Lao Jiao fall in, checking MR criteria

whatz_triz

MINDEF website quoted that 'MINDEF Reserve consists of NSmen who have completed their NS training cycle but have yet to reach the statutory age. They are no longer called back for In-Camp Training (ICT) but are still liable for NS'.

NSmen who step down from their unit are no longer called back for In-Camp Training (ICT) by their unit cause they are no longer part of the unit. They are now in MINDEF Reserve (MR) List.

Those who ORD & went overseas to study are under MINDEF Reserve (MR) List.

Since it is a Reserve List, anyone can dig them out for NS liable as long as they are not reach the statutory age such as those who went overseas for studies.

I maybe wrong.

But I know a diver who inform me that all diver including himself have MR & step down after their 5th ICT. However got one time, he kena SAF100 asking him to report back to unit. Turn out he really needs to serve his NS even he have MR but he did not needs to attend IPPT every year like ROVER.

Not sure if he smoke me or not but I do not see the point he smoke me.

Any diver can confirm this?

hello, those who ord already go study and those already completed their ict cycles of course different lah....those who go study after their ord definitely hv to serve their remaining ict liabilities after their studies. those who MR after completing their ict cycles what for mindef ask them go back again for ict? i'm really in doubt of your NS knowledge.
MR after 5 ict? unless he is already 40 yr old after his 5th ict or he got medical/health problem, if not only naive people believe and you are definitely being smoked by him.

NMSS_2

talking about MR.

Sorry, you are ineligible for IPPT due to Type of Service (e.g MINDEF Reserve or NS Disruption).

Please check with your UNIT for further clarification and verification on your IPPT/RT/IPPT Prep Trg eligibility.

You may also contact our eServices Centre for assistance.

Am i now on MR? Tried to take ippt again for free money but wasnt allow to do so. :(
Haben receive my letter yet leh.

ntucfairprice

I know. So bo bian but to "tong" till 40 lor.

i dun mind going ICT till 40, but just because cannot MR, every year have to take IPPT, if pass is ok, if fail then always have to RT till age 40, which is very the SIAN!! and waste time.

ICT is ok for me but IPPT is sh!t

whatz_triz

i dun mind going ICT till 40, but just because cannot MR, every year have to take IPPT, if pass is ok, if fail then always have to RT till age 40, which is very the SIAN!! and waste time.

:s13::s13::s13:....bo bian.
Anyway I kindda miss ICT, can take a break away from work and still get paid. Now MR liao is all work and work and work...........more sian

ntucfairprice

Anyway I kindda miss ICT, can take a break away from work and still get paid. Now MR liao is all work and work and work...........more sian

Ya, I totally agree with you. Actually I am looking forward to every ICT/Reservist and hope that the SAF100 is at least 3 weeks ICT. Can get away from 'Saikang' work and relax in ICT and get paid. I really dun mind if mindef/SAF activate me for ICT for a maximum of total 40 days per year. I would be more happy to do the ICT.

Yes work n work is very sian. I personally feel that I can totally relax in the camp and sleep very well in the duration of ICT. When go back to work, would feel very sian, and everyday can't sleep well, or sleep with stress think what saikang will be there the next day!! Totally sian!

1 more thing, serve ICT got higher tax rebate than those not serving ICT for that year.:yawn::yawn:

cct75

They don't call you back for ICT loh (then they no need to pay you make-up pay for ICT), and hold you until 40years old :s13:. Every year make you take IPPT until you reach 40years old.
IPPT/RT at most you get paid around $10+ per session :s13:.

Well, I am waiting to see what is going to happened the next 3+ years before I turned 40 :s13:

cct75

If you get your Watch mean you have already MR. You can check with your unit regrading this.

Got watch mean I MR? I got it on my 7th High Key wor. I still "owe" SAF 2 Low Keys. I have checked with my unit and they said still have to wait lor. :(

When I tried to argue with them with the fact that it's unit dun have low keys anymore and not I defer them yet nothing much I can do right?

cct75

Same for me, I dun mind even extending ICT beyond 40 since my ICT are usually very easy one and ocassionally (so far only) free ROC (Gao Shiung) trip and can get out of work and rest for a while.

