Recommendation: Reliable workshops in JB

myviowner

Why bother?

One of the reason I visit JB workshops is the approach of mechs towards troubleshooting.
If can be repaired or only replace damaged part my regular mech wouldn't recommend to change the whole assembly.

Of cos everyone's experience is different, I have visited so called "honda specialists", Korean car "expert", dedicated alfa romeo workshops, end day I think alot depends on luck, trial and error.

On a side note, I'm wondering if anyone has done car wrap in JB? Tempted by an ad by this ALVA Concept.
Agreed. If they have troubleshooted that particular problem before, and you approached them. Bingo. You will share they are good, professional and specialist.

kaixin18

any recommendation for reliable and cheap car polish/paint shop to touch up my paint, kenna bang by another car from behind
You don't need to research any further. I wasted my time chatting with absolute bums on carousel and elsewhere who quoted me ridiculous rates. Below are the cheapest and good workmanship. You send them the pics of your car on where you need the touching up and audio message them your enquiry via whatsapp. They will give you quote and estimated downtime.

1) Uncle Song - 96258308.
Ong Tian Sang Sembawang Motor Repair
Blk 1017 Yishun Industrial Park A #01-252 S(768759).

2) Uncle Loo - 96785087.
Leong boon loo motor services
Blk 9002 Tampines Street 93 #01-68 Tampines Industrial Park A S(528836)

sunsetbay

Wanna do my AC in JB but change of plan after my bumper kena scratched & dislodged and backlight lens cover cracked~

friend recommended me to go to this ulu "workshop", no shop name just phone number & location~ quoted rm300 to fix my bumper & repaint~ I went there and told him other areas to repair, incl side skirt dented, total damage rm550~ quite happy with the workmanship~

Car-bumper-repair-workshop-JB.jpg

The side body already sunken in, need to pull out inorder to fix the bumper~

After repair~ for the lens cover, I ordered online, going to fix myself when arrived~

Location of the workshop~ all the way inside~
https://maps.app.goo.gl/na2nwuJbjDdZK9tN6

The paint room is right in the center~ The uncle only do panel beating & spraying~

keithchan

Speaking about spray paint workshops I have shotlrtlisted BTS Painting Workshop in Bukit Indah.

Personally haven't used them but friends' reviews have been positive.

myviowner

You don't need to research any further. I wasted my time chatting with absolute bums on carousel and elsewhere who quoted me ridiculous rates. Below are the cheapest and good workmanship. You send them the pics of your car on where you need the touching up and audio message them your enquiry via whatsapp. They will give you quote and estimated downtime.

2) Uncle Loo - 96785087.
Can show before and after the paint touch up?
I have yet to come across a shop that can promise after paint touch up area is near to stock colour.

kaixin18

I have yet to come across a shop that can promise after paint touch up area is near to stock colour.
You have over 8200 posts and you come across as a shifu on this forum and you're saying you 'have yet to come across a shop that can promise after paint touch up area is near to stock colour.'?

Before-and-After.jpeg

chehjin

I think to be fair. It’s more of the current car paint condition that cause this issue than the workshop. Now a days all use paint code for standard colors mah.
Another thing is everybody’s tolerance level and expectations are different.

kaixin18

I honestly don't have to do this but hopefully the following is of some help to someone.

Workshop in SG told us to change 7 things and quoted about SGD$3000 in order to solve the vibration issue. Since borders are opened I thought of getting second opinion there.

we shortlisted 7 workshops.
We Care
https://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100063911681161
Prestige Autos
https://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100057358213579
E Da Auto
https://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100066457664304
MB Autos
https://www.facebook.com/mbautogaragesdnbhd/
We decided on MB Autos because we read a couple of glowing testimonials for them. We met the boss and he test drove the car and he said to change only one thing and disagreed with the local workshop analysis. The workshop has ordered the part and the cost is RM220. I wanted to do servicing but they charge RM700+ and they are using Mitasu Japan oil so I declined. If anyone knows any workshop in JB that does servicing for continental cars that uses Shell or Mobil and also the pricing do let me know. The local workshop in SG is charging me $120 for the usual servicing.

over the past few nights I read all 399 pages of this thread.
  1. For those driving Honda, it seems that Jet Cheng Auto is the place for you guys to go to cos they deal with everything Honda and plenty of positive reviews about them. It's a father and son team.I have yet to see any negative reviews of them.
    https://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100054632101125&sk=reviews
  2. There was a chap called laksafan who made many useful contributions but he left this thread cos a couple of guys bandied together and called him out over his alleagiance to a workshop which apparently didn't do that good of a job for them. His post #333 and #371 are informative because he recommended which workshop to go for which specific problem.

