Audio Technica Appreciation Thread

Donten

AFAIK, there is no update planned for the PHA05BT yet. If you are using the Z Ultra then what may interest you is the Sony M505. The M505 is basically a walkman but it also connects to your smartphone via APTX and allows streaming from your phone to it.

sorry that i have to go offtopic on your thread. but do you have any idea how it works? the m505. im quite interested in it. not sure whether its an upgrade from my sbh52. so it is a mp3 player with 16gb of internal memory. are you able to view the songs on the m505 itself on the phone list(power amp or native walkman app). the decoding is done on the phone itself or done by the m505? english information seems very little on the web. from what i have seen it has a s master dac/amp.

right now my understanding is phone(decode) > aptx(m505) > earphones. so this will bypass the smaster dac/amp? really appreciate your help and thanks alot.

Haonan

@haonan

Hello, afew questions to ask you. do you still own the pha05bt? how long is the battery life like? do you think it is enough to replace a standalone dap if my source is sony z ultra, does bt affects the sq of music by a lot? any upcoming successor to the pha05bt? do you know of any similar bt dongle with aptx? sorry for the barrage of question but it seems you're the expert in regards to gears from japan.

right now my understanding is phone(decode) > aptx(m505) > earphones. so this will bypass the smaster dac/amp? really appreciate your help and thanks alot.

Hi Donten, no worries abt the bombarding of enquiries regarding the AT-PHA05BT adaptor. I understand yr concerns well as this product was only marketed/sold in JP solely, it's not carried under by AT SEA locally here and is not usually available easily for sale from other english online stores. I will try to answer yr questions to the best of my ability.

1) Yes I still own the AT-PHA05BT, I bought this around early 2012 together with my Walkman Z DAP in order to pair it for portable music usage (I'm not that much of a smartphone user so the additional feature of hands-free built-in mic function are considered a bonus feature to me)

2) Sorry I have nv done any concrete tests regarding its battery life. However I can prolly mention I also do own some other various BT adaptors by Sony (DRC-BT15P and MW600) and in terms of battery life the AT-PHA05BT doesn't seem to be any much weaker than my previous devices. (I was able to use for more than slightly 1 week before requiring recharging, both the DRC-BT15P/MW600 batt life are rated for abt 7 hours IIRC. Recharging interface for the AT-PHA05BT is via microUSB port)

3) I think it should pair quite well with the Xperia Z Ultra, but I don't think SQ wise this device can completely replace dedicated DAPs such as the Walkman Z/F series (when used directly via IEMs plugged in) if I were to speak honestly.

Despite that the AT-PHA05BT has a built-in powered amplifier (rated at 30mW+30mW measured with a 16 ohms load), it has overall lesser resolution definition as well as a pretty high noise floor level (meaning the background is not black at all, and you can hear audible hiss) when used with sensitive IEMs. I seem to remember from the Rooth Audio Elpis thread that you're one of the owners, so no unfortunately I cannot recommend this product to CIEM owners at all, you will definitely be bothered by the hiss issues.

The AT-PHA05BT does have quite abit of driving power though, to give you an example the vol threshold to maximum is from 0 to 14, IEMs can be powered relatively easy with just just vol level 3, while full-sized/low impedance headphones such as my ATH-A900Ti or Sony CD2000 can alrdy sound quite loud at level 6 or 7. THD performance/clipping issues is another issue though, in short I don't recommend using this to drive headphones if SQ is your utmost priority, but the performance is definitely more than adequate for just driving IEMs.

4) BT connectivity will definitely affect and degrade the overall SQ output from either smartphones or dedicated DAPs. It should only be used for convenience sake, and not as a solution or alternative afterthought to getting good SQ from portable devices. Even though nowadays there are alot of marketing ard by manufacturers and reviews stating that apt-X supported BT devices enhances and improves the SQ by considerable amt, I would still actually rate the older SBC and newer apt-X standard Bluetooth adaptors as having an inferior SQ compared to using dedicated DAPS such as the Sony Walkman series (and im not even bringing in AK120 or even iBasso DX50/DX100 kind of category yet)

5) You can prob take a look at the latest Sony Walkman M series aka M505 model, that Randius had brought up in one of his posts earlier. I originally shared this piece of news with him when I met up with him during Mook Fest last yr, this is one of the newer Sony products that have been introduced and specially aimed at smartphone users, who also wish to have a portable lightweight DAP with considerably good SQ.

When used directly with headphones/IEMs, it will be driven by the built-in S-master MX DSP/DAC. Wireless connectivity/SQ is via apt-X, and links up and outputs from whatever the original device that you're linking up with. (meaning in this case, the S-master MX DSP is not utilised here at all) You can however use the Clear Bass/Clear Phase/VPT equalizer functions that comes with this BT adaptor, when connected to yr devices wirelessly.

