Ask me any questions

zanyduke

Hi I am going to osaka on 21/10 to 8/11. I am confused on how to make use of the rail passes. There are so many types.

I plan only 5 days and later the rest of the days will be at osaka and kyoto. This is my first trip.

21/10(Day 1) Airplane to Kansai Airport
22/10(Day 2) Kansai Airport to Kobe(Thinking of going to Mount Rokko
23/10(Day 3) Hiroshima & Miyajima
24/10(Day 4) Hiroshima & Miyajima
25/10(Day 5) Hiroshima to Oyakama to Himeji to Osaka

dimitri_can

Hi I am going to osaka on 21/10 to 8/11. I am confused on how to make use of the rail passes. There are so many types.

I plan only 5 days and later the rest of the days will be at osaka and kyoto. This is my first trip.

21/10(Day 1) Airplane to Kansai Airport
22/10(Day 2) Kansai Airport to Kobe(Thinking of going to Mount Rokko
23/10(Day 3) Hiroshima & Miyajima
24/10(Day 4) Hiroshima & Miyajima
25/10(Day 5) Hiroshima to Oyakama to Himeji to Osaka
See over here.
Hiroshima Travel: Access, Orientation and Transportation

http://www.japan-guide.com/e/e3454.html

jeremiahtong

Only big shops have refunds. I did one in bic camera when I bought my 3ds.
When you're at the cashier, tell them you want the tax refund and show your passport. Then the person will bring you to the correct area, you fill in a form, sign and then the tax is deducted at the register.

What is the minimum amount we need to spend? Will there be a tax refund sign at the cashier counter or any indication in English?

cancer81

What is the minimum amount we need to spend? Will there be a tax refund sign at the cashier counter or any indication in English?
10,000 yen iirc

just show them your passport.

I colloquially call it the "gaijin discount" :s13:

castafarian

do note that some stores charge "processing fee". that's what i experienced at isetan (about 100yen for 10000+ yen purchase)

water88

Mobile Data

Which is the best way out?

1) Rent a Sim Card
2) Buy a prepaid data card.

Which one to go for? E.g Bmobile, Softbank..

I am using Sumsung Note 2 and Apple Iphone 5.

Can our phones be using there using their sim card?

Thanks

cancer81

which would probably mean that a portable wifi be better

you are not going to be separated :p

can use within a certain range of the mobile wifi device.

pay a fixed amt per day for it. and no need to swap sim cards and stuff.

Poker

Wonder how's the radiation level over there? Is it still safe for us to travel there? As I'm gonna visit Tokyo this time! Haiz craving for sashimi and sushi

Poker

Sain ticket buy liao
Hotel book liao
Money change liao
All x 2
Haiz Jin emo

water88

Bmoible

Can the mobile data plan be purchased from the Airport ?

Or must purchase online ?

Going Osaka...

cancer81

Sain ticket buy liao
Hotel book liao
Money change liao
All x 2
Haiz Jin emo
yes, it is still safe.

no, I can't give u any guarantees. Nobody can but there was no explosions which would have spread a radioactive dust cloud ALL OVER ASIA... so if you are not going to Fukushima itself...

go! have fun!! The Japanese are getting on with it, I am not sure why we can't

evilerniex

Sain ticket buy liao
Hotel book liao
Money change liao
All x 2
Haiz Jin emo

it is still safe... see this latest article in CNN:
Japan's Fukushima crisis: How did we get to this point? - CNN.com

What threat does the current leak pose?
"In the grand scheme of things, is it a potential threat to Tokyo or the countryside outside the plant proper? Truthfully, no," said Friedlander.

but if u are worried, then better dun go. coz u wun be able to enjoy urself with all the worrying

water88

we got the mobile wifi...

my huawei did it's job as needed :s13:

How much you pay in total ?

Which company you went for ?

I am using Samsung Galaxy Note 2, don't know if can work?
Intend to bring my Apple mini ipad along too..

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.