Singapore Airlines plans wide-ranging cost cuts to offset stiff competition

tminus

Usually this will lead to service cut like food drinks etc

The cut always starts from below when one of the main leechers r the top management

rtfm38

This is just the wayang part, staff cuts coming soon...

DarkBlue

flew on sq recently and notice they really cut cost. now they pour drinks into 100 ml cups instead of giving you the whole can. ice cream is some cheapo ice cream instead of haagen daaz. headset cui like **** and they don't even bother to place it in the seat pocket or distribute to passengers. they place all the headsets at the gate and you must ownself take. last time crew will walk around the aisle to serve drinks. now cabin crew only serve drinks if you call them.

Go Emirates, Qatar liao, you still SQ ?

ponders

They maintain their assumption that most travelers on SIA are on company expense hence they should be able to charge a premium over other airlines.

The side effect of this are self-paid travelers who are (were) loyal to SIA are caught in this and have no justification to fly SIA and explore other airlines. And I believe this is a growing number since companies are really curbing on business travel and reserving it to utmost necessity.

SIA Europe fares are only comparable with Gulf airlines only if you book at least 90 days ahead. Where as it is not hard to fly to Europe under $1000 on a Gulf airline less than 1 month of flight. Singaporeans are visa-free travelers, they can afford to book last minute travels once employers give them the go ahead.

What irks me most is SIA now penalise "Y-fares" changing dates. In the past, "Y-fare" passengers can change dates free of charge anytime so long it is within 1 year of purchase. Now they require passengers to top up fare difference.

It is now getting harder to fly anywhere in SEA with SIA under $600. Singapore-Jakarta, Singapore-Saigon, Singapore-Bangkok... non-discount fare is $500-700 !!!!

How can SME companies justify such expense. they will rather ask the staff to get next cheaper alternative. For $300odd they can get on Garuda, Viet and Thai (not even budget).

Me lor....even though I krisflyer member and been flying sq, recently I explore going Europe with Emirates rather than SIA. But all said even if sia going down, Temasek will step in and cpf lock up longer

They maintain their assumption that most travelers on SIA are on company expense hence they should be able to charge a premium over other airlines.

The side effect of this are self-paid travelers who are (were) loyal to SIA are caught in this and have no justification to fly SIA and explore other airlines. And I believe this is a growing number since companies are really curbing on business travel and reserving it utmost necessity.

SIA Europe fares are only comparable with Gulf airlines only if you book at least 90 days ahead. Where as it is not hard to fly to Europe under $1000 on a Gulf airline less than 1 month of flight. Singaporeans are visa-free travelers, they can afford to book last minute travelers once employers give them the go ahead.

What irks me most is SIA now penalise "Y-fares" changing dates. In the past, "Y-fare" passengers can change dates free of charge anytime so long it is within 1 year of purchase. Now they require passengers to top up fare difference.

It is now getting harder to fly anywhere in SEA with SIA under $600. Singapore-Jakarta, Singapore-Saigon, Singapore-Bangkok... non-discount fare is $500-700 !!!!

How can SME companies justify such expense. they will rather ask the staff to get next cheaper alternative. For $300odd they can get on Garuda, Viet and Thai (not even budget).

bravia69

The side effect of this are self-paid travelers who are (were) loyal to SIA are caught in this and have no justification to fly SIA and explore other airlines. And I believe this is a growing number since companies are really curbing on business travel and reserving it utmost necessity.

SIA Europe fares are only comparable with Gulf airlines only if you book at least 90 days ahead. Where as it is not hard to fly to Europe under $1000 on a Gulf airline less than 1 month of flight. Singaporeans are visa-free travelers, they can afford to book last minute travelers once employers give them the go ahead.

Sounded like Qantas business model but Australia has very little competition, hence can charge high ticket prices - nobody fly them on overseas routes only domestic routes they still make money (ripped off), unlike Singapore as a hub so many airlines to choose from.

Keep_Calm

I've always said it is stupid to have 3 separate airlines (Tiger Air, Scoot, Silk Air) doing essentially the same customer segment.

