So, what happened to the CAD's investigation on City Harvest?

Haagen Diaz

https://groupsects.wordpress.com/2010/03/16/9-reasons-why-kong-hee-is-a-c-artist/

Lance (Groupsects) writes…

What’s so completely bizarre about Kong Hee’s view of the ‘super rich’ Jesus is that this prosperity gospeller completely contradicts other properity gospel preachers who misuse 2 Corinthians.

“You know how full of love and kindness our Lord Jesus Christ was. Though he was very rich, yet for your sakes he became poor, so that by his poverty he could make you rich.
2 Corinthians 8:9(NLT)”

They argue that Jesus was very poor (financially) so that you would become very rich (financially)

Yeap Chee Seng for example makes that case.

“While the Bible contains a lot of verses on the promise of prosperity, what makes the above verse so special is the writer Paul links the promise of prosperity with the Cross. When Jesus died at the Cross he has not only taken away all our sins, he took away all the consequences of our sins as well. He took all our poverty so that we can be rich!”

So Kong Hee has kind of built a heresy inside a heresy with his ‘super rich’ Jesus.

Here’s what a couple of former attenders of Kong Hee’s church say about the impact of his church’s teachings.

“I used to be in [Kong Hee's City Harvest Church]. So glad not in it anymore. They confused me. When I left the church for New Creation, my CG leader told all the members that i was backsliding and not to call me…no wonder they did not reply my msgs….some love. and ya…gotta question their stand on prosperity gospel: Whatabout those Chrsitians who lost all their material wealth and family for the sake of the gospel in third world nations? Are you saying they are not righteous b4 God? Seriously try to sell such gospel and you’ll fail. Besides, you can’t worship money n God at the same time. Being in CHC made me materialistic and made me belive that your self-worth is measured by your net worth!! I was released by such a thing after reading ‘Ten Things I wish Jesus Never Said’—good book. An on the subject on salvation: CHC claims that it is eternal but implies that you can lose it by works! Where in the Bible it says that! We are saved by grace not works, cos our works can NEVER measure up to God’s expectations ( read Romans). I felt so free after leaving. I used to be defensive when ppl criticise CHC, now I know the truth.

——-

I used to be there. They claim they’re not legalistic but they are. If I don’t dress well or I take pics in church during service, they say i not respecting God’s presence. If I let the leader know what I think of him, they will say I’m hurting God’ s anointed. If I don’t come to CG even for a day, they think my spiritual growth something wrong. If I skip church for one day, they’ll call and make sure I come the following week; if I refuse, they’ll refuse to put down the phone. If a leader or older member hurts me and I confront them, they’ll think up of whatever excuse to justify their actions. If I don’t tithe REGULARLY, they keep a record and confront you of your “disobedience”. If I don’t lift up my hands during praise and worship, they say I’m breaking God’s commandments. When I want to change church, they say “why and what for, our church is already the best!”. They say you cannot earn salvation through works but only based on having faith in Jesus, yet also say that a Christian can lose his/her salvation by sin (bad works). And when I left the church, they said I’m backsliding. I’m glad I found the truth in Jesus and had the courage to leave.”

A visit to Cash Harvest Cult

The descriptions are remarkably similar to what we’ve been hearing in Australia in the past week about another cult, Scientology.

Haagen Diaz

A church scandal in Singapore: Reaping what they sow | The Economist

THE city-state of Singapore likes to think of itself as squeaky clean, so the prosecution of a priest, no less, for corruption has caused a furore. On July 25th Kong Hee, pastor at City Harvest Church (CHC), and five others appeared in court on charges of misusing up to S$50m ($40m) of church money to fund the music career of Mr Kong’s flamboyant wife, Sun Ho. The case has divided Singapore’s fast-growing Christian community, which makes up about a fifth of the 5m population. It also worries those who see corruption as a growing problem.

The CHC is Singapore’s largest mega-church, with more than 30,000 members. Ms Ho helped to found the church and started singing as a way to broaden the church’s appeal: skimpy outfits and provocative gyrations helped. A decade ago she became a full-time pop singer. She has released several albums. Her home is a mansion in Hollywood Hills, California.

Mr Kong’s detractors are smug after years of wailing about the evils and excesses of the new mega-churches which, they claim, put entertainment before spirituality, Mammon before God. Mr Kong often prophesied that donations to the church would cause donors’ personal wealth to swell. Such a “prosperity gospel” exploits the materialist aspirations of young Singaporeans living in a society with more millionaires per head than almost any other.

Church members have closed ranks, claiming that they approve of their leaders’ spending (CHC’s building fund alone raised S$23m last year). They seem to have trusted Mr Kong to spend their money in any way he saw fit. Local activists also acknowledge that the church contributes much to the wider community. Still, the case has revealed a lack of accountability and transparency at religious organisations. Worshippers often place blind faith in their church leaders, showing little interest in where their tithes and donations go.

mgsten

Lah, winning is all the same as innocent, lor.
Winning means innocent and losing means guilty, lor. :)

Which side do you think will win?

12/12/12 saga? Hmm, are you referring to doomsday prophecy? I dun believe, hahaha. I heard 21/12/12 is actually doomsday, I still don't believe it. :)
I don't want doomsday to happen because otherwise we have no chance to know his other side of story. :) hahaha.

If KH is found to be guilty, what amount will he be expected to pay? :D Life imprisonment?

