Several questions from a newbie!

visualdream

Reaction score
Hi, been reading threads in this stock subforum, have a few questions that I need some further explanations or advice!

I understand that most bro/sis here recommends IB or SCB for buying/selling.

Went to check out the sign up process for IB, i saw that one of the required item to prepare is employer details. May i ask if that is really necessary? I am actually not under any employment as i am still studying and i am under 26(for the lower startup cost). So can anyone confirm if that information is strictly needed?

I also understand that buying through both IB and SCB, the shares/stock is bought under their name, not under ours. I am interested in trying to invest part of my budget into direct shares purchase(e.g. coca cola, GE), which i found out mostly are based in USA through companies like computershare.

The question is,
-is it possible for us in Singapore to directly purchase these stocks? If possible, may i know how i can go about doing this? I see that a US social security number is required to register at sites for computershare(unless i missed something).
-are there any tax implications for such purchases?
-how do i go about paying in USD if i opt to do a monthly recurring investment for it, since through broker you can exchange a lump sum and use over time, but i am not sure how it works in this case of direct purchase.

How much(in %) of my budget would you advise me(or others younger people starting out) to invest in stocks for different market. I am currently thinking of 25% direct purchase(if possible), 25% US or other countries, 50% local, with most of them aiming for long term return(>10yrs).
Should i also try to invest in other things outside stocks such as bonds, FD/TD, insurance? I have not thought of these as i havent started reading more in depth about it.

Advise/help would be appreciated. Feel free to ask similar questions or your personal experience here too! Cheers!:)

Perisher