I'm in the office right now, so I can't post too much pictures. Here's a picture comparison of the AT-PHA05BT with the Sony Walkman M series. (contributed by a taiwanese Head-fier)

24UXNFg.jpg

@Haonan: Just wondering if you could give some comparisons between AT headphone that have the permendur magnet and the AT headphones without the permendur magnet. Was reading around and I realised that the permendur magnet is present on the ESW11LTD but not on the ES10. O:

Haonan

For wife de.. Lol...

I figured as much. :vijayadmin::vijayadmin:

I was still wondering how come Joe suddenly needs a ATH-IM03 when he alrdy armed with dual-sabres 青龍双月刀 (UM Miracle/Rooth LSX5) on him always.
:s13::crazy:

Make me elated for nothing, I tio pianed.
:s22:

Haonan

Today, i heard the new range of IEMs..

make me wanna go get IM50/70/02.

The ATH-IM02 is poison hor? At first i did not believe the hype one, actually before I bought my pair i came across some review impressions alrdy posted on some other forums by some Taiwanese head-fiers. All were commenting that vocals are quite sweet and considered 女毒風味.

At first I was thinking, there's no way that AT will try out that route again considering most of their modern newer-gen of IEM series have sorta lost that traditional 女毒風味 that was previously found on some of their well-known models such as on the CK100/EW9 series in terms of their previous portable releases.

Damn, i was proven wrong after trying out the IM02. Although in terms of female vocals rendition aspect, it's certainly not as poisonous as CK100 (legendary IEM is legendary afterall), but at least IM02 nailed it right in terms of the soundstage presentation and there is this sweet and smooth characteristics presented in its mids. Something abt how the vocals outline will decay/linger nicely into the blackness of the background, how stringed instruments' overtones vibrates/resonates into the background nicely to my ears.

I know some pple may think I'm hyping the IM02, or I'm just affected by new toy syndrome. Well don't trust or judge my words then, go listen for yourself. And just to put some things straight into a clearer perspective, although the XBA-20 are priced quite closely to the ATH-IM02's, their SQ is certainly no where near IM02 at all. And the Fischer Audio DBA-02/Brainwavz B2 which used to be pretty well-received on the HF community (i bought my DBA-02 ard 260SGD back during late-2010 and was 1 of the first few owners locally) aren't even close at all.

FatalethaL

The ATH-IM02 is poison hor? At first i did not believe the hype one, actually before I bought my pair i came across some review impressions alrdy posted on some other forums by some Taiwanese head-fiers. All were commenting that vocals are quite sweet and considered 女毒風味.

At first I was thinking, there's no way that AT will try out that route again considering most of their modern newer-gen of IEM series have sorta lost that traditional 女毒風味 that was previously found on some of their well-known models such as on the CK100/EW9 series in terms of their previous portable releases.

Damn, i was proven wrong after trying out the IM02. Although in terms of female vocals rendition aspect, it's certainly not as poisonous as CK100 (legendary IEM is legendary afterall), but at least IM02 nailed it right in terms of the soundstage presentation and there is this sweet and smooth characteristics presented in its mids. Something abt how the vocals outline will decay/linger nicely into the blackness of the background, how stringed instruments' overtones vibrates/resonates into the background nicely to my ears.

I know some pple may think I'm hyping the IM02, or I'm just affected by new toy syndrome. Well don't trust or judge my words then, go listen for yourself. And just to put some things straight into a clearer perspective, although the XBA-20 are priced quite closely to the ATH-IM02's, their SQ is certainly no where near IM02 at all. And the Fischer Audio DBA-02/Brainwavz B2 which used to be pretty well-received on the HF community (i bought my DBA-02 ard 260SGD back during late-2010 and was 1 of the first few owners locally) aren't even close at all.

i agree. the IM02 is damn good... and its a keeper as well. I'm aiming for IM70 and IM02.

*to be honest, if the IM02 is priced at say, 399, i dont think it has issues selling it out.

jackiekof

May i know what to do with the warranty card just bought one IM70 and there a customer copy and another one for service center i guess....may i know isit the fill in the one for service center and send it or keep with me and there say IMPORTANT:valid ONly if this card is completely filled and returned within 7 days from the date of purchase?just filled and drop into post box?

TeamStereo

May i know what to do with the warranty card just bought one IM70 and there a customer copy and another one for service center i guess....may i know isit the fill in the one for service center and send it or keep with me and there say IMPORTANT:valid ONly if this card is completely filled and returned within 7 days from the date of purchase?just filled and drop into post box?