If he will be really imprisoned, I wonder what do the other inmates be doing in prison?

okay, if really wanna go by winning, need to know all the info and stories first mah. can't tell at the moment. also divine intervention can work both ways.

12/12/12 saga u don't know? dat palmer saga. chc saga more important to follow.

if guilty, kh probably hope 21/12/12 is eow but he knows a 3rd temple is needed 1st. as far as me know, wat temple? :s13: things might look like fulfilling the eod prophecies now but crucial things r not in place yet. aiya, it's another subject altogether.

based on watever is already out, they deserve watever come their way.

Haagen Diaz

Political Reason Why City Harvest Church Faces Financial Irregularities’ Charges? | Support Site for The Unemployed & Underemployed

The jury is still out there but manykSingaporeans have already nailed down the City Harvest Church’s (CHC) pastors as guilty until proven innocent.

It is the biggest fraud case faced by any charity or church to date and will probably keep the nation on its’ toes when they face up to the court in July.

Many Singaporeans are also sceptical that Kong Hee and his pastors will escape merely with just a fine as the amount misappropriated seems large – $50 million and the Criminal Affairs Department (CAD) hardly dares to fully investigate a mega church unless it has strong enough evidence to successfuly prosecute the wrongdoers.

We are ta,king about transferring church’s funds to sham investment vehicles purportedly to fund Sun Ho’s music career in the US even though the church has declared that nothing is lost through such transaction and no one has personally benefits from the transaction.

So far, no one single church has being brought to court before for any money-related scandal and how the Christian community reacts to the verdict will be crucial for the cordial religious harmony the country so proudly uphold all this while.

ur local churches are known to be very law-abiding and seldom does any pastor openly criticise the government from the pulpit or privately.

Of course, churches like Lighthous% has been brought to task before for criticisng other religions but it does not warrant a court case to be heard.

Moreover, Sun Ho’s music career is already shrouded in controversy for a long while as many Christians have questioned why the pastor’s wife – herself a pastor at CHC, dips to wearing revealing clothes and mixing with the world to try and save non-Christians.

CHCe27s infamous loud cries for regular tithing has also caused many worshippers to leave the church.

Christians have to tithe 10% of their income to the church and many churches have enforced this religiously so that their coffers are always overflowing.

CHC may be the first church in Singapore to allow Giro payment ofktithes – via their credit cards.

I remembered emptying my savings of close to $8000 – saved laboriously from my miserable $2500/month pay check – for a church expansion programme while worshopping with another mega church almost 15 years ago.

It seemed the right thing to do then and though I have no regrets, I am abit more careful now when churches start to preach too much on tithings and money.

Pastors will also use the slogan “Tithe so that God will return to you many fold%2r to persuade worshippers to tithe regularly.

If I want to tithe so that I can have a better return on my giving then I feel that there is some selfish belief on my part.

I would prefer to give out of love for my God and that the church needs my tithes in order to provide a place of worship for it’s flock.

I also want to ensure that my tithes go to the pastor and his family so that he has enough to eat and care for his young children.

If my tithes go to promoting someone’s music career or for any other purposes, I want to have fuller transparency on how this is done.

I have also known of some missionary friends who literally have to beg for money when they are abroad preaching the gospel.

Not many churches nowadays really provide enough support to missionaries slaving away in third world countries under harsh living conditions.

Moreover, how much I tithe and whether I should tithe regularly is something between God and me and I find that no one can force me to tithe or make me feel guilty if I didn’t tithe enough.

I also always wonder why mega churches with multi-million dollar reserves still want so much money in their coffers.

It is estimated that the weekly tithes collected at mega churches like CHC and New Creation Church could amount to a few million dollars base on the size of their congregation.

Both CHC and New Creation Church have a total combined worship congregation of 50,000 people alone.

The fancy cars that pastors drive and their luxurious condos that they stay in also make me wonder if the church needs my money – however little it is.

Sun Ho was rumoured to stay in a $28, 000/month luxurious mansion in Hollywood while she tried to use her worldly music to touch the world.

On a personal note, I have worshipped in one mega church before whose senior pastor drove a fanciful sports car and stayed in a penthouse.

He tried defending his luxuries in the pulpit stating that his wife is a top earner but it is difficult to reconcile with the fact that many ordinary worshippers try to tithe regularly to the church whereas pastors could live such a luxurious lifestyle.

Don’t get me wrong, I am all for pastors living comfortably and not to lead a poor man’s life but when you are caught with a sports car and penthouse lifestyle, tongues will wag a little and you have nothing much to defend about.

Many Christians I know also feel that after they have tithe they will totally allow the pastors to have full say in what to do with their money – however dubious it may be.

They felt that the pastors are answerable to God if there is anything amiss.

I believe that Christians ought to dig abit deeper on how their tithes are being used.

Surely not many people will know that $50 million of tithe money was transferred to sham investment fund at CHC.

What will they do if they know about such transaction?

There is a thin line drawn here between faith entrusted in God’s appointed people and financial irregularities.

I have always feel that there is alot of ambiguity in our financial system especially those that belongs to the charities. There are many loopholes that can be easily exploited if any charity wants to go out of line.

Moreover, any charities that are flushed with more than $10 million in reserves have this huge temptation to make better use of the money than let it sitting idle in the reserve bank. As for CHC, their reserves probably exceed $100 million.

