HWZ Forums

Login Register FAQ Mark Forums Read

Macbook Air - Best & Most Compatible External Display

Like Tree1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 17-09-2013, 09:43 AM   #1

Macbook Air - Best & Most Compatible External Display

Hi all,

I'm pretty new to Mac as I've been a windows user all my life but decided to take the switch, listening to all the positive reviews by my friends and family members alike. So, I'll be getting my first MacBook Air 13" today and I'm pretty darned excited about it.

The problem I have is that for my scope of work, a 13" laptop would be too small for my daily needs and instead of having a separate CPU at home.. I was thinking of getting an external display and linking it up with my MBA. However, the 27" Apple Thunderbolt display is a little out of my budget and well.. a little too big for my comfort.

I'm not really good with computer configurations but I just wanted to ask you guys if there were any good external monitors (Dell, Lenovo, HP, etc) that you would recommend for a MBA. I'm looking at getting a 20" or so external monitor but am just worried about it's compatibility with a Macbook.

Thanks again in advance and I really appreciate all the help guys
The Rain Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-09-2013, 12:24 PM   #2

Any monitor that supports DVI/VGA/HDMI/Displayport, can be used for the MBA. What's your budget first?
LeonaV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-09-2013, 01:37 PM   #3

Any monitor that supports DVI/VGA/HDMI/Displayport, can be used for the MBA. What's your budget first?
Any particular brands that are affordable and durable? I'm looking to get something below $200 if possible!
Old 17-09-2013, 09:06 PM   #4

Dell U2312H Ultrasharp
budiman10 likes this.
Old 17-09-2013, 10:13 PM   #5

firstly, you will need a thunderbolt to HDMI adapter before we can plug in a HDMI monitor to the MBA. most important piece of accessory there is to the whole setup.
B772ER is offline   Reply With Quote