Please send the service centre copy to the address at the back after filling it in. Keep the customer copy with the receipt and *touchwood* if need to send for warranty it will be needed. And please send it within 7 days of purchase. You would need to put a stamp on it if I'm not wrong. :)

jackiekof

Please send the service centre copy to the address at the back after filling it in. Keep the customer copy with the receipt and *touchwood* if need to send for warranty it will be needed. And please send it within 7 days of purchase. You would need to put a stamp on it if I'm not wrong. :)
so i just put at evelope and and put on it and write the address and mail it ok le?

Randius

Please do send in your warranty card as AT will enforce this.

Guan22

I figured as much. :vijayadmin::vijayadmin:

I was still wondering how come Joe suddenly needs a ATH-IM03 when he alrdy armed with dual-sabres 青龍双月刀 (UM Miracle/Rooth LSX5) on him always.
:s13::crazy:

Make me elated for nothing, I tio pianed.
:s22:

Give chance leh, bro Haonan.

Anyway, I was already very impressed by IM02, 03 and 04 the first time I heard them at the ATH IM launch a few weeks back.

IM02 is indeed a female vocals specialist, while IM03 has more genre flexibility.
IM03's clarity really astounded me beyond words.

Currently, I honestly dun feel that W4R can match it.
That's y my wife bought the IM03 and told me to sell the W4R.
Anyway, hers means I can kapok sometimes too lah.

Haonan

Give chance leh, bro Haonan.

Anyway, I was already very impressed by IM02, 03 and 04 the first time I heard them at the ATH IM launch a few weeks back.

IM02 is indeed a female vocals specialist, while IM03 has more genre flexibility.
IM03's clarity really astounded me beyond words.

Currently, I honestly dun feel that W4R can match it.
That's y my wife bought the IM03 and told me to sell the W4R.
Anyway, hers means I can kapok sometimes too lah.

Just joking with you rah, 关大爷. Moi where dare to be angry with chiu.
:s34::s34:

Uh, regarding the W4R vs ATH-IM03 comment I would say it's pretty true. According to the Premium Headphone Guide 2014 japanese mag which I just hooted recently, there was some exclusive interview article that spans 7 pages included inside this mag, with the R&D engineers involved for the whole IM series line-up as well as for A900X LTD, according to that interview it's been mentioned the IM03 model inherits the direct DNA signature of the CK100PRO's. (so according to AT, the ATH-IM03 are the true successor to that model and not just a newer triple-BA model replacement in terms of their IEM products in terms of AT's latest wave of releases)

The ATH-IM03 may not have the most euphonic-sounding vocals out of the whole IM line-up, but it does have the usual monitoring-type of SQ signature with great genre bandwidth/flexibility that I had always remembered so fondly when I first heard those CK100PRO's that I'm still using right now, after owning it for ard 2 years and 1 mth. Like I have said before, I don't think anyone would go wrong especially if you are into demanding genres such as classicals/orchestras, the IM03 are excellent for that but also does well in terms of all kinds of vocal genres as well.

I can't exactly say in terms of the bass or treble texture wise or its clarity/transparency dept whether this was a huge improvement over the existing CK100PRO's, as my audition session with the IM03's was only ard 20 mins, may have to get down to a longer listening session with it before I can make any concrete judgement. However according to what I have heard and with my own experience of the IM03/CK100PRO, I personally don't think it is that far behind from some range of CIEMs avail so far on the current market, especially when talking abt stuffs such as UERM/UM Miracles.
:o

ck100prp

Have been Audio technica fanboy since i got cks77 back in 2012. they were simply amazing then- maching TF10 in every aspect, but with much more bass. Since then i have owned ckm500, CKS99/1000, ckl203, es700, ws33x, ckx5, ckn70. Now for month i own im50 and CK100Pro. ck100pro's simply blowed my mind with its sound. Amazing treble, detailing and bass speed. For bit over $300 they are must buy until IM03 and IM04 will drop in price. I, probably will upgrade to IM04 when its price on cdjapan will drop to $300-350 mark. In some tracks ck100pro lacks fullness and sub bass, which according to tomcy from HF is better on im04. Only ck100pro have better cable - less microphonic and it doesnt have memory wire.
Maybe Audio Technica this year will bring its first hybrid IEM?

keith88

FD84AD0E-7B61-4EAC-B725-031A3025B49E.jpg
8813A2A6-E7BF-4A9B-BA49-3A33A581C642.jpg

My first AT IEM and I love it !

Sold off my fitear 334 due to fit problems.

I am not good in describing sounds :o the clarity is definitely one of the best and i enjoyed listening to the vocals with the 04.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.