about the Manix... Well, not all of them, for some reason the Moonglow version doesn't turn me on... the hollow ground models too except for the pink ones.

img0560n.jpg

Total 16 excluding one original version in large. I should have gotten more blues and oranges. The house move was a real pain. my knives are all over the place and it's been a month and we still have not completed unpacking. Some of these will be going to eBay to fund new knives. With the USD the way it is it's a good time to buy. I'm finally getting a custom display case for my knives after much haggling with the missus. Currently awaiting quotations.

viix

Always a pleasure to see your collection of knife porn! Looking forward to your showcase in the upcoming threads! All the best with your unpacking too! Hope we get first dibs on any piece you plan to sell before you list them on eBay lol!

slayergut

Time for annual maintenance of my collection. Annual maintenance mean cleaning, re-oiling and inspection of my knives. I do a headcount and take stock of their present market value. Start with medium sized Spydies first. It's going to take a few days to sort through everything.

img0559ky.jpg

Mad about the Manix... Well, not all of them, for some reason the Moonglow version doesn't turn me on... the hollow ground models too except for the pink ones.

img0560n.jpg

Total 16 excluding one original version in large. I should have gotten more blues and oranges. The house move was a real pain. my knives are all over the place and it's been a month and we still have not completed unpacking. Some of these will be going to eBay to fund new knives. With the USD the way it is it's a good time to buy. I'm finally getting a custom display case for my knives after much haggling with the missus. Currently awaiting quotations.

Manix Maniac!

kaapuii

img0559ky.jpg

img0560n.jpg

Bro, if you want to sell let us have the privilege to have the offer before put on eBay leh. I don't have any Manix in my collection...yet.
Anyway, it's nice to see your posts again. I've read alot of your past posts on this thread and learned quite alot from you and some of the guys here.

kaapuii

My package so many days hvn't arrive. Knifworks the Express Mail
like not so express man.

Frozenboiboi

I guess it depends on weather conditions. Sometimes the shipment knifeworks use arrive very fast. Occassionaly it can take up to 2 weeks.

kaapuii

I guess it depends on weather conditions. Sometimes the shipment knifeworks use arrive very fast. Occassionaly it can take up to 2 weeks.

Wah boring lah lidat. No diff frm USPS First Class. Cos it normally arrive
Within 7-9 days...and juz USD12. Knn eh. Pek chek man.

slayergut

Wah boring lah lidat. No diff frm USPS First Class. Cos it normally arrive
Within 7-9 days...and juz USD12. Knn eh. Pek chek man.

If first class hit bad weather condition...GG liao..haha anyway first class no tracking and not insured. Knifeworks is expensive but they include full insurance and tracking.

viix

This thread recently like very quiet hor. How come ah?

Knife not cheap, I not elite.. cannot every week buy new knife and post peekture. :o plus besides knife, I'm sure we all have other knife & tool related hobbies too..

Lonerider

Bro, if you want to sell let us have the privilege to have the offer before put on eBay leh. I don't have any Manix in my collection...yet.
Anyway, it's nice to see your posts again. I've read a lot of your past posts on this thread and learned quite a lot from you and some of the guys here.

It's not that i don't want to give you guys first dibs but I'm selling for a profit... It's the only way I can get myself new knives. Like what someone said... Not elite mah. I used to buy 1-2 knives a month but I've slowed down a bit and I'm trying to consolidate my collection and be more focused on what I collect.

After the recent annual stock count (haven't completed maintenance work yet) I've realised my collection has exceeded 70 knives. I've set a maximum of 100 knives at any one time to be in my collection (excluding users). Current knives in the user roll is 5. Now some may say I'm hoarding and scream "drawer queens" but let's face it... my 3 year old Dragonfly fit's the bill for most of my EDC needs and I'm a bloody school teacher! LOL! It's about as big as a knife as I'd ever dare to pull out in front of the kids and I've done so plenty of times in the lab and during field trips.

