Advice Needed: Student looking to Save as I spend and maximise cashback

Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By cassowary18
  • 1 Post By cassowary18

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-08-2019, 01:25 PM   #1
Master Member

Advice Needed: Student looking to Save as I spend and maximise cashback

Hi all, looking for recommendations for a suitable debit/credit card to save as I spend and to maximise cashbacks.

As I am a student and not earning an income, most credit cards are inaccessible to me because of the Annual Income requirement.

My spending fluctuates between $300 - $1100 a month, although the average is toward the lower end at around $400 (during school term) and $600 (outside of school term).

Close to 60% of my spending is on GrabPay (since I can use Grabpay to pay for my meals in school), 25% is on online foreign spend (mostly Japan), 15% on transport (fixed per month at $72). I don't club, drink or smoke so my expenses are generally much lower compared to the average student of my age.

So far I only have the following cards:

Passion POSB Debit Card (useless to me cos I don't buy groceries myself)
SAFRA DBS Debit Card (ALL spend is charged to this card, including topping up of Grabpay) - max 2% rebate

For F & B spend, I also use it in conjunction with Shopback when I can for the awesome cashback. I also use Grabpay for merchants that don't support Shopback to earn Grabrewards Points.

I am considering getting a YouTrip card now to handle my online foreign merchant spend, then use the SAFRA DBS Debit Card to top up my YouTrip account (thus helping me save more by almost entirely avoiding DCC, save for the merchant charges). Is this a good idea?

How else can I optimise my spending with other cards/programmes?

Looking forward to more suggestions from here. Thanks...

Last edited by it_geek; 11-08-2019 at 01:29 PM..
it_geek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2019, 02:25 PM   #2