Standard Chartered - Only Online Trading in town with no minimum commission

StaRChO

buy US stock can only done through phone? i got an error when purchase a stock on nasdaq from online

call scb, they say all the operators are busy.... wah lao.

Gentleblade

buy US stock can only done through phone? i got an error when purchase a stock on nasdaq from online

me too. 1st time try but. got this

Exchange is not available for trading. Please contact Phone Banking. (Msg Code: 1067)

Perisher

Nope, can done online, I have 30+++ US counters there 99% done by online trading. In fact, I just purchased APL 30mins ago. I don't really recall their calling thing ever work when their system is down.

StaRChO

hmmm strange.. izzit because i entered total amount to close to whatever i have? I go try again..

Gentleblade

Nope, can done online, I have 30+++ US counters there 99% done by online trading. In fact, I just purchased APL 30mins ago. I don't really recall their calling thing ever work when their system is down.

hi peri,

side track abit. so i have to have fund trasnfer from my scb esaver account. to my SECURITIES TRADING ACCOUNT first? then after order is fufill. it will deduct off?

or transfer the $SGD to FCY SECURITIES SETTLEMENT ACCOUNT USD first?

Perisher

hi peri,

side track abit. so i have to have fund trasnfer from my scb esaver account. to my SECURITIES TRADING ACCOUNT first? then after order is fufill. it will deduct off?

or transfer the $SGD to FCY SECURITIES SETTLEMENT ACCOUNT USD first?

There is the local one at the top which doesn't have the 'FCY', that is for you to put your $$ for buying local stocks.
The FCY one is for your other market, you have to convert before 8.30pm(I can't remember exact timing) on a weekday only, then put into the respective currency you want to trade.

All trading will deduct from your respective SECURITIES SETTLEMENT ACCOUNT.

EvilPaladin

There is the local one at the top which doesn't have the 'FCY', that is for you to put your $$ for buying local stocks.
The FCY one is for your other market, you have to convert before 8.30pm(I can't remember exact timing) on a weekday only, then put into the respective currency you want to trade.

All trading will deduct from your respective SECURITIES SETTLEMENT ACCOUNT.

What is the settlement date? T+3? T+5?

Soccer123321123

Charges for Trading US market

Hi guys, wanna check with you

1. what is the currency exchange fee for trading in US market using SC platform?

2. are there any US stock holding costs?

3. how about the monthly service fees?

4. are the dividends from US stocks subject to 30% tax?

Thanks!

Perisher

What is the settlement date? T+3? T+5?

As this is a cash upfront type of account, the cash is already deducted immediately when the trade is done, there is a refresh purchase power thing to the right in your online trading site you can use to see roughly how much purchase power you have.

Do not be fool by the cash you see in your home page, that one will be updated a few days later.

Hi guys, wanna check with you

1. what is the currency exchange fee for trading in US market using SC platform?

2. are there any US stock holding costs?

3. how about the monthly service fees?

4. are the dividends from US stocks subject to 30% tax?

Thanks!

Did you even try to search, this 4 q has been answered many times.
1. Currency exchange rate is +/-0.015 roughly. Horrendous, I know.
2. $0
3. $0
4. Yes

Perisher

I ask a question too, see who can answer.

Can one open a company for the sole purpose of purchasing shares through SCB online trading account, enjoying the cheap cheap commission and not worry about the estate tax?
What are the cost involve in doing that?

Because if the cost is a token sum a year, this would be a perfect solution for so many people who are scare of the estate tax.

And if this is possible, wouldn't people just start a company to become a sort of hedge fund and gather $$ from friends and families?

Sinkie

Can one open a company for the sole purpose of purchasing shares through SCB online trading account, enjoying the cheap cheap commission and not worry about the estate tax?

Because if the cost is a token sum a year, this would be a perfect solution for so many people who are scare of the estate tax.

And if this is possible, wouldn't people just start a company to become a sort of hedge fund and gather $$ from friends and families?

There will be corporate tax on your profit

limster

If you have 30 years+ more to live, you should ignore estate tax because the laws can change. In any event, it doesn't matter since you will be quite dead.

Worrying about what the tax law will be in 30+ years times is quite pointless.

