Digital TV (DVB T2) in Singapore [consolidated]

Kiwi8

Finally SuriaHD, Channel 8 HD and Vasantham HD is available on Starhub Cable TV.

Yah I notice they are all on the same frequency 514Mhz so a single tuner can capture all 3 HD channels. It goes to show the bandwidth that's available in one DVB-C frequency. :eek:

b00mxer

Yah I notice they are all on the same frequency 514Mhz so a single tuner can capture all 3 HD channels. It goes to show the bandwidth that's available in one DVB-C frequency. :eek:

I noticed CH 981 is also in this frequency if I'm not wrong this is DVB-T2's Channel 5 (HD) but encrypted.

Kiwi8

I noticed CH 981 is also in this frequency if I'm not wrong this is DVB-T2's Channel 5 (HD) but encrypted.

Maybe they are waiting until the HD5 at 370Mhz (hard subtitles) is closed before opening up this one (soft subtitles).

sunsetbay

earlier at my bro home, help them to tune to DVB-C channels~ manage to get all mediacorp HD channels~! his TV is abt 2 or 3yrs old, entry level philips 47PFL4007 with built-in DVB-T/C~ pic quality is v good~

shld hv not bought buy my LG DVB-T2 TV cos DVB-C TV can receive more channels & there's no need additional ugly indoor antenna~ :s22:

2w5swih.jpg

Philips 4000 series 47PFL4007H/12 - Smart LED TV

also tested on the recorded DVB-C HD8 on my PC, overall bitrate is abt 6800kbps, compare to DVB-T2 HD8 which is abt 9260kbps~ audio is AC3 & 2 channels mpeg audio~ the mpeg audio is much louder than 5.1 AC3~

2w5m7o1.jpg

Format : MPEG-TS
File size : 84.6 MiB
Duration : 1mn 43s
Overall bit rate mode : Variable
Overall bit rate : 6 828 Kbps

Video #5960
ID : 5960 (0x1748)
Menu ID : 154 (0x9A)
Format : AVC
Format/Info : Advanced Video Codec
Format profile : High@L4.0
Format settings, CABAC : Yes
Format settings, ReFrames : 4 frames
Format settings, GOP : M=8, N=24
Codec ID : 27
Bit rate : 5 908 Kbps
Width : 1 920 pixels
Height : 1 080 pixels
Display aspect ratio : 16:9
Frame rate : 25.000 fps
Standard : Component
Color space : YUV
Chroma subsampling : 4:2:0
Bit depth : 8 bits
Scan type : MBAFF
Bits/(Pixel*Frame) : 0.114
Stream size : 73.1 MiB (86%)
Color primaries : BT.709
Transfer characteristics : BT.709
Matrix coefficients : BT.709

Audio #5961
ID : 5961 (0x1749)
Format : AC-3
Format/Info : Audio Coding 3
Mode extension : CM (complete main)
Format settings, Endianness : Big
Codec ID : 6
Bit rate mode : Constant
Bit rate : 384 Kbps
Channel(s) : 6 channels
Channel positions : Front: L C R, Side: L R, LFE
Sampling rate : 48.0 KHz
Bit depth : 16 bits
Compression mode : Lossy
Delay relative to video : -942ms
Stream size : 4.75 MiB (6%)
Language : Chinese

Audio #5962
ID : 5962 (0x174A)
Format : MPEG Audio
Format version : Version 1
Format profile : Layer 2
Codec ID : 3
Bit rate : 192 Kbps
Channel(s) : 2 channels
Delay relative to video : -1s 24ms
Stream size : 2.38 MiB (3%)

Text #5967
ID : 5967 (0x174F)
Format : DVB Subtitle
Duration : 1mn 30s
Delay relative to video : 12s 326ms
Language : English

b00mxer

earlier at my bro home, help them to tune to DVB-C channels~ manage to get all mediacorp HD channels~! his TV is abt 2 or 3yrs old, entry level philips 47PFL4007 with built-in DVB-T/C~ pic quality is v good~

shld hv not bought buy my LG DVB-T2 TV cos DVB-C TV can receive more channels & there's no need additional ugly indoor antenna~ :s22:

2w5swih.jpg

Philips 4000 series 47PFL4007H/12 - Smart LED TV

also tested on the recorded DVB-C HD8 on my PC, overall bitrate is abt 6800kbps, compare to DVB-T2 HD8 which is abt 9260kbps~ audio is AC3 & 2 channels mpeg audio~ the mpeg audio is much louder than 5.1 AC3~

2w5m7o1.jpg

Format : MPEG-TS
File size : 84.6 MiB
Overall bit rate mode : Variable
Overall bit rate : 6 828 Kbps

