HWZ Forums

Login Register FAQ Mark Forums Read

First cert for IT info sec

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 22-04-2018, 03:39 AM   #1

First cert for IT info sec

Hi I am currently an undergraduate in IT
Info security and thinking of the first cert to get during my term break.

1. I am hoping to get an IT cert that is general in nature, and useful to certain extent.

2. I am not strong in network and pentesting side, thinking about project management/ compliance side

Which would be a good starting cert for me?
poppy_py is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 22-04-2018, 04:32 PM   #2

Can try PMP for project management I Guess and Secuirty + from COMPTIA for compliance. Though COMPTIA might not be so recognised in SG but will give pretty much a general overview of infosec.

Other than these. CISSP is a pretty good cert to have in the industry for management. But need 5 years experience in infosec to get the cert.

Hi I am currently an undergraduate in IT
Info security and thinking of the first cert to get during my term break.

1. I am hoping to get an IT cert that is general in nature, and useful to certain extent.

2. I am not strong in network and pentesting side, thinking about project management/ compliance side

Which would be a good starting cert for me?
SajiAkihiro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-04-2018, 04:47 PM   #3

Can try PMP for project management I Guess and Secuirty + from COMPTIA for compliance. Though COMPTIA might not be so recognised in SG but will give pretty much a general overview of infosec.

Other than these. CISSP is a pretty good cert to have in the industry for management. But need 5 years experience in infosec to get the cert.
Thanks for your input.. But 3 years in polytechnic under IT course and 2 year in uni for ict course counted as 5 years experience?
Old 22-04-2018, 06:13 PM   #4