The pastors implicated here might have manipulated a transaction out of the reserve thinking that it is alright and within the law whereas apparently it is perceived as a financial irregularity by the law.

I believe that it is tough for the group of CHC pastors to escape after reading through the charges thoroughly. Jail sentences are also expected to be meted out to the culprits if they are found guilty of the charges.

I have also met two friends who worshipped in CHC recently and they told me there is speculation that the church was implicated due to political reason!

They mentioned that the pastors did not try to befriend the government by inviting them for church events like what FCBC and NCC did and so the church could be perceived as anti-establishment.

I was shocked to hear of this speculation and reminded myself not to fuel this serious allegation further.

Nevertheless, it does make some sense to bring down a charismatic pastor of a mega-church especially if there is any perception that the leadership is seen as anti-establishment.

Our government is uncomfortable if a popular religious leader is seen as leaning too much to the left as whatever he says on the pulpit carries much weight.

I remembered how Senior Pastor Rick Seaward of Calvary Charismatics was knocked down when he preached from the pulpit many years ago calling Singapore to be a Christian nation.

He was severely criticised by the government in a White Paper report and thoroughly investigated by the home affairs ministry.

As religion is still a sensitive issue here, how the government tackles this financial irregularity case has massive implication on the whole Christian community.

More than 25% of the population here professes to believe in the Christian faith and the government does not want to allow the churches to develop a seige mentality that they are being targetted for persecution due to CHC alleged anti-establishment stance.

There is nothing in CHC church services suggesting such an allegation though.

However, the government will be cautious to go too hard on the church as the congregation consists of mostly Generation Y young people between the age of 21 to 35 years old – the group that the government has difficulty trying to reach out to and are seen as anti-establishment.

More worrying is the strong youth presence within the church as CHC has a effective youth outreach programme that touches many lives from those studying in the polytechnics and universities. They will cling on to every word that their charismatic pastor says and may even plunge into depression if their favourite pastors are found guilty and jailed.

Yet there is also another speculation surfacing that the church was persecuted because many government officers were recently hauled up by CPIB for sex and money corruption.

It is a good distraction tactic used very often by the government so that the population will not focus too much on its dirty linen.

As a Christian myself, I do not want to see any pastors being persecuted for any financial irregularities but the long arm of the law seems to have caught up with the mega-church this time.

I am keeping my fingers crossed that if there is any jail sentence imposed on the pastors, it will be minimal and used more as a deterrance than a punitive punishment.

Let us all forgive and move on…

Written by: Gilbert Goh

Haagen Diaz

okay, if really wanna go by winning, need to know all the info and stories first mah. can't tell at the moment. also divine intervention can work both ways.

12/12/12 saga u don't know? dat palmer saga. chc saga more important to follow.

if guilty, kh probably hope 21/12/12 is eow but he knows a 3rd temple is needed 1st. as far as me know, wat temple? :s13: things might look like fulfilling the eod prophecies now but crucial things r not in place yet. aiya, it's another subject altogether.

based on watever is already out, they deserve watever come their way.

Oh I see about Michael Palmer. He is a small fry. He is so silly to have an affair with other silly woman.

I absolutely agree with you that CHC saga is damn important to follow up as it is quite interesting to me.

Hmm...let's wait and see. I'm very sure that many others can't wait to see him jailed. As for me, I dunno but am very dying to hear his side of the story to see if it is good or not.

I think that other christians like John Fisherman will spot something in KH's claimed story.

I'm at least glad that KH's headlines keep us occupied for months. It's one of the best headlines as ever. :D

I wonder how is the reaction of CHC members if the verdict of KH will be out.

tomleo16

I prefer people spend time pointing to Jesus than talking about Churches or pastors on whether they are doing things right or wrong...think about it.

mgsten

Oh I see...

for me, me don't like to see ppl being taken for a ride. simple as dat.

but many times, me hv to leave with sadness because most of the times, ppl want to be taken for the ride. seen it here and everywhere. :s22:

Haagen Diaz

http://www.tremeritus.com/2012/12/07/chc-leader-to-hire-expensive-british-queens-counsel/

One of the City Harvest Church (CHC) leaders charged with conspiring to cheat the church of millions of dollars, is applying to hire an elite British lawyer – a Queen’s Counsel (QC) – to represent him.

52-year-old Chew Eng Han, the church’s investment manager, told the media that he is applying for a QC because he could not find a local Senior Counsel (SC) to represent him. QCs are specially appointed senior barristers in UK recognised for their specialised skills and expertise.

Pastor Kong Hee and five other CHC leaders were arrested in June 2012 and charged with conspiring to cheat CHC of millions of dollars. Some $24 million of the church’s funds was allegedly transferred to two companies as bond investments – $13 million to Xtron Productions and $11 million to Firna. These fund transfers were allegedly “sham transactions” devised to conceal the diversion of the church’s building fund to finance the pop music career of Sun Ho, Kong’s wife.

When questions about the investments were raised, another $26.6 million was allegedly misappropriated from the church’s funds – $11.4 million to AMAC Capital Partners and $15.2 million to Xtron Productions. This $26.6 million was believed to have been used to create the impression that the sham bonds had been fully “redeemed”, a process called “round-tripping” to cover the tracks of the earlier $24 million. In this manner, millions of dollars were allegedly transferred and used to build Sun Ho’s music career in the US.

