Portable MD Player Appreciation Thread

ewng

Since there's a PCDP appreciation thread...I think it's good to have a PMDP appreciation thread too...
Those above 30 years old more or less owned a MD player before...
Thou it's not popular here in Singapore...but I like MD player more than CD player...

My first portable MD player in 1998 - Sharp MD-MS722:
Slot-in machanism...good sound quality...jog dial design...a bit like G-Shock and very thick...
front722.jpg

Then in year 2000 - Sony MZ-R900:
My first MDLP recorder...very slick design...surprisingly the LP2 quality is quite good...
MZ-R900_L_01_low.jpg

Then in year 2001 - Sharp MD-ST770:
A MD player that support MDLP playback...I still prefer Sharp DSP than Sony...
4ca5a5054ebe2abcad83d9ba194dd3a1.JPG

Then in year 2002 - Sony MZ-E10:
The 10th anniversary MD player...the slimmest MD player...like a cigarette case...but sound wise it's not that good...
sony_mze10.jpg

Then in year 2004 - Sharp MD-DS70:
So far the best MD player that I have...sound quality is top notch...and it's still working after 9 years...
sharp_mdds70-w.jpg

Then in year 2005 - Sony MZ-RH10:
My last MD player/recorder...support Hi-MD function and MP3 playback...but sound wise is just so so...
Sony_MZRH10_01.jpg

viperx

Nice collection u have there. I had a Sony md walkman b4. Very impressive sound quality because sound is recorded from the hifi system's audio out lol. But it didn't last long as it spoilt just after a year.

kazzzam

yea...I bought them during poly

mzr-55
mzr-90
mze-10
mzr-500 <-- getting less pocket money

using ex70sl... which need to be replace every 6 months...

still have boxes of mds in my storeroom....

actually the coolest thing... was the remote

the cool blue backlit

sony_mzr900_large.jpg

ckryan3

where do u get minidiscs? Like.. do u write your own songs onto them?

kazzzam

is a dead format.... don't bother about it

lossless on media players are much better....

ewng

yea...I bought them during poly

mzr-55
mzr-90
mze-10
mzr-500 <-- getting less pocket money

using ex70sl... which need to be replace every 6 months...

still have boxes of mds in my storeroom....

actually the coolest thing... was the remote

the cool blue backlit

sony_mzr900_large.jpg

Yes...I like the remote too... :)
Now I left 3 MD players: MZ-E10...MD-DS70 and MZ-RH10...
MD-DS70 is still running well...RH10 the laser pickup is weak...can't read lots of discs...E10 is totally dead... :(
Oh...I have a MD deck too: Sony MDS-NT1...too bad Win 7 does not support it anymore...sigh...

ewng

where do u get minidiscs? Like.. do u write your own songs onto them?

Buy the blank disc and record the songs from CD lor...
Last time can only record the song via optical line...real time transfer...
Until Net MD came out then can use PC to transfer...
Like kazzzam says MD is a dead format...even the creator Sony gave up this format last year...
But IMO the sound quality of SP mode is really good...

FatalethaL

woah... brings back memories sia... i rmb the sharp's quality is better.. the sony one like hao siao one...

kazzzam

all those japanese not sold in singapore... all very cool looking

cool remotes especially ,,,

ewng

all those japanese not sold in singapore... all very cool looking

cool remotes especially ,,,

Ya...MD recorders/players here most of them were low end model...lau ya one...
Bought DS70 when I went to Japan in 2004...expensive but never regret...

ewng

when i was young very gian this player but no money to hoot one.

Which one you gian...??
I used to think MD would dominate the portable music player market...
Too bad it never happen...

koroshiya8

Had 2 before.. and recently i even bought a 2nd hand sharp just to play my old disc... remembered recording songs to the MD and was a fun but tedious process compared to today.

ewng

Had 2 before.. and recently i even bought a 2nd hand sharp just to play my old disc... remembered recording songs to the MD and was a fun but tedious process compared to today.

Ya lor...real-time transfer...
But can hear the song at the same time... :)

kazzzam

too bad... mp3 came... is was much easier and much cheaper and lesser maintenance ...

koroshiya8

and not to mention MD recorders were not cheap.. think that time was like $400+ ? :)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.