The Spectacles Thread. - Part 2

oldbreadstinks

Nosepads misalignments are small matters becos frames with metal nosepad arms usually will be misaligned no matter wat, and anyway our noses are crooked anywhere. If you had customers like that pissed off those are really sick ple who dont understand.

But honestly how many shops are willing to admit their lenses PD or axis is off? Most if not all of them will just try to cover up if they can becos frankly hey know that customers have no way of testing the accuracies of lenses except seeking advices from other shops. They will give excuses or just tell you to GET USED to them. Ofcos its sad, even hearbreaking at times. But most opticuans dont really care. Sad truths.
:s13::s13: i've had customers who want both nosepads to look the same

after not being satisfied with the first ten pairs we showed, the customer requested we show more...... so i opened an entire bag of nose pads to show the customer and let the customer choose the best 2 pairs of nose pads from hundreds of nosepads

satki anot?

after one& a half hour i buay tahan liao .... i took two nose pad and filed the corners away and showed the customer and the customer left satisfied with 2 pairs of perfectly symmetrical nosepads :s22:

as for the second part, for high astig, slight deviations from the axis will make vision blur, if the vision is blur you can always request the staff to check with the lensometer... there's no need to go to another shop

oldbreadstinks

already change again but still the same after came back from nanyang optical. they ask if i spray anything but i did not use anything at all except clean with the given cloth

Hahas fancy toking abt how good essilor is. End up got customer complained here liao. Wat a joke man.
You are not the first person complain abt nanyang.

this one not nanyang issue .... he stated nanyang changed the lenses for him
he can actually request for the lenses to be changed again if he really feels the problem is with the quality of this particular brand

the dots look like reaction with something .
it's not hardcoat crackings or multicoat peeling
while essilor isn't knowing for being extremely durable coatings this isn't that
prevencia lens?

Seannie

:s13::s13: i've had customers who want both nosepads to look the same

after not being satisfied with the first ten pairs we showed, the customer requested we show more...... so i opened an entire bag of nose pads to show the customer and let the customer choose the best 2 pairs of nose pads from hundreds of nosepads

satki anot?

after one& a half hour i buay tahan liao .... i took two nose pad and filed the corners away and showed the customer and the customer left satisfied with 2 pairs of perfectly symmetrical nosepads :s22:

as for the second part, for high astig, slight deviations from the axis will make vision blur, if the vision is blur you can always request the staff to check with the lensometer... there's no need to go to another shop

That customer of yurs is not sakti. Its just ** **. Im surprised u actually attended to his demanding request and didnt turn him away nicely. :eek: Thought you wont want to do business with this type of ple. :s22: if i do that to most opticians they probably tell me to f off. How to get 2 nosepads exactly the same wahbiang. Then his nose also wont be exactly even. Did he go file the uneven parts off? But anyway i wont have this kind of problems anymore got it sorted out. Becis i only look for plastic frames now without nosepads. Wont have nosepads problems again. Swee boh? Took me many years of pain to get enlightenment. If u cant get used to nosepads u never will. Yur ** customer will definitely come back with more problems ask u adjust here & there. If he never returns means he went to bother other opticians. Gd luck.

U mean customers can actually handle the lensometer? But i dont know how to take readings myself. Its just based on the optician's readings. So if he tell me readings are accurate i wouldnt know if he is hiding the truth. :s22:

Seannie

the spots looks like either left there by water droplets drying up(easily cleaned off)
or seem to have reacted with something to appear like that

generally it's some sort of chemical which ate into the lens and most commonly suspected is hair spray
:s22::s22::s22:

Ple already say he dont use hairspray yet u still doubted it. If it is left by water marks he would have cleaned off liao. :s22: u think he never tried mah??

I tell u this kind of problem only occurs with unbranded lenses good lenses shouldnt be like that so i dont know why it occurred for such prestigious brand as essilor. Did they use inferior materials? I dunoe. Not going to say too much here. Let customers judge for themselves.