IPPT/E-IPT/RTs are the thing that bother us.

cct75

As I mentioned, it's not ICT I am worry about.. I want MR coz I dun wanna IPPT/E-IPT/RT every year.

I am from Navy and I am from CR squandron which means I am on-board Navy-leased Merchant Ship and the Ship has her own crews. My vocation is a Mechanic. And we are there for at most 2-3 weeks. Those Engineers on board would not let us touch much unless really need our help or if we make things worse, we leave 2-3 weeks later and they got to clear the "mess" we might have left behind.

For me, ICT is a relaxing event. Even if local ICT, there bound to be at least a 1 night "International Cruise to Nowhere (South China Sea)" unless the Ship is in bad condition and cannot sail which happened once so far.

THFC78

hahaha, yeah it totally **** for those who are liable for IPPT and can't pass it. Afew of my reservist mate in the end throw money to get specialist letter and go for downgrade to excuse IPPT.....

THFC78

But I know a diver who inform me that all diver including himself have MR & step down after their 5th ICT. However got one time, he kena SAF100 asking him to report back to unit. Turn out he really needs to serve his NS even he have MR but he did not needs to attend IPPT every year like ROVER.

Not sure if he smoke me or not but I do not see the point he smoke me.

Any diver can confirm this?

During my time, elite forces of the SAF, Navy Divers and Commandos, only do a 5 cycle ICT. After that they will stand down.Not sure if this has change. As for the part wheather they will get call back or not, i guess it depend on their unit.

reddevil0728

During my time, elite forces of the SAF, Navy Divers and Commandos, only do a 5 cycle ICT. After that they will stand down.Not sure if this has change. As for the part wheather they will get call back or not, i guess it depend on their unit.
cdos i heard either 5 or 7 years. depends on which intake u r in the year.

getsby

anyway ICT is good, better than working. Can relax in camp/like the annual campmate gathering. I dun mind doing ICT till retirement age like 55age.

I can pass IPPT every year, but I also find it a hastle to train and pass IPPT. Those who fail lagi worst, kanna IPT/RT...

That why I also ask all my friends dun defer ICT, try to clear as many cycle as possible to MR earlier. Better than u MR late or must wait till age 40. If u can pass IPPT is ok, but those cannot pass IPPT one must do RT/IPT till age 40...sure sibei sian one, that why i urge all nsmen to clear all cycles as fast as possible, pls dun defer.

I went for all my ICTs, never defer b4, well in year 2014 is my last/10th ICT, and I will MR at age 32. = no more IPPT ....sibei song

cct75

anyway ICT is good, better than working. Can relax in camp/like the annual campmate gathering. I dun mind doing ICT till retirement age like 55age.

I can pass IPPT every year, but I also find it a hastle to train and pass IPPT. Those who fail lagi worst, kanna IPT/RT...

That why I also ask all my friends dun defer ICT, try to clear as many cycle as possible to MR earlier. Better than u MR late or must wait till age 40. If u can pass IPPT is ok, but those cannot pass IPPT one must do RT/IPT till age 40...sure sibei sian one, that why i urge all nsmen to clear all cycles as fast as possible, pls dun defer.

I went for all my ICTs, never defer b4, well in year 2014 is my last/10th ICT, and I will MR at age 32. = no more IPPT ....sibei song

Good for you but if ur unit is like mine and dun have LK for me to fulfil the 2 missing LKs, you might have to use HK to fill them up. If your unit is active and calls u back every year for ICT, sure you can have a chance to MR early once u hit the 7+3 cycle. However, my unit already from the previous call-up for ICT every 18 months now to every 30 months .... it would be draggy.

derrickgoh

In order to go MR, either you wait till you are 40 years old (50 for occifers) or you finish 10 ICTs. These 10 ICTs must comprise of AT LEAST 7 high key.

