Signal Operator @ Signal Institute

d4rkm4st3r

After OOC from driving course, I got revocated as signaller.

Anyone got idea what type of training will be conducted during the course?

Heard that there will be 72km route march with signal set. Is it true?

And where is Signal Institute?

Also, my encik told me I will be in IC2. Dun really know what is that though.

Any signaller can share their views and experience?

naruto13

whats ur pes anyway?

last time IC2 have road march, but i think once only during course.
IC2 aka chiong sua signaller, depend what u do in unit too.

IS course then dun have as majorly all non IPPT eligible, so those pes a/b lucky to get in.

as for unit life will depend on the unit.

driver is support, yet u get OOC n throw to signal which is combat support?
up pes or down pes?
up pes also remain same vocation for some, u suay lei.

d4rkm4st3r

I pes b2l3.

Upper limb excuse.

Dunno why gimme this vocation. I combat driver in air defence but OOC. Now kana signaller and most probably IC2.

Somemore I got knee problem which I will be having a specialist checkup at NUH soon.

If really chiong sua then I choot sua liao.

naruto13

its call chiong sua signaller, but how does one define chiong sua will depend on unit mah.

for that cant answer u, not in combat unit nor been a ic2 chiong sua signaller.

d4rkm4st3r

I believe my unit signaller not chiong sua.

I only wanna know how's the training like cos I may be unfit to march and all those due to my knee injury which I haven't go for check up but going soon.

naruto13

oo ur posted to unit as signaller first then u will know what ur unit does.
not so bad then.

all along quite slack, but many years have pass.

d4rkm4st3r

Hope so. But the course got pass and fail one right? Was wondering if I required to be physically fit for the marches and stuff then if I'm excuse then I might fail the course.

Cos I believe I have to carry a signal set and march which I have shoulder injury and specialist says I can't carry heavyload and now knee injury.

naruto13

think u better go do a FFI from ur MO to see if ur fit for the course or not.

or if not report sick to ask him if ur condition suitable for the course lo.

d4rkm4st3r

I have to go for my knee checkup and see what the specialist says. If I'm excuse from rmj then I think high chance I will drop pes since I'm already excuse upper limb.

Btw, my specialist from NUH says that I'm excused ippt, upper limb and weapon handling. Plus my knee I think I really is cmi soldier.

coutuser

Ic2 infocom communication That why b2 can go. Kranji

naruto13

base on 08 intake, signal course for men got 3type.

IC2, IC1, IS.
in layman term :
IC2 : chiong sua, front line signaller. like those combat unit who function as a signaller too. so posting can be any unit.
IC1 : middle of IC2 and IS.
IS : more towards computer base signaller. function depend on unit.
fpr me, posted out to institute as signaller, basically lobo on most time, more like a admin signaller. but there are unit who take in IS trained, what they do i got no clue because i think they are active, like signal unit in stagmont camp.

d4rkm4st3r

Oh. Thanks for the info.

From the letter, it says that I'm going to be signal operator and my course will be at the Signal Institute. Never say its Stagmont camp but I guess its there.

And they never say I will be in what IC. My course will start on 16 jan 2012. That's all the info I have for now.

When then I know I will be which type of signaller?

d4rkm4st3r

Oh and another question.

Does all signallers go through the same training? Or different IC different training aspect?

naruto13

Oh. Thanks for the info.

From the letter, it says that I'm going to be signal operator and my course will be at the Signal Institute. Never say its Stagmont camp but I guess its there.

And they never say I will be in what IC. My course will start on 16 jan 2012. That's all the info I have for now.

When then I know I will be which type of signaller?

last time all go liao then know which course.
everyone letter will put IC2.
because majority come from tekong mah.

for unit posted, just see what type of signaller is in ur unit and u will go same course. because after u finish u will go back unit.
unless ur still in driver unit and not signal unit.

naruto13

Oh and another question.

Does all signallers go through the same training? Or different IC different training aspect?

its just like tekong pes A/B, pes C course lo.

IC2 , IC1, IS lo. all 3 will have different slight variation. (provided course type is not change yet)

IC2 will have the most platoon base on last time because majority is pes A/B and can be posted to any unit in sg.

d4rkm4st3r

Ohh. Ok understood liao.

I guess I will know during the course breif this coming wednesday. Thanks for the help!

naruto13

Ohh. Ok understood liao.

I guess I will know during the course breif this coming wednesday. Thanks for the help!

if u have a unit, u will just go to the same course as ur current batch of signaller in ur unit.
else if ur still in ur driver unit lobo, then will depend what course n post to which unit.

sheng1990

72km route march only for signal officers, during EX STARLIGHT. My memory of IC2 course only has 16km route march, just before the passing out parade. Stagmont camp training is very shiok, even for signal officer cadet course. Training is usually mentally taxing, seldom physical. Gotta tahan the fatigue level through sleepless nights for the exercises.

If you get posted to a combat unit (where i'm in now), you'll be a combatant signaller i.e. CO signaller, S3 signaller. These appointments require you to undergo tactical movement just like during wartimes, so you gotta have a certain level of fitness. No doubt that it's the more xiong side of signaller, but compared to other support arms platoon, signallers are generally quite relaxed.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.