I was very surprised they started Scoot.

They shouldn't even have started Scoot.
Whatever intention Scoot was created for, it could have done it under Tiger Air as an extension.

Now start a Scoot then combined Tiger Air and Scoot into one is go one big round and back to square one.

I won't be surprised Silk Air would fold under Scoot now.

airline business is not like selling shampoos...
You don't have to create so many brands or sub brands. there are only 3 main customers to serve : Super Premium, Premium and Budget.... if you cut it too fine, it won't make economic sense...

How do u propose Tigerair cover Scoot's destinations? One serves regional n the other Long haul, though there's minor overlap for popular regional destinations.

U highlighted the Premium, Budget segment etc.. but u forgot the Range factor.

How do u propose Tigerair cover Scoot's destinations? One serves regional n the other Long haul, though there's minor overlap for popular regional destinations.

Diam la...this nothing to do with range. 1 company can fulfil all these demand in budget segment. No need set up 3

Keep_Calm

Elite attitude look down on lesser mortals. Doesn't deserve pity.

Recently rewarded with cancer & undergo operation.

Attitude still same so will continue accumulate more karma and then trigger off another 'reward'.

The way sia management told the old staff canteen operator to f*ck off & replace with expensive tasteless kopitiam is already a harbinger for problems to come.

Expect staff deliver good service when their day to day work meals more expensive & tasteless.

Then exhort front-line staff volunteer go for no-pay leave while they higher management themselves nothing happen to them. Morale plunge even further. Now expect the grunts to implement their cuts & savings plan.
Airport staff canteen r managed by CAG, not SIA ....

ponders

Diam la...this nothing to do with range. 1 company can fulfil all these demand in budget segment. No need set up 3

This is the domestic side of things. Where the airline fly to is also subject to destination laws.

Other countries have laws on what kind of airlines can obtain new routes and their definitions differ from Singapore rules. So Scoot have to be set up to be substantially different so the destination country will not catergorise Scoot to be in same as classification as TigerAir.

Why Scoot moved to TigerAir callsign instead of Tiger Air to Scoot is also due to other countries law. It is easier to maintain "TR" routes in regional countries than telling destination government that TR is now TZ as some governments views this as a change in an airilne and hence all previous routes are voided.

muddywaters

You don't differentiate by range... you do it by customer segment.

So Tiger Air will be for budget travellers and will cover short and long haul.

SIA will be for premium and super premium. Covers short and long haul.

That's all you need.

You don't see Air Asia create sub brands to cover a different range. They focus on budget and 1 brand to cover full range.

Keep_Calm

You don't differentiate by range... you do it by customer segment.

So Tiger Air will be for budget travellers and will cover short and long haul.

SIA will be for premium and super premium. Covers short and long haul.

That's all you need.

You don't see Air Asia create sub brands to cover a different range. They focus on budget and 1 brand to cover full range.
Dey ... how do u expect Tigerair using A320 to fly to Scoot destinations like Greece, Hawaii etc? Stopover or hopping will be less cost effective unless u get landing rights n good loads from sectors to sectors.

Anyway, AirAsia formed AirAsia X n uses or leash bigger aircraft to fly those longer routes.

defnull

a lot of companies are dropping SIA in favour of other airlines for business travel liao

muddywaters

Dey ... how do u expect Tigerair using A320 to fly to Scoot destinations like Greece, Hawaii etc? Stopover or hopping will be less cost effective unless u get landing rights n good loads from sectors to sectors.

Anyway, AirAsia formed AirAsia X n uses or leash bigger aircraft to fly those longer routes.

My dear friend :)

You can get different aircrafts to cover different range... you can do this within same airline. You don't have to go create a Scoot in order to buy long haul planes...

defnull

im not surprised if they close silk air anytime soon....... probably better to reserve scoot and SIA

defnull

Are you an insider? I have similar comments from some insiders...

duh....... no need to be insider also know, which company isnt like that? even PAP is like that

and the thing is those middle mgt are salivating at the chance of becoming top mgt to be the fatcats they used to loathe

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.