Seannie

i have actually wiped machine oil off often( after using a lot and smearing all over the lenses from trying to get a screw out) . so the question really is the quality of the cloth and it's condition

I think the question really is the quality of the LENSES coatings. If use microfibre cloth v troublesome have to regularly clean the cloth hang dry etc. And dirts and particles can get trapped inside the fibre and scratch yur lenses when u wipe. Best i use tissue. 100% virgin pulp eh sai bo? Kleenex brand. Sakti?

oldbreadstinks

That customer of yurs is not sakti. Its just ** **. Im surprised u actually attended to his demanding request and didnt turn him away nicely. :eek: Thought you wont want to do business with this type of ple. :s22: if i do that to most opticians they probably tell me to f off. How to get 2 nosepads exactly the same wahbiang. Then his nose also wont be exactly even. Did he go file the uneven parts off? But anyway i wont have this kind of problems anymore got it sorted out. Becis i only look for plastic frames now without nosepads. Wont have nosepads problems again. Swee boh? Took me many years of pain to get enlightenment. If u cant get used to nosepads u never will. Yur ** customer will definitely come back with more problems ask u adjust here & there. If he never returns means he went to bother other opticians. Gd luck.

U mean customers can actually handle the lensometer? But i dont know how to take readings myself. Its just based on the optician's readings. So if he tell me readings are accurate i wouldnt know if he is hiding the truth. :s22:
I choose customers yes but Shes not my customer :s13: and I'm apparently the only one intrigued and patient enough to want to handle her. And no I don't think she's a **
Just different

You don't need to handle the lensometer
You just need to request the optician / optometrist / sales staff to use it and show you the readings. There's a screen and it's not in arcane language
But as our exchanges show you're not very good at interpersonal exchanges. ... You may feel more comfortable bringing to another shop with your present disposition :s22:

Edit: throughout my years as a staff in prominent chains. I've never had the thought its OK to be rude to a customer because she has a different request. . Not did managers No matter how they dont like the customer allowed staff to be rude unless the customer is rude/aggressive first.
And the question here is she has already paid for her services
I happen to have met even customers who proceeded to eat/ drink / cut hair / flick boogers in front of me.
If the nosepads are adjusted properly to your noses what is there to get use to?

oldbreadstinks

Ple already say he dont use hairspray yet u still doubted it. If it is left by water marks he would have cleaned off liao. :s22: u think he never tried mah??

I tell u this kind of problem only occurs with unbranded lenses good lenses shouldnt be like that so i dont know why it occurred for such prestigious brand as essilor. Did they use inferior materials? I dunoe. Not going to say too much here. Let customers judge for themselves.

I've managed to clean of "scratches " for customers who told me they wanted to change lenses from "scratches "

Then we have a good laugh over it

Essilor's products seem focused on gimmicks and specialised uses. Not hardy general lenses
Like optic fog. Which uses hydrophilic coatings instead of hydrophobic coatings
Very useful for targeted users not everyone
If you were to use those types of lenses as normal lenses you'll be sorely disappointed.

He seems to be wearing blue control lenses. I assume To block off blue light I'm not familiar with that particular lens as I hardly touch Essilor products only enough to recognize them as so

Yet You have some personal vendetta against them....
Like you had against Zeiss when I recommended Zeiss half a year ago
If you're on a high stimulant diet you should cut down
There's really no need to condemn something you know nothing about
Essilor is actually dominating the market with good reason.

oldbreadstinks

I think the question really is the quality of the LENSES coatings. If use microfibre cloth v troublesome have to regularly clean the cloth hang dry etc. And dirts and particles can get trapped inside the fibre and scratch yur lenses when u wipe. Best i use tissue. 100% virgin pulp eh sai bo? Kleenex brand. Sakti?

