HWZ Forums

Login Register FAQ Mark Forums Read

First year Degree Dilemma

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 31-10-2018, 09:15 PM   #1

First year Degree Dilemma

Hello readers,

would like to seek some opinion on my next course of action, Im currently a year 1 undergrad and having doubts with my course. I chose this course based on practicality reason, and I know theres always this constant debate on passion vs practicality in a degree of choice.

Suppose you have a bad sem one results, would u choose to change course to one which is preferably more of your liking? or stick with it throughout, hoping that you can pull your gpa up and not risk graduating >4 years.

Appreciate all the inputs, thank you.
suchgrief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2018, 01:37 AM   #2
Honorary Member

U will have a hard time dreading thru best is to change
Old 01-11-2018, 01:44 AM   #3
Great Supremacy Member

its not too late to change if u really feel like u wont be able to cope. but please do your research diligently and manage your expectations of said degree you would like to take because of your passion.

i have a friend who did well enough in poly to enter NBS for his undergraduate degree. but his not doing too well right now because of the competition. i think his GPA is below 3.

at the same time, his got a keen interest in computer science. so his finding alternative routes to get education in tech while dragging himself through to finish his degree at nbs.

i'm not sure if you would want to be in his situation.
Old 01-11-2018, 02:12 AM   #4
Arch-Supremacy Member

Have you found out what is the cause of your bad result? Lack of studies (such as working part time jobs or too lazy and perform last minute studies), don't understand what the lecturer is taking about, Lecturers vs Course materials vs Exams are not consistent.