Uber & Grabcar driver lip lai - Part 4

sho1980

I went for my medical on 26th Oct 2017 and assessment result was collected in the afternoon.
I then register for TPDVl on 27th Oct 2017 and the course date available was only on the 22nd and 23rd Dec 2017.
After few days, i called up STA to request for change of course date and was given 02/03 Dec 2017 but need to pay administrative fee of $10.70.

So how long did you wait after your medical? To take the course I mean.

LoneTraveller

experts weigh in on cdg move..

http://www.todayonline.com/singapor...urn-beleaguered-taxi-business-around-analysts

Uber deal inadequate to turn ComfortDelGro around: Analysts
By KENNETH CHENG

ComfortDelGro announced it will buy over 51 per cent of Uber’s car-rental arm in Singapore, which runs Lion City Rentals with a fleet of about 14,000 vehicles. TODAY file photo.

Published09 DECEMBER, 2017UPDATED 09 DECEMBER, 2017
115 Shares

SINGAPORE — As things stand, the deal between ComfortDelGro and Uber appears inadequate to turn the taxi operator’s bleeding business around, experts said.

On Friday (Dec 8), ComfortDelGro, Singapore’s largest taxi operator, announced it will buy over 51 per cent of Lion City Holdings, Uber’s car-rental arm in Singapore, which runs Lion City Rentals with a fleet of about 14,000 vehicles.

Transport economist Walter Theseira from the Singapore University of Social Sciences said the future of mobility platforms lies in algorithms, data and technology that match travel supply with demand — and “not in the business of owning large fleets”.

Subject to regulatory approval, the S$642 million deal will allow ComfortDelGro’s taxi drivers to take bookings via Uber’s app.

Intense competition — not least from ride-sharing companies such as Grab — has dented ComfortDelGro’s bottomlines in recent months.

In the third quarter of this year, revenues for its taxi business tumbled 11.2 per cent year-on-year, the company announced last month.

Dr Theseira said the deal was a “clear win” for Uber, since it was giving up a majority stake in a company with “rapidly depreciating vehicle assets”, which it is struggling to rent out and do not offer good returns on capital.

However, it remains unclear how ComfortDelGro, which is already struggling with renting its taxis profitably, stands to gain by adding more such vehicles, said Dr Theseira.

“On the surface of things, what it really appears to be (for ComfortDelGro) is a doubling down on the part of the business which has proved to be most challenging — fleet management operations and rentals … it’s frankly the business of the past.”

“It’s not clear that this represents the kind of move that ComfortDelGro needs to stay relevant,” he added.

That said, ComfortDelGro chief executive Yang Ban Seng had hinted in the press statement announcing the move that the firm will “benefit from Uber’s world-class technology”, but did not elaborate.

The two companies noted that they were putting the finishing touches on other unspecified partnership opportunities.

Assistant Professor Terence Fan, a transport specialist with the Singapore Management University, said Uber would benefit from the move, as it was “able to get some cash out of Lion City Holdings”, the profitability and growth potential of which were unclear.

Tying up with a sizeable operator like ComfortDelGro also helps Uber counteract its rival Grab’s “grip on the other smaller taxi companies”, said Asst Prof Fan.

In March, five taxi operators — Trans-Cab, SMRT Taxis, Premier Taxis, Prime Taxi and HDT Singapore Taxi — joined hands with Grab to roll out JustGrab, a fixed-fare service subject to dynamic pricing.

For ComfortDelGro, the move could give it more insight into and latitude over how Lion City Rentals runs, including tamping down rental deals that could slow down the movement of taxi drivers to the private-hire car market, said Asst Prof Fan.

“It’s a way to defend its core business,” he said.

The latest move seems to have cleaved the market into two camps: Uber and ComfortDelGro, pitched against Grab and its five partner taxi operators.

Dr Theseira said such consolidation was inevitable in a “winner-takes-all” industry.

“As long as … Grab and Uber have the money to make their dreams a reality, it was inevitable that they’d get to this point, either by killing the competitor (through) forcing them out of business or buying them over, (although in this deal) it’s the reverse because ComfortDelGro is buying a part of Uber’s business,” he explained.

Going forward, Dr Theseira said there was a “reasonable possibility” Grab and Uber would have to team up, because none will turn a profit as long as either party remains willing to splash money to stay ahead.

See how the big G is showing its tail. Hints of uber and grab merging. Meaning all this wayang is just a means to digitize the taxi industry much like what they are doing to the hawker industry. Big G will tax Gao Gao as No one can underdeclare income liao.

EJB

Confirm dying as long as P@P remains in power.

Hi, can i check my own suziki swift 1.3 can be used for grab/uber?
If so roughly how much is the commercial insurance if i just got my car. (28yrs old dish year)

ZhuTou!

Hi, can i check my own suziki swift 1.3 can be used for grab/uber?
If so roughly how much is the commercial insurance if i just got my car. (28yrs old dish year)
Swift too small for ug
U kena airpork or amdk is gg

Sent from HUAWEI MATE 9 using GAGT

ZhuTou!

How to do both? Any lobang? LCR only Uber Grab Rental only Grab. Trying hard to drive both platform exp fro their incentives.
Use own car or rent from company outside
Dun rent from lcr or grab partners

Buffer ard 1.6 - 1.8k.
I can source quotes comparison if interested.
Also as long as 1.2 above can ug already

You mean commercial insurance around 1.6 to 1.8k? because my quoted tpt insurance is already 1.8k - 2.0k so i'm wondering commercial confirm is more right?

p.s backstory
I am continuing a 10yr old 2008 swift from my uncle and he has been the sole driver for the past 10 years. (too old and lazy to drive now). i think good deal for a decent problem free car. just wondering how to earn extra to supplement income.

Leave No Men Behind

No worries. U can provide me the details in order for my platform to quote. Ps: I am not agent. Just sic lobang as I have been using them all these while for private/commercial - which I just converted to own. Let me know
You mean commercial insurance around 1.6 to 1.8k? because my quoted tpt insurance is already 1.8k - 2.0k so i'm wondering commercial confirm is more right?

p.s backstory
I am continuing a 10yr old 2008 swift from my uncle and he has been the sole driver for the past 10 years. (too old and lazy to drive now). i think good deal for a decent problem free car. just wondering how to earn extra to supplement income.

No worries. U can provide me the details in order for my platform to quote. Ps: I am not agent. Just sic lobang as I have been using them all these while for private/commercial - which I just converted to own. Let me know

Thanks! already pm-ed you.

And if i may ask. The pdvl can take myself or is it better to head down to ug to let them handle for me?

pew

wow after 4 weeks the incentive become 75 per week then can get $250? thats hard to hit for me haha

U keep hitting your incentive, then it will become $65 for 75 trips....

C32B

Swift too small for ug
U kena airpork or amdk is gg

I driving UG with my SSS for 2 months liao. So far so good. Airpork all 1 pax. Amdk okay with 4 person.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.