EDMW Knife Collectors

vespaguy

Master Member
Reaction score
Happy Diwali/Deepavali to all Hindu knifeknuts and all who celebrate ;)

I will celebrate too by savouring some Indian dishes later.

This Diwali week, I am offering the following Marfione Custom Anax with a whole bunch of freebies for [revised - see below post] =:p Thank you for looking.

IMG_2422_zpstzabzbdg.jpg

You can see the value of what I'm including (some of the decals are priceless/can't be bought), and the CRKT I'm including is here:

http://www2.knifecenter.com/item/CR...n-plain-blade-stainless-steel-and-g10-handles

Last edited:

deadjr

Reaction score
Hi guys,

I'm pretty new to this knife scene but anyway recently I was trying to pick up sharpening and just got myself a lansky 5 stone deluxe to do the job (probably not the best system out there, I thought it was value for money and gentle learning curve).

So I was putting the system to test and I realized that after finishing up the last stone (1000 grit), I find that the edge is not consistent. For instance, the shine of the edge looks messy and uneven. I also realized that "flatter" edge is pretty sharp and is able to cut paper with ease, but when it comes to the curve edge (nearer to the tip), paper start to tear.

Any tips there to improve on this?

I am still hand holding the clamp itself, considering buying a bench vice to hold the clamp.

vespaguy

Master Member
Reaction score
Hi guys,

...but when it comes to the curve edge (nearer to the tip), paper start to tear.

hello :) the curve edge - that's generally called the 'belly'. I don't know anything about the lansky, but likely you're not hitting the actual edge (the apex), so you're just sharpening the rest of the edge bevel but not the actual apex.

Did you test for the burr/wire edge throughout the edge?

You can use a marker pen and mark the edge to ensure that you're actually sharpening the apex of the edge throughout the whole length of the blade.