All six accused have claimed trial and engaged SCs to represent them, with the exception of Kong Hee who is represented by PAP’s Member of Parliament Edwin Tong.

Chew had originally hired an SC from Rajah and Tann. However, he had to discharge him to avoid possible conflict of interest because Rajah and Tann was one of the firms involved in drawing up the original documents for the CHC’s bond investments.

Out of a total of 65 SCs in Singapore, 10 are in firms that were involved in drawing up the bond documents and 13 are in firms that are representing the other accused. The remaining 22 are either professors, judges or are attached to the Attorney-General’s Chambers.

Chew said he had already asked a QC to represent him, but declined to reveal his name. Chew will be submitting his application to hire the QC next month.

Generally, QCs’ fees are relatively the same as SCs but there are other charges like airfare and lodging, etc.

and1me2i3

we r v forgiving pple. v fast pple will forget them.

http://www.tremeritus.com/2012/12/07/chc-leader-to-hire-expensive-british-queens-counsel/

One of the City Harvest Church (CHC) leaders charged with conspiring to cheat the church of millions of dollars, is applying to hire an elite British lawyer – a Queen’s Counsel (QC) – to represent him.

52-year-old Chew Eng Han, the church’s investment manager, told the media that he is applying for a QC because he could not find a local Senior Counsel (SC) to represent him. QCs are specially appointed senior barristers in UK recognised for their specialised skills and expertise.

Pastor Kong Hee and five other CHC leaders were arrested in June 2012 and charged with conspiring to cheat CHC of millions of dollars. Some $24 million of the church’s funds was allegedly transferred to two companies as bond investments – $13 million to Xtron Productions and $11 million to Firna. These fund transfers were allegedly “sham transactions” devised to conceal the diversion of the church’s building fund to finance the pop music career of Sun Ho, Kong’s wife.

When questions about the investments were raised, another $26.6 million was allegedly misappropriated from the church’s funds – $11.4 million to AMAC Capital Partners and $15.2 million to Xtron Productions. This $26.6 million was believed to have been used to create the impression that the sham bonds had been fully “redeemed”, a process called “round-tripping” to cover the tracks of the earlier $24 million. In this manner, millions of dollars were allegedly transferred and used to build Sun Ho’s music career in the US.

All six accused have claimed trial and engaged SCs to represent them, with the exception of Kong Hee who is represented by PAP’s Member of Parliament Edwin Tong.

Chew had originally hired an SC from Rajah and Tann. However, he had to discharge him to avoid possible conflict of interest because Rajah and Tann was one of the firms involved in drawing up the original documents for the CHC’s bond investments.

Out of a total of 65 SCs in Singapore, 10 are in firms that were involved in drawing up the bond documents and 13 are in firms that are representing the other accused. The remaining 22 are either professors, judges or are attached to the Attorney-General’s Chambers.

Chew said he had already asked a QC to represent him, but declined to reveal his name. Chew will be submitting his application to hire the QC next month.

Generally, QCs’ fees are relatively the same as SCs but there are other charges like airfare and lodging, etc.

sunzoner

My math failed. Apparently 10+13+22 = 65.

mgsten

another cpib investigation surfaces. check news. some school principal. :s22:

Haagen Diaz

I'm surprised to read that the newspapers don't mention Kong Hee incident as the biggest stories for the year of 2012. Only Alvin and sex scandal of corrupted officers...etc.

Today is 2013, should we forget about Kong Hee incident? :p

Haagen Diaz

Pringle’s Prophecy Gave Kong Hee & Sun Ho “Confirmation To Resume The Crossover Project” « C3 Church Watch

Before engaging the CN article, among many other questions, ask yourself this question first.

Why is Phil Pringle not being scrutinised by the Australian media or authorities for his involvement in these serious allegations in Singapore?

Is the Crossover Project really about God or Sun Ho?

Did God really initiate the Crossover Project and later confirm Sun and Kong to resume it?

Is God the one at fault here for failing his plan and not guiding Sun and Kong?

This City Harvest News article below recaps CHC’s Cross Over project. It is interesting to note how Kong Hee and Sun Ho were stimulated and directed by Pringle’s false prophecies. God (through Pringle) supposedly spoke to Kong why he should resume the crossover project.

“Finally, it was a word given by Phil Pringle to Sun privately in May 2005 that gave them clarity to their path. “He said, ‘Five more years, because God is going to open a big door for CHC in China to be a blessing to the people.’ That word gave us the courage, faith and confirmation to resume the Crossover Project,” said Kong.”

An impression is left that Kong Hee and Phil Pringle’s god screwed up on Kong’s behalf. After all, God did apologise to Kong Hee. Clearly Pringle was not in the wrong in his prophetic direction to Kong.

Also note how ‘revival’ came to Sun Hee’s events. It was not through preaching. The young people did not come to,

“listen to the preaching but to watch Sun leading praise and worship. They loved her colored hair, her pop culture look, and they loved the pop songs she sang in between the worship songs.”

Is this not worldliness being disguised as Christianity? Why is God speaking through secularism and telling this duo to use secularism to bring revival? Do you really think this is about revival and Jesus or really a business opportunity for Sun Ho’s music career? The article below may help you come to your own conclusions.

Finally, if anyone has an issue with Sun and Kong using the world to reach the world or if anyone questions their mission, are they not questioning God Himself?