Video #5960
ID : 5960 (0x1748)
Format : AVC
Format/Info : Advanced Video Codec
Format profile : High@L4.0
Format settings, CABAC : Yes
Format settings, ReFrames : 4 frames
Format settings, GOP : M=8, N=24
Codec ID : 27
Bit rate : 5 908 Kbps
Width : 1 920 pixels
Height : 1 080 pixels
Display aspect ratio : 16:9
Frame rate : 25.000 fps
Standard : Component
Color space : YUV
Chroma subsampling : 4:2:0
Bit depth : 8 bits
Scan type : MBAFF
Bits/(Pixel*Frame) : 0.114
Stream size : 73.1 MiB (86%)
Color primaries : BT.709
Transfer characteristics : BT.709
Matrix coefficients : BT.709

Audio #5961
ID : 5961 (0x1749)
Format : AC-3
Format/Info : Audio Coding 3
Mode extension : CM (complete main)
Format settings, Endianness : Big
Bit rate : 384 Kbps
Channel(s) : 6 channels
Channel positions : Front: L C R, Side: L R, LFE
Bit depth : 16 bits
Delay relative to video : -942ms
Stream size : 4.75 MiB (6%)
Language : Chinese

Audio #5962
ID : 5962 (0x174A)
Format : MPEG Audio
Format version : Version 1
Format profile : Layer 2
Codec ID : 3
Bit rate : 192 Kbps
Channel(s) : 2 channels
Delay relative to video : -1s 24ms
Stream size : 2.38 MiB (3%)

Text #5967
ID : 5967 (0x174F)
Format : DVB Subtitle
Duration : 1mn 30s
Delay relative to video : 12s 326ms
Language : English

Good move ;) this shows that good things indeed comes to those who wait! But unfortunate for your purchase of T2 set~

b00mxer

Maybe they are waiting until the HD5 at 370Mhz (hard subtitles) is closed before opening up this one (soft subtitles).

I hope they keep both versions or at least update their soft titles wordings to HD. It's fugly.

Kiwi8

I hope they keep both versions or at least update their soft titles wordings to HD. It's fugly.

I have mixed feelings about this lor.

Cos my favourite player KMPlayer cannot seem to display the soft subtitles. Btw, do u know how to display mutiple language subtitles together, for example, those CH8 dramas that have both English and Chinese subtitles?

chakuman

The subtitles on Channel 8 HD placement like wrong leh. I noticed mioTV also having the same problem. The subs are not at the bottom.

And it has got to do with the source...

Kiwi8

The subtitles on Channel 8 HD placement like wrong leh. I noticed mioTV also having the same problem. The subs are not at the bottom.

And it has got to do with the source...

The placement is a STB issue.... only the STB owners (StarHub or SingTel respectively) can rectify the issue, not MediaCorp, which only supplies the video, audio, subtitles.

b00mxer

The placement is a STB issue.... only the STB owners (StarHub or SingTel respectively) can rectify the issue, not MediaCorp, which only supplies the video, audio, subtitles.

No.. It's the source. The subtitles are shown the same spot even on my T2 signal. It's slightly upwards to give way to Chinese subtitles at the bottom. As of now theres only option to either one unlike SD source showing both.

chakuman

But the Chinese and Malay subs on 5HD are on the same position when you choose either language. Why ah?

Kiwi8

No.. It's the source. The subtitles are shown the same spot even on my T2 signal. It's slightly upwards to give way to Chinese subtitles at the bottom. As of now theres only option to either one unlike SD source showing both.

But the Chinese and Malay subs on 5HD are on the same position when you choose either language. Why ah?

All such issues are related to the STB settings, which may or may not be open to subscribers.

As an example, if u are using TV tuner to tune to DVB-C, u may or may not be able to select the layout of the subtitles depending on the TV tuner application.

b00mxer

seems like early adopting a T2 TV doesn't seems to be a good idea, but nonetheless current TV works great!

:)

They might have a reason for unencrypting these signals. Who knows one day we're encouraged to get a DVB-C receiver for those who prefer plugging in via cable points and not ugly antennas lying around? Haha just a wild guess.

sunsetbay

the day before, Ch981 was at 522Mhz, today they changed to 514Mhz~

Good move ;) this shows that good things indeed comes to those who wait! But unfortunate for your purchase of T2 set~

tio pwned by MDA lor~ those pple intend to get a T2 TV or T2's STB, i wld suggest considering a DVB-C TV or DVB-C's STB~

unless you are hv the option to connect to MATV like me, u will hv the advantage to recv m'sia analog channels~ if using indoor antenna, the only channels recv are mediacorp channels~

for now, DVB-C users will able to recv the same mediacorp HD channels with additional SuperSports Arena and Lifetime~ :s22:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.