Macbook Air - Best & Most Compatible External Display

The Rain Man

Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm pretty new to Mac as I've been a windows user all my life but decided to take the switch, listening to all the positive reviews by my friends and family members alike. So, I'll be getting my first MacBook Air 13" today and I'm pretty darned excited about it.

The problem I have is that for my scope of work, a 13" laptop would be too small for my daily needs and instead of having a separate CPU at home.. I was thinking of getting an external display and linking it up with my MBA. However, the 27" Apple Thunderbolt display is a little out of my budget and well.. a little too big for my comfort.

I'm not really good with computer configurations but I just wanted to ask you guys if there were any good external monitors (Dell, Lenovo, HP, etc) that you would recommend for a MBA. I'm looking at getting a 20" or so external monitor but am just worried about it's compatibility with a Macbook.

Thanks again in advance and I really appreciate all the help guys :)

LeonaV

Reaction score
Any monitor that supports DVI/VGA/HDMI/Displayport, can be used for the MBA. What's your budget first?

The Rain Man

Reaction score
Any monitor that supports DVI/VGA/HDMI/Displayport, can be used for the MBA. What's your budget first?

Any particular brands that are affordable and durable? I'm looking to get something below $200 if possible!

B772ER

Reaction score
firstly, you will need a thunderbolt to HDMI adapter before we can plug in a HDMI monitor to the MBA. most important piece of accessory there is to the whole setup.

The Rain Man

Reaction score
Dell U2312H Ultrasharp

I read up about this and it looks fantastic for the price. Most stores are even offering a 5 year warranty for it, so I'm definitely going to get this today. Many thanks for the suggestion cause I was considering Lenovo or Samsung and would've never thought of looking at Dell.