Russian Rouble

sashti90

Reaction score
Hi, I'm an amateur forex trader (trade after work only). I'm fairly up to date with the market and am aware of the big crash in oil prices and oil exporting nations' currencies like the russian ruble.

Anyone has any prediction of when this may recover? Ruble has fallen very much over the past couple of years. Looking for an opportunity to long it once oil shows signs of recovering which may be within the next few months.

Also, I am currently using oanda which does not offer ruble. Anyone knows any other brokerage which offers the ruble and other exotic pairs with reasonable spread?

Thanks

invisible999

Master Member
Reaction score
Ruble has fallen very much over the past couple of years. Looking for an opportunity to long it once oil shows signs of recovering which may be within the next few months.

Below is my own personal opinion and should not considered as a investment advice. (C) I speak fluently in Russian and lived in Russia for 5.5 years so I can understand a little bit more the processes going there.

I would personally stay away from Ruble and Russian market in near future unless you specialize in short-term speculations and are very well aware of risks.

The problem with Ruble and Russia at the current moment is pretty much the same as with Venezuela. Problem is that local politics determine a lot with currency fluctuation - they are not market driven. In short - because Russian politics are unpredictable (take a look what happend last 2 years) and in reality depends on will and mood of only one person.

Number of economists would agree that ruble at this moment is undervalued but even if oil prices recover, it would not necessarily mean that ruble will recover to the same level. Elections are coming this year for local parliament and presidential elections will be coming in 2018 as well as World Cup.