3. Someone mentioned about Rambo Car Accessories and air con so whoever is interested can consider them. I think that they are cheaper than We One Auto Auto Station.
    https://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100063560773387https://www.instagram.com/weone_auto_station/?hl=en
  4. Some chaps swear by Hawk Tayar but there were others who went to Hup Heng Ang for rotation and balancing and it was cheaper than Hawk Tayar.
    https://www.facebook.com/hawktyre/reviews/?ref=page_internalhttps://www.facebook.com/huphengang/
    @myviowner you have yet to reply to the pics egarding the paint job done which you requested for and I duly posted. I am curious to hear your comments.

myviowner

I honestly don't have to do this but hopefully the following is of some help to someone.

Workshop in SG told us to change 7 things and quoted about SGD$3000 in order to solve the vibration issue. Since borders are opened I thought of getting second opinion there.

we shortlisted 7 workshops.
We Care
https://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100063911681161
Prestige Autos
https://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100057358213579
E Da Auto
https://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100066457664304
MB Autos
https://www.facebook.com/mbautogaragesdnbhd/
We decided on MB Autos because we read a couple of glowing testimonials for them. We met the boss and he test drove the car and he said to change only one thing and disagreed with the local workshop analysis. The workshop has ordered the part and the cost is RM220. I wanted to do servicing but they charge RM700+ and they are using Mitasu Japan oil so I declined. If anyone knows any workshop in JB that does servicing for continental cars that uses Shell or Mobil and also the pricing do let me know. The local workshop in SG is charging me $120 for the usual servicing.

over the past few nights I read all 399 pages of this thread.
  1. For those driving Honda, it seems that Jet Cheng Auto is the place for you guys to go to cos they deal with everything Honda and plenty of positive reviews about them. It's a father and son team.I have yet to see any negative reviews of them.
    https://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100054632101125&sk=reviews
  2. There was a chap called laksafan who made many useful contributions but he left this thread cos a couple of guys bandied together and called him out over his alleagiance to a workshop which apparently didn't do that good of a job for them. His post #333 and #371 are informative because he recommended which workshop to go for which specific problem.

3. Someone mentioned about Rambo Car Accessories and air con so whoever is interested can consider them. I think that they are cheaper than We One Auto Auto Station.
    https://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100063560773387https://www.instagram.com/weone_auto_station/?hl=en
  4. Some chaps swear by Hawk Tayar but there were others who went to Hup Heng Ang for rotation and balancing and it was cheaper than Hawk Tayar.
    https://www.facebook.com/hawktyre/reviews/?ref=page_internalhttps://www.facebook.com/huphengang/
    @myviowner you have yet to reply to the pics egarding the paint job done which you requested for and I duly posted. I am curious to hear your comments.
Good information. Is different ppl different take. Your preferred shop to go to does not meant it will meet the expectation of all.
Unfortunately, i cannot view the photo you posted. You satisfied with the outcome is most impt.
BTW, no of posts i made does not make me a guru/sifu here. Everyday is a learning day for me.
I do not trust reviews. IMHO.

kaixin18

Good information. Is different ppl different take. Your preferred shop to go to does not meant it will meet the expectation of all.
Unfortunately, i cannot view the photo you posted. You satisfied with the outcome is most impt.
BTW, no of posts i made does not make me a guru/sifu here. Everyday is a learning day for me.
I do not trust reviews. IMHO.
What do you mean by you cannot view the photo I posted? Its there in post number 7970. You asked for the pics thats why I posted them. You ok?

myviowner

What do you mean by you cannot view the photo I posted? Its there in post number 7970. You asked for the pics thats why I posted them. You ok?
My screen only see a icon lah. Thats what i meant.
Anyway, move on. As long you accepted the outcome since you paid for it.

BuGGi3

anyone still goes to ah yuan for repairs? due to convenience, i've been using sg workshop since covid liao, but i might need an overhaul soon :LOL:

Cokacola

2) Uncle Loo - 96785087.
checked with both, ong tian song quoted me $300 while uncle loo ignored me mostly maybe business too small for him.

kaixin18

checked with both, ong tian song quoted me $300 while uncle loo ignored me mostly maybe business too small for him.
drop by uncle loo workshop and ask him in person. negotiate with him and then you compare both quotes. don't give up. i did the same and chose the lower quote. both workmanship was good cos i did go to ong tian song too twice.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.