If Kong got “confirmation from God that what was beginning to take form in his mind was a God-idea”, then what does that make those that question the Cross Over project? Enemies of God? Dogs?

This is cult-like behaviour. In fact, God’s Word says,

“Come now, you who say, “Today or tomorrow we will go into such and such a town and spend a year there and trade and make a profit”— yet you do not know what tomorrow will bring. What is your life? For you are a mist that appears for a little time and then vanishes. Instead you ought to say, “If the Lord wills, we will live and do this or that.” As it is, you boast in your arrogance. All such boasting is evil.” James 4:13-16

God’s Word also says,

“Do not love the world or the things in the world. If anyone loves the world, the love of the Father is not in him. For all that is in the world—the desires of the flesh and the desires of the eyes and pride in possessions—is not from the Father but is from the world. And the world is passing away along with its desires, but whoever does the will of God abides forever.” 1 John 2:15-17

“Do not conform any longer to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is–his good, pleasing and perfect will.” Romans 12:2

“You adulterous people, don’t you know that friendship with the world is hatred toward God? Anyone who chooses to be a friend of the world becomes an enemy of God.” James 4:4

Is this not what Kong Hee and Sun Ho have done?

“But to their surprise, many young people, most of them un-churched, came to the church night after night, not to listen to the preaching but to watch Sun leading praise and worship. They loved her colored hair, her pop culture look, and they loved the pop songs she sang in between the worship songs.“

This was So faith comes from hearing, and hearing through the word of Christ.

Keep this in mind as you read this article.

City News reports:

City Harvest Church: 10 Years Of The Crossover Project

Posted on 09 May 2012

Looking back on a decade of God’s faithfulness as City Harvest Church carries the message of the Cultural Mandate across continents through Sun Ho’s pop music career.

By Yong Yung Shin

The weekend of Apr. 28 to 29 held special meaning for City Harvest Church, as it held a 10th year anniversary celebration of the Crossover Project. The Crossover Project was an extension of CHC’s mandate to build a church without walls—to bring the Gospel to the unchurched across society, and this included the world of entertainment.

HOW IT ALL BEGUN

In 1999, Kong Hee was invited to speak in Taiwan for the first time. There, he found out that in the youth ministry in local churches was almost non-existent. It was during this trip that the Holy Spirit dropped a word into his heart and said, “Kong, I want you to bring a revival to Taiwan, and I will use this revival to touch the entire Chinese-speaking world.”

Kong kept what the Holy Spirit had said to him at the back of his mind. The following year, he went back to Taiwan to minister at the Bread Of Life Church in Taipei. This time, he brought along his wife, Sun, who led worship in CHC. Over the next few days, a powerful typhoon swept the city. But to their surprise, many young people, most of them un-churched, came to the church night after night, not to listen to the preaching but to watch Sun leading praise and worship. They loved her colored hair, her pop culture look, and they loved the pop songs she sang in between the worship songs.

It was then that they realized that pop music could be a powerful bridge to communicate the love of God to the youth. What if they could repackage the message of faith, hope and love of Jesus Christ and bring it into the schools, the boardrooms and the bedrooms of the unchurched? At that time, it was unheard of for those in the Christian world to share the Gospel through the secular entertainment platform.

Apprehensive and more than a little doubtful, Kong needed confirmation from God that what was beginning to take form in his mind was a God-idea. God gave him not one confirmation, but four.

On Sep. 11, 2001, the day of the tragic 9/11 suicide attacks on the World Trade Center’s twin towers in New York City, Kong and Sun were in the city to minister to a friend on the verge of suicide. As the tragedy took place, God spoke to Kong: “From today, the world has changed. I brought you here to watch history unfolding. Go back to Asia and bring the Gospel to your generation—the young people and the urban professionals.” That was the first confirmation.

In obedience to that word, the couple went to Hong Kong soon after to participate in a prayer walk. As they were walking along the busy streets of Kowloon, they passed by an electronics shop that had a display of television sets near the entrance. On the screens of the televisions, thousands of young people were dancing to the beat of a secular pop-rock group from mainland China. There and then, the presence of God fell on them. Kong recalled, “God spoke very, very clearly to our hearts. ‘Sun, you will do better than this. I will send you to sing before millions of people and you will lead them to Jesus Christ.’” That was the second confirmation.

One night, Sun was leading worship at church, when a visitor, touched by her singing, approached her after the meeting and offered her a full professional contract. He was the managing director of Decca Music, an international recording label. This was confirmation number three.

It was all good, but Kong needed a Scriptural confirmation. When his respected mentors Ulk Ekman, AR Bernard and Phil Pringle gave the same verse from Mark 4:35, “Let us cross over to the other side,” Kong knew there was no more space for hesitation, and the Crossover Project was born.

SETTING SAIL

In 2002, Sun recorded her first Chinese pop album, Sun With Love. She held her first pop concert in the biggest indoor arena in downtown Taipei, the National Taipei Sports Complex. The team worked with a small Taipei church, New Life Church, which had about 200 members then. “Nobody was sure if anybody was even going to turn up,” said Kong. On the first night, the 4,200-seater stadium was jam-packed, with thousands more watching on big screen projectors outside. It was estimated that 80 percent of the audience had never been to church.