Recently I've noticed a lot of slow downs in package arrival... Don't know what is up but I know it is not due to SingPost. At a minimum try to insist on 1st class priority international. I've had packages lost in transit when using 1st class which is basically the cheapest way of shipping.

Anyone had issues like being checked for knives lately? Might be worth of a discussion.

kaapuii

It's not that i don't want to give you guys first dibs but I'm selling for a profit... It's the only way I can get myself new knives. Like what someone said... Not elite mah. I used to buy 1-2 knives a month but I've slowed down a bit and I'm trying to consolidate my collection and be more focused on what I collect.

After the recent annual stock count (haven't completed maintenance work yet) I've realised my collection has exceeded 70 knives. I've set a maximum of 100 knives at any one time to be in my collection (excluding users). Current knives in the user roll is 5. Now some may say I'm hoarding and scream "drawer queens" but let's face it... my 3 year old Dragonfly fit's the bill for most of my EDC needs and I'm a bloody school teacher! LOL! It's about as big as a knife as I'd ever dare to pull out in front of the kids and I've done so plenty of times in the lab and during field trips.

Recently I've noticed a lot of slow downs in package arrival... Don't know what is up but I know it is not due to SingPost. At a minimum try to insist on 1st class priority international. I've had packages lost in transit when using 1st class which is basically the cheapest way of shipping.

Anyone had issues like being checked for knives lately? Might be worth of a discussion.

Wah...u really got alot in your collections. I guess the guys here can understand your plight. And most if not all here are not elite man. Hahahaha...

By the way just a qn. For those blades that we bought online, how to we show proof of purchase when we bring to overseas for use like Malaysia? Coming back will be a problem man even when you drive and they find a folder.
And let's say we bring to Ubin, they scan bags these days and will surely stop you when they see a knife, though we bring it for camping. From what I know, they will ask for proof of purchase and cannot be more than 3 inch blade right?

kaapuii

Knife not cheap, I not elite.. cannot every week buy new knife and post peekture. :o plus besides knife, I'm sure we all have other knife & tool related hobbies too..

Hahaha...same here man. Not elite either. So many nice folders that interest me. But so limited the number I can afford to buy. At times even got to refrain myself from going to those websites to take look at new models available. Cos will surely end up buay tahan then go click "one or two", and tell myself "that is all for this round".

Lonerider

Wah...u really got alot in your collections. I guess the guys here can understand your plight. And most if not all here are not elite man. Hahahaha...

By the way just a qn. For those blades that we bought online, how to we show proof of purchase when we bring to overseas for use like Malaysia? Coming back will be a problem man even when you drive and they find a folder.
And let's say we bring to Ubin, they scan bags these days and will surely stop you when they see a knife, though we bring it for camping. From what I know, they will ask for proof of purchase and cannot be more than 3 inch blade right?

I always print or/and save my PayPal transactions so that I'll always have a record of how much each knife costs and proof of purchase. Any knives received at ICA Parcel Dept. and Cantonment AED I'll file away the documentation. I've not had any issues using my PayPal invoices as let's face it the bulk of civil servant's don't know their work too well and I know this as I've been one since I left school.

Ubin I've no issues as I used to be in the PCG for almost 10 years and the officers on Ubin have no issues with knives. Officers at Changi Point ferry terminal are NOT police officers but Cisco officers. I declare my knife AND place it along with the contents of my pockets into the tray BEFORE they scan my pack. So far no one has given me grief. The law is on your side, you have a knife with lawful intent and purpose. They can pry it out of my cold dead hands... That or the threat of a call to a supervisor is usually enough. That said, the biggest knife I carry is an Endura and I've never needed to carry anything larger. Planning your route early and finding alternative routes negates the need for a parang which is overkill in most circumstances. I fish often so that is my lawful purpose. I use my knife often at work and my colleagues and students are my witnesses. Cover your bases in other words.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.