I hardly wash my cloth ..... Actually Ive never washed them :s22: simply used and throw. Much cheaper that way then wasting water and detergent.
Usually I'll rinse my lenses thoroughly to remove dust and then shake dry and remove excess water with my cloth
Under normal wearing circumstances and daily cleaning there's no way your cloth will accumulate enough dirt / dust to scratch your lenses
Besides.... Most scratches come about from using excessive force... I see how most see residue stains and instead of wiping it away they proceed to" polish the lenses" with the cleaning cloth
A very good piece of microfiber cleaning cloth costs you $2-5 depending on the location you buy them from. Washing them 2-3 times... And the time/detergent /water used would be more than equal to buying another cloth
There's really no point to purifying it of all possible traces of oil when after washing... You plock it back onto your face
I believe removing visible traces of oil will do

oldbreadstinks

Why cant it be nanyang problems? U naive or trying to act innocent mah??:s22: nanyang changed lens mean not that problem???

The lenses are from Essilor. The staff from nanyang changed his lenses upon his complain
So how is nanyang at fault? :s13:
Nanyang would be at fault if they passed him lenses with a cracked hardcoat or peeling multicoat
But it's spots from some chemical reaction. If not hairspray. It's might be perfumes
Those spots happened from contact with something that came in droplet form

orson_y

new to progressive lens

i think i need to switch to progressive lens as i have difficulty reading things near my face, like handphone. i just discovered that the different lens brands have actually have different lines.

i was curious about owndays because of the very good price they've advertised, but found a review that says there seem to be no intermediate vision on them. is this true? will there be extra tests/measurements needed for progressive lens vs the single vission one?

anything you can recommend for first time progressive lens user. pasir miki seems to have a 15% discount on their lens. anyone have experience with them before?

Thanks.

oldbreadstinks

i think i need to switch to progressive lens as i have difficulty reading things near my face, like handphone. i just discovered that the different lens brands have actually have different lines.

i was curious about owndays because of the very good price they've advertised, but found a review that says there seem to be no intermediate vision on them. is this true? will there be extra tests/measurements needed for progressive lens vs the single vission one?

anything you can recommend for first time progressive lens user. pasir miki seems to have a 15% discount on their lens. anyone have experience with them before?

Thanks.
First paragraph :yes

Second : they should have an intermediate. But the size may not be useful

Third : Paris miki has pretty good service on average. More systematic. If things go wrong they will rectify it

You can drop by and have a chat first to make enquiries. If you feel comfortable then consider buying with them?

Seannie

I choose customers yes but Shes not my customer :s13: and I'm apparently the only one intrigued and patient enough to want to handle her. And no I don't think she's a **
Just different

You don't need to handle the lensometer
You just need to request the optician / optometrist / sales staff to use it and show you the readings. There's a screen and it's not in arcane language
But as our exchanges show you're not very good at interpersonal exchanges. ... You may feel more comfortable bringing to another shop with your present disposition :s22:

** means ** la no need say so nice, wat different. Ya a pain in the ass is wat u really mean, ya? The more u say the more hypocrite it sounds.

Lensometer can be adjusted for the readings to read accurate in order to show us, no?

Seannie

The lenses are from Essilor. The staff from nanyang changed his lenses upon his complain
So how is nanyang at fault? :s13:
Nanyang would be at fault if they passed him lenses with a cracked hardcoat or peeling multicoat
But it's spots from some chemical reaction. If not hairspray. It's might be perfumes
Those spots happened from contact with something that came in droplet form

Why cant nanyang be at fault? Lenses are from them. Could be nanyang or the lens brand at fault. I have experienced nanyang faults before, and not just once so i know they have faults. My fren works in essilor lab ofcos i know the brand. How can i not know the stuff? U think i sprout rubbish? Probably u dont know cos u just optician dont work in essilor lab, dont know the behind scenes. Anyway cant comment further in nanyang or essilor lest get myself in troubles. Customers would know what they get. Just like that guy who had dot patches on his lenses. Tok is cheap la. Products are proof of quality.

When u mentioned zeiss last year, Duravision is not even out in mkt YET. So no need to go ," there, i told u so" kind of ting. Cos if its lotutec coating i dont find zeiss lens attractive. But the duravision new coating is really appealing & i think stinky bread is not attentive to wat ple say leh. Need to keep repeating & explaining.

oldbreadstinks

** means ** la no need say so nice, wat different. Ya a pain in the ass is wat u really mean, ya? The more u say the more hypocrite it sounds.