After Sun finished singing, she gave her testimony about the abuse she endured in her childhood and how Jesus saved her from her years of depression and brokenness. “The love and presence of God hit the entire arena; practically everybody was crying.” Kong then gave a simple altar call, and thousands upon thousands responded. “We didn’t expect that at all. When we went back to our rooms, we were wondering what exactly happened. We were in a daze.” Over the next two days, a total of 21,500 people attended the concerts, and 8,000 decision slips for Christ were collected.

Sun performed in various other cities, including Taoyuan, Hualien and Tainan—it was here that one of CHC’s affiliate churches, Rhema Harvest Church was birthed. In Kaohsiung, on the eve of a concert, a typhoon was raging, but 700 people still came, and 560 responded to the altar call. In the small town of Jia Yi, Sun performed at a high school to about 1,100 students. One of the students, a teenage girl named Christina Yu, testified of the miraculous work of deliverance from depression God did in her heart as she listened to Sun sing.

Today, Yu pastors 400 members at New Life Church, among whom are three pop stars who flew in for a special performance during the service— Chen Weiquan, Wing Luo and Huang Mei Zhen. It was a pleasant surprise for the congregation, as they listened to the trio cover some of Sun’s songs in addition to their own hits.

As for that little church, New Life Church, which helped put together the very first concert, it experienced a great revival too. From 30 people, the congregation grew to 1,250 in three years, and today, counts Universal music producer Chen Ailing, Liu Geng Hong, and Faye Chan and Real Huang from F.I.R among its members. Each is a testament to the seeds of the Cultural Mandate Ho’s concerts had planted. To date, Taiwan’s Christian population has more than doubled, from a mere three percent to 10 percent in 10 years.

From Taiwan, Sun flew to Hong Kong and performed at the Queen Elizabeth Stadium to 10,500 people over three nights, and yet again, thousands gave their hearts to Jesus. One of the most dramatic salvation stories belongs to Teddy, the notorious leader of a gang and owner one of the largest nightclubs in the city. He also had dealings in illegal gambling, drug trafficking and prostitution. Kong recalled that Teddy’s parang-wielding henchmen were all waiting outside, ready to pounce in to protect their boss. But at the end, Teddy came forward and gave his heart to Jesus Christ.

It was not until two months ago that Kong met Teddy again while preaching at a service in Jakarta. It was a joyful, tearful reunion for the two men, as Kong prayed over Teddy, now a businessman travelling all over Asia to share his testimony.

Sun also performed in Malaysia, including Sibu and Kuching. Out of her performances there, Kuching Harvest Church was born. In Kuala Lumpur, her concerts in 2003 sparked a revival in City Harvest Church Kuala Lumpur. Today, CHCKL is one of the fastest-growing and most vibrant churches in Malaysia.

In Indonesia, in the cities of Jakarta, Makasar, Medan, the response was equally tremendous—people actually broke down the doors and pushed their way into the concerts. Even the security guards who were sent to protect the team responded to the altar call themselves.

Back in Singapore, Sun performed 14 times over one weekend at the church’s premises at Jurong West. Over two days, 30,700 people came, and 10,140 salvation decisions were recorded. It was the second highest salvation decision in Singapore church history, the highest being a rally at the National Stadium in 1978 when evangelist Billy Graham gave an altar call.

One person irrevocably changed by Sun’s concert was Cynthia Chua, who came from an unhappy family where arguments and violence were the norm. She gradually slipped into depression and even entertained thoughts of suicide, but it was at Ho’s concert that the love and presence of God touched her heart and she found the strength to get out of her depression. Chua is now a full-time church staff, and a cell group leader.

Another life that was changed was that of Sun’s choreographer, Ryan Tan, a well-known and highly respected Singaporean choreographer who responded to the altar call, after performing with her in about 70 concerts. Together with Kenny Low, then also a dancer in Sun’s entourage, they started O School in 2006.

More than a performing arts center teaching dance, O School is a social enterprise that seeks to provide stable employment opportunities for youth who are gifted in dance, to celebrate their potential and talents, and to generate funds for low income Singapore youths to complete their secondary school education at City College, also founded by Low. “We believe there’s a place for artists—when they’re placed on the right platform, who knows how God can use them?” said Low, who was named Schwab Social Entrepreneur of the Year 2007. With a current membership of 11,000, there are 100 dancers on staff, and every year, S$40,000 goes toward the education fund.

“We find that as young people come together to work with us, the same anointing that flowed in the Crossover Project flows in O School. The young people find acceptance here, and when they dance, they feel a release from their depression,” said Low. But it gets better—these youth are using their talents to reach out to their counterparts. When the 2011 tsunami hit Japan, they organized a Dance For Japan fundraising event and rallied 2,000 youth to the cause.

THE BIG LEAP

Twenty-five months after the Crossover Project was launched, Sun had performed more than 100 concerts to about half a million people, and out of that, almost 140,000 gave their hearts to Christ. The Crossover Project sought to achieve two purposes: reach out to the unchurched—those who would never step into a church, those who grew up on a musical diet of Beyonce, Gwen Stefani, Pink and Lady Gaga. Secondly, it aimed to encourage Christians who are already in the entertainment industry to step out with their faith.

But it was no walk in the park. With this calling also came many challenges. In every country Sun and her team traveled to, they faced demonic attacks, near-death encounters and media backlash against Sun’s contradictory image as the pop star wife of a pastor.

