-=OFFICIAL=- EDMW PHOTOGRAPHY CLUB - - - Part 12

tecnica

Guys, i need opinions on this: Tamron 70-300 VC USD f/4-5.6 (Nikon Mount) or Nikkor 70-200 f/4? Wanna hook it up to my new D600, considered an 'upgrade' from my 70-300mm f4/5.6 non VR Nikkor lens that is soft and slow AF hunting in less-than-bright lighting conditions.

Things to consider (by order of priority):
1) Budget. Less than $2k. Nikkor 70-200 f/2.8 VRII is out.
2) Lightweight. If Sigma 70-200 f2.8 DG OS can be hand-carried (i.e. no need tripod collar for safe carrying), i would consider it against the Nikkor 70-200 f/4.
3) Image Quality.
4) Sharpness.

If u guys got any recommendations other than the stated 2 lenses for Nikon (e.g. Nikkor 80-200 f2.8 AFS etc), do include also. Thanks. :)

Get the 70-200 f4.

The tamron 70-300 usd is good but the nikon 70-200 should be better.

I used the tamron before, not particularly sharp and focusing is slower despite having usd.

Mach3.2

Guys, i need opinions on this: Tamron 70-300 VC USD f/4-5.6 (Nikon Mount) or Nikkor 70-200 f/4? Wanna hook it up to my new D600, considered an 'upgrade' from my 70-300mm f4/5.6 non VR Nikkor lens that is soft and slow AF hunting in less-than-bright lighting conditions.

Things to consider (by order of priority):
1) Budget. Less than $2k. Nikkor 70-200 f/2.8 VRII is out.
2) Lightweight. If Sigma 70-200 f2.8 DG OS can be hand-carried (i.e. no need tripod collar for safe carrying), i would consider it against the Nikkor 70-200 f/4.
3) Image Quality.
4) Sharpness.

If u guys got any recommendations other than the stated 2 lenses for Nikon (e.g. Nikkor 80-200 f2.8 AFS etc), do include also. Thanks. :)
Take ex-banker's advice into account, do take a look at CS BnS, you may get it cheaper over there.

tecnica

Portability to me is a big thing. If you dun wan to carry it out, having the best lens will also mean nothing.

Mach3.2

Portability to me is a big thing. If you dun wan to carry it out, having the best lens will also mean nothing.
Age is catching on...

At times my 650d feels like a brick, especially after shooting...

enenyi

Ok. But image quality wise leh...is the Tamron on par with the Nikkor f/4 lens from 70-200mm focal length? Coz if on par, i rather get the lower priced Tamron to zoom to 300mm for longer event shots rather than shoot 70-200 @300mm DX mode.

By the way, how to use ND variable filter properly ah? I got a Chromage ND Variable filter (ND2-ND400), but only usable from 2 stops to 4 stops. I try go beyond that, an "X" figure would appear in the photo. Any ways to deploy the filter properly so that I can also use the ND400 range?

Mach3.2

Train more lor, army carry heavier load :o
Moi ish can carry. But carry something for a few hours, even if it's not very heavy will eventually takes it's toll..

Maybe I'm weak after all...:(

shin89

Moi ish can carry. But carry something for a few hours, even if it's not very heavy will eventually takes it's toll..

Simi fish :eek: Can try get those camera straps with cushion, feels quite comfortable :o

hkingx

ppl fieldbag put those rojak item, mine is put insect repel and lots of can food :s13:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.