Lensometer can be adjusted for the readings to read accurate in order to show us, no?

:s13:yeah adjust in front of you :s13:

when i'm at work I call it professionalism not to deny service of current customers
but all this weird reasoning explains why you have so much bad experiences doesn't it?:s13:

oldbreadstinks

Hey oldbreadstinks, do you have a specific microfiber cleaning cloth to introduce?

What glasses advice will you give to one who is active, workouts or play sports?

What do you think of Japanese hand-made glasses, and glasses made in Japan?

not really, i order directly from the manufacturer and i choose the specifications
for the first few cleanings i don't think it makes a difference , but the ones i ordered for myself, i made a decision for thicker ones, they have a few thickness to choose from, i can't recall how many , 4-5?
i went for either 3 or 4 with 1 being the thinnest

i compared between 1-2 and what i ordered, with frequent usage there's a difference in how long it cleans before being unusable
with the thinnest really feeling like a limb rag with a few uses , they absorb the oil well but you need to wash them really quickly
( I don't wash my cloths , i usually take one look at my customers glasses, if semi oily i'll wipe them straight away, otherwise i'll use alchohol first so I've never been bothered by the "oil" )

from my understanding, if you find shops selling such clothes , they actually costs less than the ones who don't do so well
.why....... i don't know so ask me also no use :s22:
probably because they were mostly ordered to be given and not for sale? i dunno really . but most sell it as an afterthought on request
i know some chains i've visited have pretty good generic microfiber cloths they give out to their regulars upon request .

if you are really very active, we're talking kayaking sort
i don't recommend it but one option is lasik
i'm a humji kia especially after seeing failures and due to my work i see them often .... it's quite rare for any males in this particular trade to go for lasik

but there are more successful cases than failures . and for really active lifestyles you can consider that because if you're going to spend thousands going up mountains , lasik if done well is a recommendation

otherwise contacts . <--- common choice these days

or for glasses , if the design fits. the glasses once adjusted don't need to grip hard and it wouldn't slip short of contact sports
most of the "sports Designs" have ridges or rubber pads to add friction
if you intend to get your face smashed in during sports, maybe straight legs would be a good option to avoid tearing your ears off
a good distance to be maintained from the face to prevent fogging .

haven't see glasses made in japan often to comment
but I love the frames .. assuming they really are made there, the material is better , the joints are smoother
finishing better .....but comes with a cost difference

Seannie

I hardly wash my cloth ..... Actually Ive never washed them :s22: simply used and throw. Much cheaper that way then wasting water and detergent.
Usually I'll rinse my lenses thoroughly to remove dust and then shake dry and remove excess water with my cloth
Under normal wearing circumstances and daily cleaning there's no way your cloth will accumulate enough dirt / dust to scratch your lenses
Besides.... Most scratches come about from using excessive force... I see how most see residue stains and instead of wiping it away they proceed to" polish the lenses" with the cleaning cloth
A very good piece of microfiber cleaning cloth costs you $2-5 depending on the location you buy them from. Washing them 2-3 times... And the time/detergent /water used would be more than equal to buying another cloth
There's really no point to purifying it of all possible traces of oil when after washing... You plock it back onto your face
I believe removing visible traces of oil will do

How can there be no dust collected on cloth? Dust and dirt is flying all ard in the air, tats how our lenses got dust right? Else dust comes from where, secrete from our face??

Cloth collects more dust and trapped in between the fibre then how? Wont that be more possibility of scratching our lenses when the microfiber cloth wipes over the lenses? Tissues cheaper. Will just stick to tissues, soap & water.