In fact, its most likely that the tax regime in 30 years will be very different. Who knows what it will be.... SG Govt becomes anti-millionaire socialist party, high estate taxes and USA Govt is Tea Party, abolish all taxes.....

Sinkie

If you can become a millio $$ hedge fund hor, then you wouldn't be using Scb trading platform also, probably, depend on size you can get lower than 0.15% and what is minimun $25? Even Minimun $50 also no problem lah

Okie, here's the trade off.

When they say estate tax does not apply to companies, they are not referring to a sole proprietorship (SP). That means you have have to incorporate a company. This is because a company is considered as a separate person whereas a SP is not so in another words, if you set up a SP, you will still be subject to estate duties so you wanna set up a company.

Here's where most cost comes in when it comes to setting up a company. First you have to get a tax consultant to advice on the set up and my advice is that its not cheap. People likes to pay more on this service because they benefit even more from the tax saving. But for your case, i am not sure if it will work because you are only concern about estate duties.

Next, ACRA. You get to pay for registration fees, admin cost, audit fees, compliance cost etc. While the registration fee is a one off item, the rest are recurring.

Lasty compliance risk. Risk on compliance comes when you file your tax return to IRAS which are not in line with the laws. Non compliance will be subjected to fines or worst, jail. So you wanna get a tax agent to file your returns every year which means, additional cost.

I heard of FX traders setting up a company and get a tax agent to consult them because they earn so much that setting up a company makes sense. But since your case is only on estate duties, i doubt the benefits outweights the cost.

Geeezz

Okie, here's the trade off.

When they say estate tax does not apply to companies, they are not referring to a sole proprietorship (SP). That means you have have to incorporate a company. This is because a company is considered as a separate person whereas a SP is not so in another words, if you set up a SP, you will still be subject to estate duties so you wanna set up a company.

Here's where most cost comes in when it comes to setting up a company. First you have to get a tax consultant to advice on the set up and my advice is that its not cheap. People likes to pay more on this service because they benefit even more from the tax saving. But for your case, i am not sure if it will work because you are only concern about estate duties.

Next, ACRA. You get to pay for registration fees, admin cost, audit fees, compliance cost etc. While the registration fee is a one off item, the rest are recurring.

Lasty compliance risk. Risk on compliance comes when you file your tax return to IRAS which are not in line with the laws. Non compliance will be subjected to fines or worst, jail. So you wanna get a tax agent to file your returns every year which means, additional cost.

I heard of FX traders setting up a company and get a tax agent to consult them because they earn so much that setting up a company makes sense. But since your case is only on estate duties, i doubt the benefits outweights the cost.

Profits frm trading fx is taxable? :eek:

Yes. Fx traders have multiple samiliar transactions and their holding period is short. As far as IRAS is concern, Its classed as trade income, therefore taxable with your combine income, including salary, rent etc. The tax rate can go up to 20%.

The thing is, most people are not aware since we are the one who file our own income tax. It kinda turn into a grey spot for small time Fx traders. I won't go into a discussion for this matter. Its pretty sensitive. Just give Iras a call and you will understand.

Geeezz

Yes. Fx traders have multiple samiliar transactions and their holding period is short. As far as IRAS is concern, Its classed as trade income, therefore taxable with your combine income, including salary, rent etc. The tax rate can go up to 20%.

The thing is, most people are not aware since we are the one who file our own income tax. It kinda turn into a grey spot for small time Fx traders. I won't go into a discussion for this matter. Its pretty sensitive. Just give Iras a call and you will understand.

Then if lose money cn claim frm them? :crazy:
Thks fr the info. Always tot trading in sg ish tax free

Soccer123321123

Thanks Perisher! I did search past threads.. but wasn't very clear :)

As this is a cash upfront type of account, the cash is already deducted immediately when the trade is done, there is a refresh purchase power thing to the right in your online trading site you can use to see roughly how much purchase power you have.

Do not be fool by the cash you see in your home page, that one will be updated a few days later.

Did you even try to search, this 4 q has been answered many times.
1. Currency exchange rate is +/-0.015 roughly. Horrendous, I know.
2. $0
3. $0
4. Yes

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.