Digital TV (DVB T2) in Singapore [consolidated]

Status
Not open for further replies.

Shion

Senior Mentor
Reaction score
Newbie here. My new TV(DVB T2 ready) is able to receive all digital channels like HD5, Digital 8, U and CNA through the old SCV port. I saw some ppl can receive HD8 and HDU by installing indoor antenna or so. May I how much does it cost and where to buy it? I asked the Courts staff when I bought the TV and he just told me plug into the old SCV port can receive le lol.

any indoor antenna will do, even the rabbit ear iirc. can go hardware shop find.

coyote

Great Supremacy Member
Reaction score
My next step of the matter will be in testing the recording feature of the DVB-T2 box on the USB thumbdrive. First using the NTFS file system and then using the FAT32 file system.

Since a 15-min recording takes up to 1GB for a HD channel, I reckon it will cross the 4GB threshold for FAT32 very soon, and hence it's probably better to use the NTFS system.

Later will probably be testing a USB harddrive on it, with more capacity than a typical thumbdrive.

That is yet another problem that folks here don't talk about much.

Previously, I used DVB-T to record on PC & encountered this. Took me a while to figure out that the problem is with Fat32, where each file in Fat32 cannot exceed 4G. Later on, I switched to NTFS & EXT3 in linux since I'm using PC, most hollywood movies would be recorded into a file ranging between 10~14G. That's huge.

Question now, for those using Draco or the Ali 9003 tuner from aliexpress, have anyone reformating your USB drive to NTFS & managed to record a full movie into a single 10~14G file? If you use FAT32 for your USB harddisk, then your recording will just stop at 4G file. Is that correct?

pjs

Reaction score
That is yet another problem that folks here don't talk about much.