Seannie

:s13:yeah adjust in front of you :s13:

when i'm at work I call it professionalism not to deny service of current customers
but all this weird reasoning explains why you have so much bad experiences doesn't it?:s13:

Wat weird reasoning? I think u dun understand wat im saying. I ask again, can the lensmeter be adjusted by optician so that the reading on the machine can tally with what the lens prescrption should read? If lens is off, can they manually adjust at the side so that it is correct then show it to me? Understand boh?

oldbreadstinks

Wat weird reasoning? I think u dun understand wat im saying. I ask again, can the lensmeter be adjusted by optician so that the reading on the machine can tally with what the lens prescrption should read? If lens is off, can they manually adjust at the side so that it is correct then show it to me? Understand boh?

if you're so garang as to go to another shop so often and have the staff check the lenses haven't you noticed the method of usage is the same? :s13:
most users either use straight away or change modes
not adjust anything

unless the staff is really so skilled or you were to call an hour in advance before coming , how is the staff suppose to adjust the meter to make a wrong power appear correct on the display?:s13:
if you're worried to this point, the lenses actually comes with a card with your prescription for some bands like zeiss
if not and you would like to try "osa " lenses again :s13: you can request for a formal letter from the lab to verify the power

which is why like I said this is a specific user issue

you're a paranoid user , the problem is with you , and instead of rectrifying the issue you go around in circles to look for proof to prove your paranoia
there are cases where when the shop cannot handle, zeiss takes over

for your case to go around is so many circles with so much bad experiences either you are always attracted to chopshops or you're the problem

When u mentioned zeiss last year, Duravision is not even out in mkt YET. So no need to go ," there, i told u so" kind of ting. Cos if its lotutec coating i dont find zeiss lens attractive. But the duravision new coating is really appealing & i think stinky bread is not attentive to wat ple say leh. Need to keep repeating & explaining.

i mentioned duravion last year in our exchanges , i've been selling almost 2 years now. along with teflon which was just discontinued

you can trace back to the old thread , along with the last time last year you also called me stinky bread "because hoya is the best"
as regards to your above comment

you might want to retrace your steps to see how you defended hoya with religious zest:s13:

Why cant nanyang be at fault? Lenses are from them. Could be nanyang or the lens brand at fault. I have experienced nanyang faults before, and not just once so i know they have faults. My fren works in essilor lab ofcos i know the brand. How can i not know the stuff? U think i sprout rubbish? Probably u dont know cos u just optician dont work in essilor lab, dont know the behind scenes. Anyway cant comment further in nanyang or essilor lest get myself in troubles. Customers would know what they get. Just like that guy who had dot patches on his lenses. Tok is cheap la. Products are proof of quality.
nanyang changed his lenses so how can nanyang be at fault here ?:s13:
the spots appear to be a reaction with something that touched the lenses in droplet form
not cracking/peeling , something you should be aware of with your illustrious experiences
nanyang certainly didn't go over to his house to create those spots
if he's still unsatisfied he should ask nanyang for options and whether he can change the lenses to something else if he has no confidence in the lenses

riiiggghhhttt and I have no friends inside the labs . despite having to call them everyday, eat with them . play soccer with them
do favours sometimes . sell their products, warranty them when something happens

suddenly your magical friend who works inside essilor, unprofesionally badmouths his employer and *poof* your logic is infallible :s13:

I may not support them but I still acknowledge they service the bulk of the market and most of their customers are satisfied

every lab has it's own secrets . some blow up, others don't . so you picking on one because you don't know about the rest is like those market aunties picking up the latest gossip and sharing one sided stories

oldbreadstinks

How can there be no dust collected on cloth? Dust and dirt is flying all ard in the air, tats how our lenses got dust right? Else dust comes from where, secrete from our face??

Cloth collects more dust and trapped in between the fibre then how? Wont that be more possibility of scratching our lenses when the microfiber cloth wipes over the lenses? Tissues cheaper. Will just stick to tissues, soap & water.

:s13: you're an engineer , or so you claimed
this is physics not something that's arcane lore hidden away from the masses

it's common sense to keep your cloth away from conditions that attracts dust in cases , holders

+ i have already mentioned how lenses got scratched with dust and why
it's usually because people use force instead of gently
plastic is soft, anything harder will scratch it , rubbing it hard will scratch it too, that's why so many people who used tissue to rub and try to clean their CDs only add to the scratches
i have always wiped my lenses only after rinsing if i've been outdoors , see how i mentioned previously i wipe with some water droplets left?

this is basic common sense to add a lubricant
:s22:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.