[Maylyn - Networking] ASUS RT-AC88U

renfred89

Sorry OT a bit .. Brother like renfred89 ..which day going Sitex? Let's meet Friday afternoon go together and find Asus@sg. Tia Gong he is bery handsome wan.

I go there buy a Netgear x5300 and walk over show him.... :D

sure man.. lets go together and show asus@sg..

actually, i met asus@sg before, indeed handsome sia! :D:D

valiantinus

Hi all

I just bought the ASUS RT88 but i am unable to connect to my fibre broadband. Anyone with 88U facing this same problem.

THanks!

trichard

I just left Tampines challenger... Looking around the Asus rack cannot find any then about to leave kick a box on the shelf floor corner... Oh it is dump there ...

Big box siah... Me in slipper now toe pain.... :mad:

phayze

Did u buy after finding challenger has it?

I just left Tampines challenger... Looking around the Asus rack cannot find any then about to leave kick a box on the shelf floor corner... Oh it is dump there ...

maylyn

Fate ah .... you there to hoot or drooling or trying to molest? :eek: :s13:

Dump or offload your ASUS AC3200 or TP-Link 2600 =:p

trichard

No ...... I turn the box upside down before left .............:D

This is the unit location

g9wJLXH.jpg

maylyn

No ...... I turn the box upside down before left .............:D

This is the unit location

g9wJLXH.jpg

You very free leh .... just hoot and set it up and enjoy it to the fullest :D still need to go windows shopping @ Challenger this public holiday :s11: :s22: :s13:

Let me poison you more on the 8x Low Noise Power Amplifiers ^^

trichard

Did u buy after finding challenger has it?

You very free leh .... just hoot and set it up and enjoy it to the fullest :D still need to go windows shopping @ Challenger this public holiday :s11: :s22: :s13:

Let me poison you more on the 8x Low Noise Power Amplifiers ^^

This one more fun right?

maylyn

This one more fun right?

Awaiting to you to hoot @ SGD$699 lor :s13: and bit the bullet :s22:

ASUS RT-5300 Alaskan King Crab is only @ SGD$469? The differences i can go hoot one real Alaskan King Crab and yummy.

Put in layman terms, if the active power amps antenna is that good? why don't NetGear implement 8 antennas design? rather 4x internal and 4x external? machiam lppl .... ASUS isn't that dumb that they even think of it lor lol :s13:

trichard

Awaiting to you to hoot @ SGD$699 lor :s13: and bit the bullet :s22:

ASUS RT-5300 Alaskan King Crab is only @ SGD$469? The differences i can go hoot one real Alaskan King Crab and yummy.

Put in layman terms, if the active power amps antenna is that good? why don't NetGear implement 8 antennas design? rather 4x internal and 4x external? machiam lppl .... ASUS isn't that dumb that they even think of it lor lol :s13:
Of course 4 antenna first lah ........ X8500...........

Then X8500 (enhance version) .... all 8 outside liao ...... turn into the crab .... and eat Asus crap for supper......:D

But must have more to buy and play .... else alone buy got problem alone suffer......:D

maylyn

For those ASUS RT-AC88U users whom want to start using RMerlin's firmware. (378.56_2)

Do note that this RMerlin's firmware is based on ASUSWRT GPL 9177 so it's not current with ASUS RT-AC88U first release firmware (3.0.0.4.380.664)

RMerlin based on (3.0.0.4.380.664) will be coming out in due time.

Asuswrt-Merlin is now available for all supported models, including the RT-N66U build.

Summary of changes since 378.55:

Merged with Asus GPL 378_9177, which includes numerous fixes and tweaks, and improvements to the networkmap. This includes the newer Quantenna driver for the RT-AC87U, which resolves connectivity issues on the 5 GHz band, however it still causes some battery drain on that band. The only workaround is to revert to 378.55 if this is a problem for you.
Support was added for the (unreleased yet) RT-AC88U. Thanks to Asus for providing a development sample.
Enhancements to syslog handling. The default log level can now be configured (it used to be hardcoded to Emergency). This is especially useful to users who log to a remote syslog server.
Editable entries for the DHCP static lease, virtual servers and prot triggers pages.
Various component updates: miniupnpd, openvpn, dropbear and minidlna were updated to their latest versions.
Various issues related to networkmap were resolved, especially handling of long hostnames.
You can now configure up to five separate OpenVPN clients, to match Asus's stock FW.
Numerous other fixes, please see the complete changelog for details

Additional changes in 378.56_2:

Code:
378.56_2 (2-Nov-2015)
    - CHANGED: Reverted the memory buffering optimization
               for ARM devices, as people keep panicking
               over the lower amount of free RAM.  You can
               manually re-enable the optimization by setting
               "drop_caches=0" in nvram.
    - CHANGED: Allow using a port < 1024 for http(s) webui
               interface.
    - FIXED: EMF wasn't working on AC56/AC68/AC87.
    - FIXED: Couldn't connect to ISPs using VLANs (RT-AC87U)
    - FIXED: Editing Port Forward entry with ellipsis in
             the description or the port range would
             still edit the shortened version instead
             of the full content.
    - FIXED: Debug log from mDNSNetMonitor could gradually
             fill up RAM - disabled it.
    - FIXED: Router crash if pasting SSH key > 2047
             characters.
    - FIXED: Editing an entry on the networkmap would
             clear the hostname if entry existed in
             the DHCP static list.
    - FIXED: OpenVPN server in secret key mode
             would fail to start.
    - FIXED: Couldn't add entries to the MAC Filter list
             of Guest Networks (reverted our previous
             implementation which conflicted with
             Asus's new one).
    - FIXED: NTP failing to refresh for some cases.
             Implemented temporary workaround.
    - FIXED: Some services not properly starting at
             boot time (like Parental Control or Tor)

Downloads are here.
Changelog is here.

uplinkhack

Hi all

I just bought the ASUS RT88 but i am unable to connect to my fibre broadband. Anyone with 88U facing this same problem.

THanks!

Same problem. On SingTel fiber, unable to connect. Xianz..

Edit: upgraded firmware to 3.0.0.4.380.858 still doesn't work. Seems like router issue. Unable to auto detect SingTel modem.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.