Air conditioning - Any recommendations please??

petetherock

Sound like outdoor unit
No, it's the head unit.
I build a false ceiling around it, so it has to fit that space.
Currently it has a 9000 BTU Toshiba, and I was told it can fit a Daikin.

My mum's home has a Mits, and its pretty huge...

kimsim

No, it's the head unit.
I build a false ceiling around it, so it has to fit that space.
Currently it has a 9000 BTU Toshiba, and I was told it can fit a Daikin.

My mum's home has a Mits, and its pretty huge...

End out you might cut off the false ceiling as well, that is most contractor who doing it.
Old vs new unit all dimension design were varies

Like MIT Starmex GE model from 10k to 18k indoor size : 230mm depth x 800mm length x 300mm high and 24k btu for 238mm D x 1100mm Long x 325mm high

terumo

To petetherock,

If your existing is Toshiba, Daikin can fit in but not Mit Electric most likely.

mkaung2000

i too am looking at MHI but nobody here seems to have experience with it.
I have been using MHI System 3 Inverter for almost 6 years now.
Very good system. Cool very fast and quiet.
Special features: 3D airflow and auto clean(leave the fan on for 2 hrs after air con has stopped to dry out the moisture).
I really like the design as every single pc of indoor unit can be dismantled very easily.

Gribber

I have been using MHI System 3 Inverter for almost 6 years now.
Very good system. Cool very fast and quiet.
Special features: 3D airflow and auto clean(leave the fan on for 2 hrs after air con has stopped to dry out the moisture).
I really like the design as every single pc of indoor unit can be dismantled very easily.

Wow, thanks! Just what i have been wanting to know!

How was the servicing?

mkaung2000

Share my experience of usage with ME Starmex sys 3, last weekend we engage Ah Yi for changed my living room unit from 13k BTU to 18k BTU now, also asked him to adjusted the outdoor condenser unit for current limitation from 8.5A to 11A maximum now.

Anyway he did the great jobs for us and thanks with Ah Yi :D
Alamak, keep promoting Ah Yi huh? =:p

mkaung2000

Wow, thanks! Just what i have been wanting to know!

How was the servicing?
What you meant of servicing?
I maintain my air cond on my own, even for chemical cleaning. :)
Very easy one dah. As I said, design is very good.
You only know how good or bad the design is, when you dismantle.

Gribber

What you meant of servicing?
I maintain my air cond on my own, even for chemical cleaning. :)
Very easy one dah. As I said, design is very good.
You only know how good or bad the design is, when you dismantle.

Oh my.

I dont know if i could do it by myself...

kimsim

Damn my Starmex after adjusted current limitation into 11A Max. Now my room set on low fan is without sleep mode and set to 26C now my foot feels like very cold, can't tahan if my leg put on near to FCU when the air is blows out.

Dunno good or not good... :D
Even living room set to 25C with low fan speed too, in kitchen area can be feels it very cooling, unlike b4 like nothing.

kimsim

yr electrical bill will go up like hell.... be prepare...

But faster cut off compressor during time wow.
The feeling just like you set to 23C and mid fan.

Not sure which is true, compressor faster reaching time = save or slower duration time and all indoors may increase few step lower temp.

G Cheung

Best price?

Decided on Mitsubishi Electric Starmex Inverter System 4 (MXY4A28VA+MSYGE24VA+MSYGE10VA*3) for my new place

Best quote i got is $3850 nett

Includes:
- Armaflex Class 1 insulation
- 3C70 wire
- 13mm waterpipe (+$50 can upgrade to 16mm but is it necessary??)
- Grade 22 copper pipe

- 1 or 2-trip installation

- Free $100 aircon servicing voucher

Saw the same set on G***city's website @ $4169 and C***serve @ $4055. Some other smaller aircon companies are cheaper compared to these big ones but best one is still this $3850 so far.

Anyone got even better price recommendations? Heehee! Need to confirm everything by tonight.

kimsim

Decided on Mitsubishi Electric Starmex Inverter System 4 (MXY4A28VA+MSYGE24VA+MSYGE10VA*3) for my new place

Includes:
- 3C70 wire
- Grade 22 copper pipe

Saw the same set on G***city's website @ $4169 and C***serve @ $4055. Some other smaller aircon companies are cheaper compared to these big ones but best one is still this $3850 so far.

Anyone got even better price recommendations? Heehee! Need to confirm everything by tonight.

Upgrade into 16mm drain pipe if can, but just forget about insulation on that pipes, if 13mm still able to fit in the foam.

Good to hear that 3C70 if they can given, but make sure is confirm for pure copper material as well.

The rest no comments

jungle_sg

Looking to change to System 3 to replace my aging Sharp air cond:-

Offer from my contractor:-

1) Panasonic Cu-3s27mkz/cs-9pkzm x 3 - $2910
2) Daikin 3mks71fsg/ftks 25 dvm x 3 - $3075
3) Mitsubishi Mxy-3-a28 va/msy-ge10va x 3 - $3000

All prices include installation plus ss bracket

My priority is saving on electricity, ease of maintenance, quite

Please assist and comment, thanks.

terumo

To jungle_sg,
Prices quite reasonable.
I will go for Mit Electric based on the prices you have given.
Panasonic should have a promotion now where they give free vouchers and gifts.
Can check with your contractor.

chomechome

Includes:
- 3C70 wire
- Grade 22 copper pipe

Big company comes with longer warranty for installation and spare parts. You may double check with them

G Cheung

Upgrade into 16mm drain pipe if can, but just forget about insulation on that pipes, if 13mm still able to fit in the foam.

Good to hear that 3C70 if they can given, but make sure is confirm for pure copper material as well.

The rest no comments

Thanks for the advise!

G Cheung

Big company comes with longer warranty for installation and spare parts. You may double check with them

Thanks for the advise! Its the same leh.. 1 year installation warranty, 1 year indoor parts warranty and 5 years outdoor parts warranty.

simplelifez

Need urgent advise

My house uses system 3.
The aircon nearest to the condenser is working fine
The next 2 aircon can switch on, but it is not cold.. aka normal room temperature.

Thought needs servicing.
The repair people come and say this spoilt and that spoilt so need to change whole 3 unit and condenser, quote me 2.5k . Price dun have piping etc included.

Should I go ahead. ?
The aircon I last installed is like 8 years ago

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.