Over the next few years, Sun released four more Chinese albums. Ironically, it was the most criticized song on the Sun*day album, “Miss Catastrophe”, that caught the attention of the former general manager of MTV in the US. This paved the way for Sun to enter the American market. In 2003, she became the first Asian pop icon to be invited to sing at the Hollywood Film Festival. Subsequently, she was also the first Chinese singer to be invited to the 46th Annual Grammy Awards in 2004 as well as the MTV Europe Awards in 2007.

Her debut American single, “Where Did Love Go”, produced by David Foster and Peter Rafelson, was the number one breakout hit on the Christmas week in 2003—“God’s Christmas gift for us,” said Kong. After her first Billboard dance chart number one hit “One With You”, Sun went on to score another four number ones on the Billboard dance chart, the last of which was 2009’s “Fancy Free”.

“With success in both the USA and the Far East, we crossed over to China, which was our greatest desire,” explained Kong. Sun and her team went to Beijing, Shanghai, Chongqing, Wuhan, Guangzhou, Shenyang, Shenzhen, Szechuan and other cities. Her humanitarian team was part of the 2005 Tsunami Disaster Relief Operations, and with her royalties from album sales and the contribution of friends, she built schools and medical clinics in Indonesia and China as well as orphanages in Sri Lanka.

In 2002, Sun was presented The Outstanding Young Person Award by the Junior Chamber of Singapore for her humanitarian works. She was also awarded the “Outstanding Young Person of the World Award” in 2003. That same year, she became the first celebrity outside of China to be honored with a First-Day Cover Stamp series in light of her humanitarian contributions to China. “Her success is our success because this is our project,” declared Kong.

In May 2004, on the last night of her concert in Australia, Sun discovered she was pregnant. After a difficult nine months, a son, Dayan, was born. Sun, along with her family and the church, had reached a crossroad—should they continue with the Crossover Project now that she is a mother?

After all, it had brought tremendous growth to the church. In four years, CHC had grown from a congregational size of 10,300 to more than 18,000; it now had 24 affiliate churches. For six months, the couple prayed and discussed with the pastors and senior staff and consulted with spiritual mentors from around the world.

Finally, it was a word given by Phil Pringle to Sun privately in May 2005 that gave them clarity to their path. “He said, ‘Five more years, because God is going to open a big door for CHC in China to be a blessing to the people.’ That word gave us the courage, faith and confirmation to resume the Crossover Project,” said Kong. (True enough, it was in May 2010—five years later—that Sun broke her US contract and flew home when the investigations into CHC began.)

The year 2007 was when CHC’s vision for China really took off. Sun was named the Charity Ambassador of Love for Asia’s first Special Olympic World Summer Games. The following year, she was selected to be the Music Ambassador for the 2008 Beijing Olympics Songfest. “These assignments were to open a huge door for us to do humanitarian works on a global level,” said Kong.

Presently, CHC has 96 humanitarian projects under its belt, from water sanitation projects to medical centers, children’s hospitals, schools, orphanages and women’s shelters—many of which are in China.

In closing, Kong read from Mark 4:34-36 and posed three questions to those who want to “cross over”. First of all, what will we forsake? Are we willing to leave our comfort zone? “Spiritual greatness will cost you something. Often, it will cost you everything,” said Kong.

Next, what will we take? Will we take Jesus as He is with us? “Sometimes, Jesus sleeps so that we have to awaken our faith to keep walking and trusting,” Kong explained. Finally, what impact will we make? Would we rather play safe and cruise through life, or give our all to walk in the fullness of God’s plans for our lives and those He wants to touch through us?

The three-hour-long service presented the full story of the Crossover Project to many in the congregation, many of whom had not previously understood its scale, scope and perhaps even its legitimacy as God’s assignment, but had chosen to trust in the leadership of the church.

Looking back at the hundreds of thousands of people who have been ushered into the saving grace of Jesus Christ through this project, it is clear that it has all been worthwhile. Kong was joined on stage by Sun and various others who had played a key role in the success of the Crossover Project such as executive pastor Tan Ye Peng. The journey turned out to be much more difficult than they had imagined, but there were no regrets over the no-holds-barred obedience Kong and Sun had chosen and the fruit their efforts had borne.” - Yong Yung Shin, City News » City Harvest Church: 10 Years Of The Crossover Project, City Harvest Church: 10 Years Of The Crossover Project, 09/05/2012. (Accessed 27/09/2012.)

========================

Am I reading things? It said God apologised to Kong Hee. O_0||

Haagen Diaz

How Can Kong Hee Say

In this article, we would like to point out to readers that Kong Hee HAS in the past pitted God and the church against Singaporean authorities. This is wrong and not Christian.

We would like to remind listeners that Kong Hee is not Jesus even though he paraded that he was a ‘Jesus’ at the Presence Conference 2012. This is blasphemy. Kong Hee is not God. Kong Hee did not die on a cross crying “My God! My God! Why have you forsaken me!” Kong Hee – like everyone else, is a sinner.

We will also point out that God also is not a liar as Kong Hee has made God out to be in the below segment we quoted him in.

We are slowly but assuredly demonstrating with evidence that Kong Hee has very little integrity to maintain – and that his congregation should not accept him as a genuine Christian minister but as an “impostor” going “from bad to worse, deceiving and being deceived” (2 Timothy 3:13).