So if you are lucky it will be 7 high + 3 low key. Not so lucky you may kena 8 high + 2 low key. If damn sway then maybe even 9 high + 1 low key or even all 10 high key. Remember, SAF said 10 ICT with MINIMUM 7 high. They never said maximum!

Just like last time it was 13 years ICT with MINIMUM 10 high but there were some sway and kena all 13 high.

Now every body knows its 10 ICTs but problem is, no one knows whether it is 10 ICTs or 10 year's worth of ICT. There IS a difference. Because if it is 10 years' of ICT, then if you sway and kena 2 ICTs in one year, its still considered 1 year's worth of ICT.

You should get your orange medal on the last day of your 5th ICT. That shows you are half way there. And on the last day of your 10th ICT you should get the red medal and the watch. They should send you a MR letter shortly after. That is when you can say you are a free man.

If after 10 ICTs and no MR letter, better call and ask. Either cock up or the way they count is different and you still owe 1 year.

BTW if by chance you kena 6 high key and 4 low key, if you are ******* sway you may get called back for 1 more high key. After all, its supposed to be MINIMUM 7 high. I heard of one guy who kena this sh*t so his was 11 ICTs.

echeong

Juz a update to my situation. I tried to book my RT but encountered "status not found" error. Hotline directed my unit (6 Div) to call me. Turned out my status in system changed to MR, that's why couldn't book RT. But the clerk dunno why I dun have my MR cert. One of my friend went to his MP, Teo Chee Hin and gotten his MR cert immediately. Based on this, think most likely CO held back most of our MR cert (well over 100 people) as the unit is only supposed to stand down next yr and he dun wan his unit strength to be reduced at the MR parade. Joker sabo us just to make his unit look nice on MR parade.

naruto13

Juz a update to my situation. I tried to book my RT but encountered "status not found" error. Hotline directed my unit (6 Div) to call me. Turned out my status in system changed to MR, that's why couldn't book RT. But the clerk dunno why I dun have my MR cert. One of my friend went to his MP, Teo Chee Hin and gotten his MR cert immediately. Based on this, think most likely CO held back most of our MR cert (well over 100 people) as the unit is only supposed to stand down next yr and he dun wan his unit strength to be reduced at the MR parade. Joker sabo us just to make his unit look nice on MR parade.

guess MP is effective against army issue.

whatz_triz

IIRC, my MR cert was issued to me during the MR parade.

cct75

In order to go MR, either you wait till you are 40 years old (50 for occifers) or you finish 10 ICTs. These 10 ICTs must comprise of AT LEAST 7 high key.

So if you are lucky it will be 7 high + 3 low key. Not so lucky you may kena 8 high + 2 low key. If damn sway then maybe even 9 high + 1 low key or even all 10 high key. Remember, SAF said 10 ICT with MINIMUM 7 high. They never said maximum!

Just like last time it was 13 years ICT with MINIMUM 10 high but there were some sway and kena all 13 high.

Now every body knows its 10 ICTs but problem is, no one knows whether it is 10 ICTs or 10 year's worth of ICT. There IS a difference. Because if it is 10 years' of ICT, then if you sway and kena 2 ICTs in one year, its still considered 1 year's worth of ICT.

You should get your orange medal on the last day of your 5th ICT. That shows you are half way there. And on the last day of your 10th ICT you should get the red medal and the watch. They should send you a MR letter shortly after. That is when you can say you are a free man.

If after 10 ICTs and no MR letter, better call and ask. Either cock up or the way they count is different and you still owe 1 year.

BTW if by chance you kena 6 high key and 4 low key, if you are ******* sway you may get called back for 1 more high key. After all, its supposed to be MINIMUM 7 high. I heard of one guy who kena this sh*t so his was 11 ICTs.

For me, I do not mind serving High Keys even beyond 10 only if I do not have to fulfill further IPPT/IPT/RT commitments.

As for the Orange Medal, my unit was so cock-up that they even tried to award me a 2nd one after I already received one previous ICT. So 2 x Orange = 10 years right? :s13:

Between, the Hamilton watch isn't worth much cost no resale value anyway :p

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.