sharing my scrapping experience...

dnsfpl

1) request transaction pin via one motoring website, takes 3-5 days working days, pin valid for 5 calendar days only

2) print and fill up D01 form, again via one motoring website

3) call the LTA appointed scrap yard, and compare the scrap value, price vs convenience

4) bring your IC, pin and D01 form to scrap yard, the operator will settle the paper work, process takes about 15 mins

5) cancel your season parking via HDB website immediately after you scrap your call

i scrapped on sunday, cancelled on sunday morning
when i drove out, there is a deduction
hdb is now processing the refund
to save all the trouble, cancel after you scrap your car

tk

how much body value u get from scrap yard?

dnsfpl

i went to Kim Hock Corporation Pte Ltd as it is the only operation that is open on sunday

their pricing is pretty fixed, 1500cc is $100

dnsfpl

then the parf rebate how ?

based on lta, they will mail to you the steps a few weeks later

you then follow the steps to "retrieve" the amount

i have not reach that stage yet

Got buy new car?

buying car is like buying more time

how much to spend on car vs how much you value your time

currently my time is not worth 100k for 10 years thus i have to wait

i will buy when

1) i have higher earning power or
2) i have not enough time or
3) the car value drop

Takodoro

i will buy when

3) the car value drop

I think buying car is more like buying convenience rather than buying more time. The lower travelling time is typically offset by additional time spent on workshop trips, car washing, admin stuff (such as insurance/car park), traffic jam etc. If you don't have maid and spent 1 hour washing your car every week, this already more or less even out your travelling time to and fro work for that week. Unless you are insurance agent or sales engineer and need to travel around for sales then it is a different story.

Nevertheless, I believe one do save on time overall. But I think one benefit more from the convenience such as shopping at industrial area, having a drop-off point for one shopping loot, sending one family member to airport and back etc.

Just my 2 cents though. Hopefully this will be the price of COE in the near future.

bendi85

i will buy when

3) the car value drop

Is it difficult to adjust to without a car ? Now u take bus/mrt?

ah_cleo

i went to sky metal, another of LTA approved, took back $80 for 1500cc..

doody_

I think next time I have to go without car for 6-12 months, so that I can get back into the cheap COE cycle that is coming up soon.

furryballs

Knn $100 only.

3 mths prior to scrapping, might as well post on forum to sell non-critical car parts like infotainment system, car panels (swap with cracked/dented ones), car jack, power window motors, headlights (sometimes ppl want to swap out to pass inspextion)... coz no matter how barebone the price is still $100 what...

Knn I think on the spot you take out the steering with airbag, post online also can get $100 lor. But steering must take out after you drive to scrapyard lar.

parkingandride

I wonder what the scrape value for the body of 3 year old car... should be many 90k coe car owner who buy in 2013 wanting to scrap their car soon...

All the engine or gearbox still working fine... if scrap for 100, can just take out all those expensive part 1 by 1 to sell ?

ralliart_ray

I wonder what the scrape value for the body of 3 year old car... should be many 90k coe car owner who buy in 2013 wanting to scrap their car soon...

All the engine or gearbox still working fine... if scrap for 100, can just take out all those expensive part 1 by 1 to sell ?

those will be exported bah

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.