He has unaccredited credentials but still advertises himself as Dr Kong Hee:

How Can Kong Hee Say “I Do Maintain My Integrity”? (Part 1)

He attacks Christianity, preaching his own made-up message and has a ministry that counters the biblical ministry of Christ and his church:

How Can Kong Hee Say “I Do Maintain My Integrity”? (Part 2)

We’ve already shown that Kong Hee not only attacks Christianity by twisting the scriptures and the integrity of God, he also lies to people AND emotionally manipulates people to empty their bank accounts:

The Pirate, The Presence & The Peddlers

Empty your Bank Account | Phil Pringle’s negligence in allowing Kong Hee to fleece at Presence 2012
When we reported that the Singaporean news informed that Kong Hee and church officials were arrested, Chris Rosebrough reviewed a bit of Kong Hee’s sermon at Phil Pringle’s Presence Conference here:

JUNE 26, 2012
ED YOUNG’S CALVINIST MELT DOWN

Program Segments

• Kong Hee Arrest
• Kim Kardashian Uses Spirituality to Improve Her Image
• Ed Young’s Calvinist Melt Down
• Two Fantastic Sermons

At the C3 Presence Conference, Kong Hee spoke to audiences all around Australia, all around the world and to many different denominations. In portraying himself as a type of innocent Jesus Christ, Kong Hee is painting those that are persecuting (investigating) him as brutal and unjust.

Here is part of the transcript of Kong Hee on the first official night of Presence Conference (our emphasis in bold):

“And [God the Father] said, ‘My son, I’m so sorry that you need to go through this alone. But you need to die and you need to go through this to be the Saviour of the world!’ And God the Father had broken and He wept as He turned His face, when His son took the sin of the whole world.

I was saying all this and I’m hearing myself behind the pulpit- and I froze. I could not utter another word. And I sobbed and I shook. Because those were my exact sentiments.

“Father, Father! Why?

My God! My God! Why have you forsaken me and thrown me to the dogs?” [Clicks fingers] And for the first time in eight months, I heard the voice. It is not the voice of a strict angry judge that only want me to perform and build a big church and nothing I do is ever good enough for him. No. It’s not a voice of angry judge. It’s not the voice of a slave driver. That just wants to take and take and wring me dry. But it was a voice of a tender, loving, broken-hearted Father.

For the first time in eight months, God – I heard Him crying. And He said, “My son, Kong, thank you! Thank you for going through this. I need you to go through this alone so that you and City Harvest Church can be the man and the ministry I call it to be. I’m so sorry. But you need to go through with this by yourself, to bring a change to your generation”. [Crowds applause]

Oh come on! Give the Lord a big hand tonight!

I hear God saying for the first time in eight months, “I love you! I love you! I love you!” Waves upon waves of God’s love- the love of the Father, just, saturated me. All I could say was, “Abba! Abba!! AABBAAH!!! Daddy! ABBA!!!”
And I knew, everything was going to be, alright. [Crowds applause]

Everything was going to be alright.” – Kong Hee, C3ChurchWatch - Kong Hee At Presence 2012, Night 2, (Part 3) - YouTube, Presence Conference 2012, Night Service, 11/04/2012.

As Chris Rosebrough said, everything now is not all right for Kong Hee.

In regards to Kong Hee saying, “thrown to the dogs” – it could be an expression. However it is possible that Kong Hee was alluding to the ‘authorities’ crucifying him in the Messianic psalm since he is playing himself as a messiah-like figure:

“My God, my God, why have you forsaken me? . . . you lay me in the dust of death for dogs encompass me; a company of evildoers encircles me; they have pierced my hands and feet.” Psalm 22:1, 15-16

This coded language is language Phil Pringle also uses. Radio host Chris Rosebrough alerts listeners to this deceptive preaching technique Pringle used in his ‘March 17, 2012′ edition of ‘Fighting For the Faith’. While onlookers may not know what Kong Hee or Phil Pringle are saying, Christians would make the connection Kong Hee is talking about in regards to the popular Messianic psalm.

However, even if we are simply reading too much into this ‘expression’, this does negate the fact Kong Hee (the victim) is still portraying himself as Christ being persecuted by unjust authorities. Christians know that the bible teaches that Jesus was tried unfairly, persecuted and crucified by corrupt leaders. So why is Kong Hee associating his experience to Christ’s experience of persecution?

The unbiblical associations Kong Hee draws between himself and the Singaporean authorities and Christ’s experience is shameful.

(Personal side note: after talking to individuals after the C3 Conference, many said they admired that Kong Hee was being persecuted for the cause of Christ. They seemed hostile to think likewise. They pointed out things he said I missed. After re-watching the footage, the entire talk Kong Hee gave was propaganda at best to pit Christianity against a ‘pagan country’.)

If anyone wants access to the footage, we will present this on C3 Church Watch once we have critiqued the majority of the session for copyright reason. Dan Gorter has also critiqued other segments of this footage (read below), exposing Pringle’s negligence in warning people that Hee was being investigated for financial misconduct.

Grumpy_Shyte

So many high profile cases left dangling in the air. Justice for the truly wicked comes slow and sometimes never at all!

Haagen Diaz

So many high profile cases left dangling in the air. Justice for the truly wicked comes slow and sometimes never at all!

Cheers up!! There is a justice after all. God really exists after all. He will judge all of us after our death ---> heaven and hell. Amen. Trust in His goodness and mercy and justice.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.